F10 Menu Sub catergories - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2020, 10:57 PM   #1
Xander_
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
Default F10 Menu Sub catergories

Does anyone know how to get subcategories in the F10 menu For example




Hope that makes sense
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	31e05459847c2a9f3513df54530d8dd1.png
Views:	20
Size:	3.0 KB
ID:	243942  
Xander_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 12:36 AM   #2
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 6,871
Default

It can be done, but it isnt simple to explain.. I once did a Mission to practice flight emergencies, where I used a two level F10 menu, this was the top level where I grouped the emergencies by type:



For example if you selected Electrical failures, then the menu was rebuilt with these options:



Download the mission to take a look at how the triggers work, even if you dont own this plane you can still see it on the editor:

https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c...files/3307050/
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - nVidia GTX1070ti - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 12:43 AM   #3
Xander_
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
It can be done, but it isnt simple to explain.. I once did a Mission to practice flight emergencies, where I used a two level F10 menu, this was the top level where I grouped the emergencies by type:



For example if you selected Electrical failures, then the menu was rebuilt with these options:



Download the mission to take a look at how the triggers work, even if you dont own this plane you can still see it on the editor:

https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c...files/3307050/
Thank you, I tried to pick out from other mission but there were way too many triggers to decipher what one was the one I needed. I'll check it out thanks!
Xander_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 01:54 AM   #4
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 6,871
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xander_ View Post
Thank you, I tried to pick out from other mission but there were way too many triggers to decipher what one was the one I needed. I'll check it out thanks!
It is unfortunate that the DCS triggers have no facilities for commenting the code, it can make for hard to read code. These are some design notes that I did for this mission, not much but may be helpful:

Code:
Flag 11: Show Main Menu
Flag 21: Clear Main Menu

1 Electrical: Flag 2=1 Show Menu; Flag 22: Clear menu

11 Generator Failure
12 Starter Failure
13 Batteries Failure
14 Inverters Failure (Both)
15 Normal Inverter Failure
16 Standby Inverter Failure

2 Engine: Flag 2=2 Show Menu; Flag 23: Clear menu

21 Engine Flameout w/o Relight
22 Engine Flameout with Relight
23 Engine Seized
24 Engine anti-ice Failure
25 Engine Computer Fail (manual mode)
26 Failure of Auto & Manual Modes (back-up mode)

3 Systems: Flag 2=3 Show Menu; Flag 24: Clear menu

31 Oil Pressure Drop
32 Chip in Oil
33 Fuel Leak
34 Hydraulic Leak

4 Flight Control: Flag 2=4 Show Menu; Flag 25: Clear Menu

41 Elevator Loss
42 Aileron Loss
43 Rudder Loss
44 Pitch Trim Runaway - Nose Up
45 Pitch Trim Runaway - Nose Down
46 Control Stick pitch trim switch
47 Control Stick aileron trim switch
48 Rudder trim failure
49 Airbrake autotrim cutout malfunction

5 Landing Gear/Flaps: Flag 2=5 Show menu  Flag 26: Clear menu

51 Left Gear extension Fault
52 Right Gear extension Fault
53 Nose Gear extension Fault
54 Left Gear retraction Fault
55 Right Gear retraction Fault
56 Nose Gear retraction Fault
57 Flaps fault

6 Instruments:

61 Pitot tube blocked
62 Static Port blocked
63 ILS receiver GS signal fail
64 ILS receiver LOC signal fail
65 VOR receiver nav signal fail
66 DME signal fail
67 ADF receiver indication fail
68 Radio altimeter signal fail
69 Gunsight lamps failure

7 Other:

71 Explosive depressurization
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - nVidia GTX1070ti - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 08:10 AM   #5
Grimes
Beta Tester
 
Grimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Black Mesa
Posts: 8,112
Default

For functional sub-menus you have to use scripts.

https://wiki.hoggitworld.com/view/DCS_func_addSubMenu

And then create the menu items or more sub menues.

https://wiki.hoggitworld.com/view/DCS_func_addCommand
__________________
The right man in the wrong place makes all the difference in the world.
Current Projects: Scripting Wiki, Something...
Useful Links: Mission Scripting Tools MIST-(GitHub) MIST-(Thread), SLMOD for DCS 1.5/2.0, IADScript, Mission Editing Wiki!, Mission Building Forum
Grimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 05:31 PM   #6
snowsniper
Member
 
snowsniper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: France Oise Blacourt
Posts: 681
Default

you should give a try to ATME encapsulated script engine, really easy to do menu and submenu.
__________________

all my skins :

here
Spoiler:
Core i7-4790 @ 3.6- 4GHz - 16GB
- nVidia RTX 2070 - 2xSSD -
GRANDIN TV screen 39" in 1920x1080 cockpit scale 1:1
- MS FFB2 Joystick
- DIY MIDI Throttle with 14 analogic sliders and knobs
- Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals
snowsniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:30 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.