[UNABLE TO REPRODUCE]DCS Updater crashes my modem - ED Forums
 


Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2019, 12:35 AM   #1
Highwayman-Ed
Senior Member
 
Highwayman-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,443
Send a message via AIM to Highwayman-Ed
Default [UNABLE TO REPRODUCE]DCS Updater crashes my modem

OK, this is a really odd one, but I feel I should report it anyway.

Whenever I run the DCS updater, after connecting to the swarm, my modem typically crashes around a minute after the download starts. If I reboot the modem, the download will start again, and again, typically within a minute, the modem will crash again ad nauseam.

If I connect my mobile phone to my computer and run the update using it as a modem, it will work fine. I've obviously raised a support ticket with Netgear who manufacture the modem, but they've effectively washed their hands of it and claim that it's not their issue.

What makes this even odder is that I also run a dedicated server on my home network, and that computer updates fine without crashing the modem!

The issue has been happening since early September and I never had the issue prior to then and my internet connection and modem work flawlessly other than this.
__________________

Intel i9-9900KF @5.2GHz
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro
32GB G.Skill Trident Z DDR3200 RAM
Gigabyte AORUS GeForce RTX 2080 Ti Extreme
40" Panasonic TH-40DX600U @ 4K
Pimax 5K XR / Oculus Rift CV1
Gametrix JetSeat with SimShaker
Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition



Last edited by Highwayman-Ed; 10-22-2019 at 12:47 AM.
Highwayman-Ed is offline  
Old 10-22-2019, 01:34 AM   #2
MadDog-IC
ED Testers Team
 
MadDog-IC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,030
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Highwayman-Ed View Post
OK, this is a really odd one, but I feel I should report it anyway.

Whenever I run the DCS updater, after connecting to the swarm, my modem typically crashes around a minute after the download starts. If I reboot the modem, the download will start again, and again, typically within a minute, the modem will crash again ad nauseam.

The issue has been happening since early September and I never had the issue prior to then and my internet connection and modem work flawlessly other than this.
Sounds like a hard one to figure out, how are you determining if the modem is crashing, does it reset itself, go offline and recycle into a self test and re-connection cycle or some other symptoms.

What type of internet connection do you have ADSL / NBN, I have NBN Fibre setup with IPV4 and IPV6 dual stack provided by Internode.

Just two days ago, the DCS updater decided not to work, it would download a small piece of the version checking data and then just hang and download at a very small rate, something that takes seconds normally now takes 5-30 minutes as an estimate.

Solution: Long story short, Deleted all directories and files under the default "Windows temp" directory where the DCS install creates stuff for the updates, re-run the updater and it worked, but downloads very slowly, 2-500kb/sec when normally between 2-5mb/sec.

Regards, Ian.
__________________
Asus p877v-pro, Intel I7 3770k 4.2ghz, 32gb Ripjaw X ram, ATI 5870 (Until GPU's come down), Samsung 32" TV, Saitek x52 pro Joystick and Combat rudder pedals, TrackIR 5, Win8.1 x64 with SSD and SSHD protected by (Avast AV).
MadDog-IC is offline  
Old 10-22-2019, 07:39 AM   #3
Highwayman-Ed
Senior Member
 
Highwayman-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,443
Send a message via AIM to Highwayman-Ed
Default

It’s certainly damned odd. I’m running an 100/40 NBN (Fibre Optic for non Aussies) connection with TPG and when it goes down the modem hangs and does not restart (All lights but power on the Netgear go out) and the NBN box shows power and no connection to the modem, but an open port to the exchange.

Unfortunately the modem isn’t recording anything useful in its logs whatsoever and Netgear have been particularly useless.
__________________

Intel i9-9900KF @5.2GHz
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro
32GB G.Skill Trident Z DDR3200 RAM
Gigabyte AORUS GeForce RTX 2080 Ti Extreme
40" Panasonic TH-40DX600U @ 4K
Pimax 5K XR / Oculus Rift CV1
Gametrix JetSeat with SimShaker
Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition


Highwayman-Ed is offline  
Old 10-22-2019, 08:07 AM   #4
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 17,080
Default

Can you attach your autoupdate_log.txt just so we can see what DCS is doing at the time.

