HUD FOV - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2019, 12:26 AM   #1
Habu_69
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA VA
Posts: 620
Default HUD FOV

Anyone know how to change the HUD FOV without changing pilot head position? I would like to reduce size of the HUD display to fit better within the reflector glass.
Habu_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 02:43 AM   #2
David OC
Senior Member
 
David OC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,866
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habu_69 View Post
Anyone know how to change the HUD FOV without changing pilot head position? I would like to reduce size of the HUD display to fit better within the reflector glass.

In the option menu make sure you have user saved views ticked.


Pause Trackir and recenter view and zoom. Numberpad 5 and Num enter.


You can see FOV when in game. Hold left control + pause twice.

Hold Right control and Right shift. Move the camera forward back Numpad / and *

Move the FOV with just Numpad / and *

Save your settings Hold Right Alt + Numberpad 0

For VR, I just lean in a bit then recenter the view.
__________________


i7-7700K OC @ 5Ghz | ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero MB
| ASUS GTX 1080 Ti STRIX | 16GB Corsair Vengeance 3466Mhz | Corsair H100i V2 Radiator | Samsung 960 EVO M.2 NVMe 500G SSD | 2 X Samsung 850 EVO 500G SSD | Oculus Rift | ASUS PG278Q 27-inch, 2560 x 1440, G-SYNC, 144Hz, 1ms | Fractal Design R5 Case

Chuck's DCS Tutorial Library

Download PDF Tutorial guides
to help get up to speed with aircraft quickly and also great for taking a good look at the aircraft available for DCS before purchasing. Link



Last edited by David OC; 02-11-2019 at 02:46 AM.
David OC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 09:55 AM   #3
Brun
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London Town
Posts: 231
Default

Only way to see more of the HUD is to move closer to it.
Brun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 01:03 PM   #4
chrisofsweden
Member
 
chrisofsweden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 499
Default

I think he wants to shrink the elements displayed on the reflector glass for a better fit with his current viewport. Not alter the overall FOV. It's possible that there's a solution, but I don't know it. It will definitely involve LUA editing and it might prove very challenging if at all possible.

Last edited by chrisofsweden; 02-13-2019 at 03:14 PM.
chrisofsweden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 09:59 PM   #5
FZG_Immel
Member
 
FZG_Immel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 943
Default

Nope. Otherwise we would all have fixed the stupid a-10c pilot position....
__________________
https://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic70550_3.gif
Asus Z390-H - SSD M.2 EVO 970 - Intel I9 @5.0ghz - 32gb DDR4 4000 - ZOTAC 2080ti AMP Extreme Core - Cougar FSSB + Cougar NN_Dan + HOTAS Warthog - Saitek Combat Pedals - Track IR5
FZG_Immel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 09:21 PM   #6
Doum76
Member
 
Doum76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Qc, Canada
Posts: 970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisofsweden View Post
I think he wants to shrink the elements displayed on the reflector glass for a better fit with his current viewport. Not alter the overall FOV. It's possible that there's a solution, but I don't know it. It will definitely involve LUA editing and it might prove very challenging if at all possible.



The only way i'Ve found to shrink is, but can't remember how i'Ve done it in VR, if i loaded in non VR, adjust then back inVR, been a while as some of the comands seems not to work, easier with Track IR.



So you can try what i mean is, without any head tracking and how i'Ve done it when i was using TrackIR:


RCTRL+RALT+NUMPAD* or RCTRL+RALT+NUMPAD/ to set the HUD symbology as i wanted, i then used the zoom with NUMPAD* or NUMPAD/ then saved the customed view, pretty much as David said

Last edited by Doum76; 02-13-2019 at 09:23 PM.
Doum76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 03:00 AM   #7
CBStu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 33
Default

Not really a solution but I often use the function to keep the display from moving left or right on it's own. Sorry I forget right now what it is but I programmed my 'H' key to activate it. I know that it is supposed to tell you something when it is off center but it also makes anything to the one side of the pitch ladder invisible.
CBStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:37 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.