Let marshal give flights a stack holding altitude - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2020, 10:26 AM   #1
chrisofsweden
Member
 
chrisofsweden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 795
Default Let marshal give flights a stack holding altitude

I know this is prebriefed IRL but...

In DCS, either with AI flights and/or in a multiplayer "dynamic" mission there's no prebriefed holding altitudes.

For the sole sake of deconflicting, even if not 100% accurate according to IRL practices, the marshal could say something like "111, Holding altitude 3000, Report see me at 10"
chrisofsweden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2020, 04:43 AM   #2
norman99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 91
Default

+1000 desperately needed.

Also, make sure AI both receive and fly correctly their assigned alt too.
norman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 10:50 PM   #3
Luft Waffel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 39
Default

I think it would make more sense if it was the pilot saying it as a bonus "111, roger, holding angels 3"
Luft Waffel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 01:17 AM   #4
randomTOTEN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: KBFL/KBUR/KJVY/KEWR
Posts: 1,169
Default

Well if it's prebriefed IRL lets make it the same in DCS. There should be a way to determine the holding altitudes of the AI so we can predict the proper one to assign to player flights.
I would want that more than unrealistic comms (like we have with the tankers and speed?)
randomTOTEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 05:03 PM   #5
jmarso
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 223
Default

Ideally, as planes return to the boat ( and assuming USS Boat is on BRC and green deck), the marshal controller will take aircraft into the stack from low-to-high as they arrive, and start them commencing with no delay unless there's already traffic.

IRL there might be some tweaks to that accounting for a/c type and fuel states, or an aircraft with an emergency (critically lo fuel or combat damage), but that might be too much for the AI at this point.

But what I don't need is to be given a push time in 20 or 30 minutes when there's nobody else in the stack and there's no conflicting traffic. Although realism is nice, this is still a game and ain't nobody got time for that. (Same reason I don't do 'cold starts' where I have to sit around for 8 minutes waiting for an INS to align.)
jmarso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 08:29 PM   #6
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,567
Default

Player automatic calls are annoying enough as it is already and I wouldn't want unrealistic comms.

I think the best way to go about this is through the ME. In a similar fashion to the selection of a parking spot for airport landing, let us be able to assign a holding altitude to each flight landing on the SC, on the flight's Landing waypoint.

There could also be a plane limit to each altitude, same as for the parking spots (but more than 1, this time). And if the mission creator doesn't want to take the time to adjust these options, there is always Auto (again, same as the parking spots), which is already implemented.

I think this would be a win-win situation that would satisfy everyone.
__________________
The vCVW-17 is looking for Hornet and Tomcat pilots and RIOs
vCVW-17 Discord: https://discord.gg/u4ETeJV

Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700K, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro, 970 Evo Plus, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum|
F/A-18C ,
AV-8B, JF-17, A-10C, M-2000C, F-16C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 08:40 PM   #7
randomTOTEN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: KBFL/KBUR/KJVY/KEWR
Posts: 1,169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
I think the best way to go about this is through the ME. In a similar fashion to the selection of a parking spot for airport landing, let us be able to assign a holding altitude to each flight landing on the SC, on the flight's Landing waypoint.
I like this idea.
randomTOTEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 03:07 AM   #8
MacEwan
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
Player automatic calls are annoying enough as it is already and I wouldn't want unrealistic comms.

I think the best way to go about this is through the ME. In a similar fashion to the selection of a parking spot for airport landing, let us be able to assign a holding altitude to each flight landing on the SC, on the flight's Landing waypoint.

There could also be a plane limit to each altitude, same as for the parking spots (but more than 1, this time). And if the mission creator doesn't want to take the time to adjust these options, there is always Auto (again, same as the parking spots), which is already implemented.

I think this would be a win-win situation that would satisfy everyone.
Excellent idea.
Please ED, don't take forever to implement this. It seems pretty straightforward and in-line with current functionality
MacEwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 05:18 PM   #9
Nealius
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 4,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by randomTOTEN View Post
Well if it's prebriefed IRL lets make it the same in DCS. There should be a way to determine the holding altitudes of the AI so we can predict the proper one to assign to player flights.
I would want that more than unrealistic comms (like we have with the tankers and speed?)

We already have somewhat unrealistic comms because CASE I is ziplip from "See you at 10" to calling the ball: You do not check in with "tower" and you will not be given a Signal Charlie from the Airboss (per CNATRA P-816). It's all timed.

I'm okay with this departure from realism because:

1. The AI are lacking I.
2. Cyclic Ops isn't modeled
3. We aren't real naval aviators capable of timing things like that (though I would love to try that challenge in the sim)

So I'd be okay with another departure from realistic comms in order to get traffic flowing smoothly around the Boat.
__________________
YouTube Channel: "Clutch"

Z390 Aorus Elite | i5-9600k @4.7Ghz | RTX2070 | 32GB DDR4 | Windows 10 | Odyssey Plus | Warthog HOTAS | 20cm Extension
Nealius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 08:14 PM   #10
Mufasa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: South TEXAS
Posts: 10
Default

What I would like added is if my Aircraft is damaged I should be abled to declare an emergency and have first chance to land or have the barricade propped up. As far as low on fuel you should be able to go to the tanker unless your aircraft is got an un-operational fuel probe which you can declare an emergency. YES we are not real pilots but hey let's add to the immersion.
Mufasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:44 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.