Help a fixed wing pilot choose his first helicopter

Birko

Hello everyone, I hope you're having a nice day/night wherever you are.

I've been playing DCS since ~2014 flying exclusively planes, both jets and props. With the sale I'm thinking of getting a heli but have no clue where to start.

What would you recommend as the:

a) best first helicopter? (easiest to get used to, showcases the most of what helicopters have to offer)

b) best helicopter overall? (fidelity + completion + gameplay)

Thanks everybody, and have a great day!

Edited by Birko

The black shark is complicated and the SAS takes getting use to.

The Mi-8 is probably the best overall helicopter in the game.

The Huey is probably easiest to get use to and for me its a close second to the Mi-8 in overall nice... so I'm going to second the Huey as its easy to transition to the Mi8 or BlackShark once you've done the huey.

I'm going to caution you though. Hover practice a lot... and I mean a lot. You're going to be twerking and jerking in your seat like someone was trying to remove a body part. But eventually you'll get the hang of it and once you do then...

Transition to flight out of and into a hover while avoiding the dreaded VRS.

Sadly we don't have multi crew ATM (minus the Gazelle) because helicopters are the one area that would really pay off having someone talk you through it.

Good luck.

ETA: One last thing, you better have rudder pedals because you're going to need them. ;)

Edited by aileron

The Mi-8 is probably the best overall helicopter in the game.

The Huey is probably easiest to get use to and for me its a close second to the Mi-8 in overall nice... so I'm going to second the Huey as its easy to transition to the Mi8 or BlackShark once you've done the huey.....

ETA: One last thing, you better have rudder pedals because you're going to need them. ;)

Spot on, all around! :thumbup: