F16 RWR Sounds - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2019, 07:27 PM   #1
Recon21288
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
Default F16 RWR Sounds

I've seen a few streams on Twitch of people having F16 RWR sounds. I've searched the user files, and even did a general google search but came up empty.

Giving the futility of my search I assume the mods were private. So I was wondering, how easy (if easy at all) would it be to implement the RWR sounds in the RAE_RWR mod? Failing that, a mod that gives F16 RWR sounds would be amazing, at least until we get them implemented by ED.

Any help would be appreciated.
Recon21288 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 12:06 AM   #2
Harker
Senior Member
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,121
Default

I tried adapting the RAE mod to the F-16 without success. Can you please link some of these videos?
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @3000CL15, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip|
F/A-18C, F-16C, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 01:34 AM   #3
Recon21288
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
Default

Go to the 41 minute mark - https://www.twitch.tv/videos/496445220
Recon21288 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 06:17 AM   #4
Wicked.-
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 442
Default

Following.
__________________


Intel i9 9900K @ 5.1Ghz HT Disabled, Asus RoG Strix z390E Gaming, 64GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200, Asus RoG Strix RTX2080Ti OC @ 1.9Ghz, 1TB Samsung Evo 970Pro M.2 TM Warthog, CH Pro Pedals, Saitek Pro Rudder Pedals, Samsung 49" Curved Gaming Monitor, Samsung 50" 4KUHD TV, Acer 27" Touch Panel, CV1, Pimax 5K+, Valve Index, FSSB3 Lighting, F-16SGRH, 3 TM Cougar's and a Saitek X36 that I can't bring myself to part with.
Wicked.- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 07:24 AM   #5
VampireNZ
Senior Member
 
VampireNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,331
Default

Following here also!

I totally realise there are 1001 other things to do for the Viper....but I mean come on ED, it took me 5 mins to chuck realistic versions of MissileAlert, MissileLaunch, StatusChange and Waterfall in C:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\Mods\aircraft\F-16C\Sounds\Effects\Aircrafts\F-16\Cockpit\Tones, so you at least have some semblence of a proper RWR while we wait for some actual threat indicator tones.

Looking forward to someone adding a more comprehensive RWR tones mod at some point. Given that it is something you generally hear the entire time you are flying the aircraft - the priority on these seems surprising.
__________________
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha| i7-6700K @ 4.60GHz | nVidia GTX 1080ti Strix OC 11GB @ 2075MHz| 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz DDR4 CL14 |
Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2 SSD | Corsair Force LE 480GB SSD | Windows 10 64-Bit |
TM Warthog with FSSB R3 Lighting Base | VKB Gunfighter Pro + MCG | TM MFD's | Oculus Rift S | Jetseat FSE


Last edited by VampireNZ; 10-22-2019 at 07:10 PM.
VampireNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 12:14 PM   #6
Harker
Senior Member
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Recon21288 View Post
Go to the 41 minute mark - https://www.twitch.tv/videos/496445220
Ah, I see. He uses only the generic sounds for contacts, not the RAE mod or anything like that. Still, it's better than the original. That's easily doable, I'll try my hand at it tonight.
Or maybe VampireNZ can share his sounds, if he'd like?
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @3000CL15, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip|
F/A-18C, F-16C, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 04:59 PM   #7
Recon21288
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
Default

Update from me -

I'm not a modder, and I have precisely ZERO experience in this kind of thing so I expect its something stupid.

I Falcon 4 installed and went digging. I've found some of the sound files it uses for the RWR and some of its caution alerts. I'm not familiar with all of the RWR sounds so i've pulled the ones I recognise. I didn't want to use BMS's sounds for fear of causing problems with the dev team if they ever found out so for now i'll stick with the base games. My logic is the game is that old they probably don't care anymore. Its better than nothing and will tide me/us over until ED release theirs.

I've tested the sounds by replacing the default F16's and they work perfectly. However, when I go to make my own mod folder it doesn't.

I've looked at RAE mod to see how they did it and they appeared to copy the file structure of the original so i've done the same. I was even anal enough to make sure capitalization matched exactly.

Original path: D:\DCS World OpenBeta\Mods\aircraft\F-16C\Sounds\Effects\Aircrafts\F-16\Cockpit\Tones

My Path: G:\DCS MODS\Basic F-16C RWR and Caution Sounds\Mods\aircraft\F-16C\Sounds\Effects\Aircrafts\F-16\Cockpit\Tones

I'm happy to make this public once its working so if anyone can shed any light i'd appreciate it.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.4GHz (Turbo's to 4.0GHz) ¦ x2 8GB Gskill Trident Z DDR4-3000 ¦EVGA GTX 970 ¦ Asus prime X370-Pro ATX AM4 ¦ Fractal Design Define R5 Blackout Edition ¦ EVGA SuperNOVA G3 650W ¦ x2 Asus VS248HR 24" LED 1ms DVI HDMI Gaming Monitors ¦ Corsair K95 RGB ¦ Corsair M65 RGB ¦ Corsair HS40 ¦ Thrustmaster Warthog ¦ Thrustmaster T-Flight Rudder Pedals ¦ Track IR
FC3 ¦ F5 ¦ M2000C ¦ AV8B ¦ A10C ¦ F18C ¦ F16C ¦ SA432 ¦ UH1H ¦ MI8 ¦ KA50 ¦ NEVADA ¦ CAUCASUS ¦ PERSIAN GULF ¦ NORMANDY

Last edited by Recon21288; 10-22-2019 at 05:52 PM.
Recon21288 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 11:38 PM   #8
Harker
Senior Member
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VampireNZ View Post
I totally realise there are 1001 other things to do for the Viper....but I mean come on ED, it took me 5 mins to chuck realistic versions of MissileAlert, MissileLaunch, StatusChange and Waterfall in C:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\Mods\aircraft\F-16C\Sounds\Effects\Aircrafts\F-16\Cockpit\Tones,
I did the same thing and the most bizarre thing happened. The RWR sounds changed for the Hornet as well! I double checked the mod path and everything (I use OVGME). When I replace the sounds for the Viper, the Hornet's are replaced as well. I don't know how, but I think the files are linked somehow.

Can you please check, if you have the Hornet?
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @3000CL15, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip|
F/A-18C, F-16C, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 11:40 PM   #9
Harker
Senior Member
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Recon21288 View Post
Update from me -

I'm not a modder, and I have precisely ZERO experience in this kind of thing so I expect its something stupid.

I Falcon 4 installed and went digging. I've found some of the sound files it uses for the RWR and some of its caution alerts. I'm not familiar with all of the RWR sounds so i've pulled the ones I recognise. I didn't want to use BMS's sounds for fear of causing problems with the dev team if they ever found out so for now i'll stick with the base games. My logic is the game is that old they probably don't care anymore. Its better than nothing and will tide me/us over until ED release theirs.

I've tested the sounds by replacing the default F16's and they work perfectly. However, when I go to make my own mod folder it doesn't.

I've looked at RAE mod to see how they did it and they appeared to copy the file structure of the original so i've done the same. I was even anal enough to make sure capitalization matched exactly.

Original path: D:\DCS World OpenBeta\Mods\aircraft\F-16C\Sounds\Effects\Aircrafts\F-16\Cockpit\Tones

My Path: G:\DCS MODS\Basic F-16C RWR and Caution Sounds\Mods\aircraft\F-16C\Sounds\Effects\Aircrafts\F-16\Cockpit\Tones

I'm happy to make this public once its working so if anyone can shed any light i'd appreciate it.
I couldn't get RAE to work either, it had no effect whatsoever. Something weird is going on with the Viper and its files structure at the moment. See my above post.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 @3000CL15, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 Cougar MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR w/Pro clip|
F/A-18C, F-16C, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, P-51D, Sptifire, BS2, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 12:31 AM   #10
Recon21288
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
I couldn't get RAE to work either, it had no effect whatsoever. Something weird is going on with the Viper and its files structure at the moment. See my above post.
Odd. If i had not already seen someone using F16 RWR sounds I would have thought they were locked or protected in someway due to it being in EA but we know that isn't the case. I guess we need someone smarter to figure it out or ED to release their version.

cough hint hint lovely community cough

Edit: Can confirm Harker's info. Replacing F16 RWR sounds does overwrite the F18's too.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ 3.4GHz (Turbo's to 4.0GHz) ¦ x2 8GB Gskill Trident Z DDR4-3000 ¦EVGA GTX 970 ¦ Asus prime X370-Pro ATX AM4 ¦ Fractal Design Define R5 Blackout Edition ¦ EVGA SuperNOVA G3 650W ¦ x2 Asus VS248HR 24" LED 1ms DVI HDMI Gaming Monitors ¦ Corsair K95 RGB ¦ Corsair M65 RGB ¦ Corsair HS40 ¦ Thrustmaster Warthog ¦ Thrustmaster T-Flight Rudder Pedals ¦ Track IR
FC3 ¦ F5 ¦ M2000C ¦ AV8B ¦ A10C ¦ F18C ¦ F16C ¦ SA432 ¦ UH1H ¦ MI8 ¦ KA50 ¦ NEVADA ¦ CAUCASUS ¦ PERSIAN GULF ¦ NORMANDY

Last edited by Recon21288; 10-23-2019 at 12:38 AM.
Recon21288 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:13 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.