Drop countermeasures, flares, during ground attack run. - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2019, 08:29 PM   #1
vvaris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 9
Default Drop countermeasures, flares, during ground attack run.

How can I make the Mig-21 fire flares during the attack run? It should be no brainer to have an option for continuous flare during attack as you can expect that you will be shot at.

There is Flying in Sam WEZ:
"AI will release chaff and/or flares as a preventative measure when inside a known enemy SAM threat zone or within weapons range of a known enemy aircraft armed with IR-homing missile. Default Setting."

https://wiki.hoggitworld.com/view/DCS_option_flareUsing

I made simple AI CAS mission with Mig-21 attacking convoy with rockets. Close to the convoy there is a Stinger manpad. I tried setting a waypoint action: "Flying in Sam WEZ".

Mig-21 doesn't however put out flares while in the Stingers range during the attack until it has fired. Then it is unfortunately too late.

Last edited by vvaris; 09-30-2019 at 04:43 AM.
vvaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 11:05 AM   #2
dark_wood
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Romania
Posts: 169
Default

I think that is because manpads doesn't have a radar, they are IR guided, so the Mig will never know what hit him. Try to use an Avenger, or any else SAM with radar (Hawk, Patriot, Rapier, etc)
dark_wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 03:14 PM   #3
Exorcet
Veteran
 
Exorcet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,035
Default

Isn't there an option to use CM's continuously? Use that with a unit in zone or moving zone trigger for the MiG.
__________________
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk187/Exorcet/F-15singaturebaseACOmodifiedcomp-1.jpg
Win 10 i5-9600KF 4.6 GHz 64 GB RAM RTX2080Ti 11GB -- Win 7 64 i5-6600K 3.6 GHz 32 GB RAM GTX970 4GB -- A-10C, F-5E, Su-27, F-15C, F-14B, F-16C missions in User Files
Exorcet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 11:19 AM   #4
vvaris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 9
Default

To my knowledgethere isn't continous countermeasure option.

In my opinion it is no brainer to use countermeasures during ground attack run in hostile environment. I would have assumed DCS had this option.
vvaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 04:41 AM   #5
vvaris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 9
Default

Bump.
vvaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 05:31 PM   #6
Exorcet
Veteran
 
Exorcet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,035
Default

Have you tried dark wood's suggestion?


I setup a MiG-21 rocket attack and the MiG used flares preemptively (it would still be hit sometimes though). However I'm using an older version of DCS and there was a recent change to the AI's ability to see threats.
__________________
http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk187/Exorcet/F-15singaturebaseACOmodifiedcomp-1.jpg
Win 10 i5-9600KF 4.6 GHz 64 GB RAM RTX2080Ti 11GB -- Win 7 64 i5-6600K 3.6 GHz 32 GB RAM GTX970 4GB -- A-10C, F-5E, Su-27, F-15C, F-14B, F-16C missions in User Files
Exorcet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:43 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.