Flight and wingman coms - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2019, 08:50 PM   #1
Andrew u.k.
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: in the Gap, Oxfordshire
Posts: 211
Default Flight and wingman coms

Hi
I'm really enjoying the campaign and I must say that the voice acting is very good.

However I'm having problems talking to my flight on the radio. I get the scripted communications fine but I can't instruct the flight or wingman to attack targets or change formation etc.

I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong, ATC works fine and I'm tuning second fm radio to the correct frequency.

Cheers Andrew

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Andrew u.k. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 09:02 PM   #2
GTFreeFlyer
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Orange County, California, USA
Posts: 440
Default

Are you also transmitting on the 2nd frequency? Check your key binds for the transmit button for each of your three radios. You might have to turn off easy comms, but I’m not 100% sure.
__________________
My DCS Missions: Band of Buds series | The End of the T-55 Era | Normandy PvP | Host of the Formation Flight Challenge server

Supercarrier Reference Kneeboards

IRL: Private Pilot, UAS Test Pilot, Aircraft Designer, and... eh hem... DCS Enthusiast
GTFreeFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 09:03 PM   #3
GTFreeFlyer
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Orange County, California, USA
Posts: 440
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTFreeFlyer View Post
Are you also transmitting on the 2nd frequency? Check your key binds for the transmit button for each of your three radios. You might have to turn off easy comms, but I’m not 100% sure.

2nd radio in the Hog is UHF. You mentioned 2nd FM frequency, which is likely your third radio. 1st radio is AM.
__________________
My DCS Missions: Band of Buds series | The End of the T-55 Era | Normandy PvP | Host of the Formation Flight Challenge server

Supercarrier Reference Kneeboards

IRL: Private Pilot, UAS Test Pilot, Aircraft Designer, and... eh hem... DCS Enthusiast
GTFreeFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 04:46 PM   #4
Andrew u.k.
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: in the Gap, Oxfordshire
Posts: 211
Default

Thanks for the reply, I assume I should be using the fm bottom radio? Set to 33.0

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Andrew u.k. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 04:47 PM   #5
Andrew u.k.
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: in the Gap, Oxfordshire
Posts: 211
Default

Sorry that should be 33.3

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Andrew u.k. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 07:23 PM   #6
baltic_dragon
3rd Party Campaign Creator
 
baltic_dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: I am Polish
Posts: 4,473
Default

Yes. In the times when A-10s still had the FM radio (now they have something else) they would use it for element / flight comms. Let me know if it works.
__________________
baltic_dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 05:21 AM   #7
Andrew u.k.
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: in the Gap, Oxfordshire
Posts: 211
Default

Thanks for the replies.

User error (probably as usual) I didn't have hotas mic switch set correctly.

I'm learning an awful lot with this campaign, real radios for one, anchor points for another.

How do I stop my wing men from crashing?

Cheers Andrew

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Andrew u.k. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 08:05 AM   #8
baltic_dragon
3rd Party Campaign Creator
 
baltic_dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: I am Polish
Posts: 4,473
Default

Eh.. that one is tricky. Generally try to anchor him over waypoints or target often so he doesn’t get in the way. Once you order him to attack (provided he obeys) it is a different story then... not much you can do
__________________
baltic_dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 05:26 PM   #9
Yurgon
Campaign Tester
 
Yurgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew u.k. View Post
How do I stop my wing men from crashing?
Sending them to a trail formation also usually helps (a bit). Admittedly, when they're in Line Abreast or Wedge, station keeping is difficult and I don't blame the AI for somewhat erratic behavior when they try to get back in formation while the player is maneuvering.

In trail, their job is much easier.

And like BD said, anchoring the wingmen can help a lot.
__________________
Yurgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 05:59 PM   #10
Andrew u.k.
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: in the Gap, Oxfordshire
Posts: 211
Default

In trail makes a lot of sense.
Andrew u.k. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:22 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.