It is very unusual for sure.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, DELL Visor WMR
BIGNEWY is offline  
Old 10-22-2019, 01:05 PM   #5
Highwayman-Ed
Senior Member
 
Highwayman-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,443
Send a message via AIM to Highwayman-Ed
Default

Sure, here you go:

Latest Log

Previous Log
__________________

Intel i9-9900KF @5.2GHz
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro
32GB G.Skill Trident Z DDR3200 RAM
Gigabyte AORUS GeForce RTX 2080 Ti Extreme
40" Panasonic TH-40DX600U @ 4K
Pimax 5K XR / Oculus Rift CV1
Gametrix JetSeat with SimShaker
Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition


Highwayman-Ed is offline  
Old 10-22-2019, 01:09 PM   #6
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 17,080
Default

Thanks,

the log looks normal to me

Quote:
00867.404 INFO : Installed 421 files.
00867.434 STATUS: Installing runtimes...
00868.818 STATUS: Cleaning up...
00868.819 STATUS: Cleaning up...
00869.316 STATUS: Successfully updated to 2.5.5.38140
00877.118 STATUS: Shutting the torrents down...
00877.119 INFO : Kill timer set to 30 seconds...
00877.158 INFO : Torrents have been shutdown in time.
00877.158 INFO : Kill timer reset.
00877.161 === Log closed.
I will ask the team.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, DELL Visor WMR
BIGNEWY is offline  
Old 10-23-2019, 12:26 PM   #7
Highwayman-Ed
Senior Member
 
Highwayman-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,443
Send a message via AIM to Highwayman-Ed
Default

Other than the timeouts in the middle where the connection went down, everything looks good to me too. It's very odd for sure, and not something that I can't work around, but it's a guaranteed modem crash every time it runs....
__________________

Intel i9-9900KF @5.2GHz
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro
32GB G.Skill Trident Z DDR3200 RAM
Gigabyte AORUS GeForce RTX 2080 Ti Extreme
40" Panasonic TH-40DX600U @ 4K
Pimax 5K XR / Oculus Rift CV1
Gametrix JetSeat with SimShaker
Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition


Highwayman-Ed is offline  
Old 10-23-2019, 12:27 PM   #8
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 17,080
Default

I spoke with the team, we have no known case of this happening, and not sure why it would happen.

it is a bit of a mystery.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K @4.4 GHz( Cooled by H100i ), 32GB DDR3 @1866 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, DELL Visor WMR
BIGNEWY is offline  
Old 10-24-2019, 06:57 AM   #9
Highwayman-Ed
Senior Member
 
Highwayman-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,443
Send a message via AIM to Highwayman-Ed
Default

I'm planning on doing a fresh Windows install in a few weeks, so it's no big deal for me, but if you'd like any testing done before then, I'm always happy to help.
__________________

Intel i9-9900KF @5.2GHz
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro
32GB G.Skill Trident Z DDR3200 RAM
Gigabyte AORUS GeForce RTX 2080 Ti Extreme
40" Panasonic TH-40DX600U @ 4K
Pimax 5K XR / Oculus Rift CV1
Gametrix JetSeat with SimShaker
Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition


Highwayman-Ed is offline  
Old 10-24-2019, 09:11 PM   #10
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 10,734
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Highwayman-Ed View Post
I'm planning on doing a fresh Windows install in a few weeks, so it's no big deal for me, but if you'd like any testing done before then, I'm always happy to help.
Just an idea, in Germany/Europe internet providers sell "branded" modems with their line. These are often locked and can only be configured by the provider. You do have full access to configuration and settings? If not, does your contract say anything about (peer-to-peer or "filesharing")? Maybe your provider decided to act against "filesharing" and their filters mistakes DCS peer-to-peer for a Filesharing tool, as basically it is the same technology.
You can ask them, to clarify any issuesvon their side/hardware, as well.
Is it sure related to peer-to-peer download? What happens, if you cancel the peer-to-peer download and switch to HTTP?
Another way to rule out a hardware/modem related issue would be a buddy's or neighbor's modem, if you can get a compatible one.

Just listing ideas for troubleshooting, hope it helps to narrow down the root cause.
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.0GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat | TM HOTAS Warthog custom extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |a hand made UFC | AHCP | 2x Elgato StreamDeck (Buttons galore)
shagrat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:57 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.