Valve/HTC Vive Discussion - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2015, 05:05 PM   #1
Python
Senior Member
 
Python's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 1,764
Default Valve/HTC Vive Discussion

It's becoming a crowded market, but this could be one to watch...

http://www.pcworld.com/article/28903...r-headset.html

__________________
<a href=http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic67951_1.gif target=_blank>http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic67951_1.gif</a>

Last edited by Python; 03-06-2015 at 01:18 PM.
Python is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 05:07 PM   #2
rcjonessnp175
Member
 
rcjonessnp175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 939
Default

Very nice hope it works in dcs world
__________________
I7 4770k @ 4.6, sli 980 evga oc edition, ssdx2, Sony 55 inch edid hack nvidia 3dvision. Volair sim pit, DK2 Oculus Rift.
rcjonessnp175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 05:30 PM   #3
Python
Senior Member
 
Python's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 1,764
Default

Hope so, it is named VIVE...

http://www.pcgamer.com/valves-vr-hea...are-making-it/
__________________
<a href=http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic67951_1.gif target=_blank>http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic67951_1.gif</a>
Python is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 05:32 PM   #4
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcjonessnp175 View Post
Very nice hope it works in dcs world
... at 90 FPS.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 08:39 PM   #5
rcjonessnp175
Member
 
rcjonessnp175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 939
Default

Dcs 2.0 "should" be doable with sli 980. If not well this tech and hardware have allot of optimizing to be done. Higher the refresh the better, but with that we need the software and hardware to provide it.
__________________
I7 4770k @ 4.6, sli 980 evga oc edition, ssdx2, Sony 55 inch edid hack nvidia 3dvision. Volair sim pit, DK2 Oculus Rift.
rcjonessnp175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 10:00 PM   #6
karambiatos
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cichlidfan View Post
90 FPS.
HAHAHAHAH!
__________________
A 1000 flights, a 1000 crashes, perfect record.

Check out my random mods and things
karambiatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 02:43 AM   #7
Rangi
Senior Member
 
Rangi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alice Springs, AU
Posts: 1,942
Default

I have no experience with VR so I don't know, but do you think 1200 x1080 for each eye would make dcs playable?
__________________
PC:
Spoiler:
6600K @ 4.5 GHz, 12GB RAM, GTX 970, 32" 2K monitor.
Rangi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 03:49 AM   #8
King_Hrothgar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,445
Default

Sort of. That resolution is similar to what you'd find on a typical CRT from the late 1990's. DCS is made for higher resolutions, so going that low would likely require zooming in to read gauges and the HUD. DCS 2 might allow for 90+ fps at that resolution though.
King_Hrothgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 03:53 AM   #9
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by King_Hrothgar View Post
Sort of. That resolution is similar to what you'd find on a typical CRT from the late 1990's. DCS is made for higher resolutions, so going that low would likely require zooming in to read gauges and the HUD. DCS 2 might allow for 90+ fps at that resolution though.
Remember, there are two screens making them approximately equivalent to 1.25x a standard 1080HD display (in terms of pixels).
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 05:43 AM   #10
WildBillKelsoe
Veteran
 
WildBillKelsoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 6,290
Default

waiting for oculus consumer here...
__________________
AWAITING ED NEW DAMAGE MODEL IMPLEMENTATION FOR WW2 BIRDS

Fat T is above, thin T is below. Long T is faster, Short T is slower. Open triangle is AWACS, closed triangle is your own sensors. Double dash is friendly, Single dash is enemy. Circle is friendly. Strobe is jammer. Strobe to dash is under 35 km. HDD is 7 times range key. Radar to 160 km, IRST to 10 km. Stay low, but never slow.
WildBillKelsoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:53 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.