[REPORTED] parking area light tower not affecting ACs

the new airport flood lighting is a great addition to caucassus,

however it does not affect aircrafts within the light cone. both exterior and interior stay unaffected from the light, which look very, very glitchy.

this is on new caucassus and NTTR (i'm new to NTTR, so i don't know if it worked there before PBR).

i really hope, that it can get fixed soon, since deferred shading should (afaik) enable multiple "true" lightsources without performance impact.

if this can not be done in the near future, it would be better to just disable the light towers until they are implemented properly.

Edited by twistking

that's a shame.

is this an acknowledged problem and can we expect some improvment on that?

i know that night lighting in general is being looked at, but i did not see any mentioning of this problem, although i think it is a huge immersion breaker. when parked under such a light, it does not look only bad, but glitchy and completely broken.

i thought the whole idea behind deferred shading is to have less performance impact with dynamic light sources.

for testing i dropped a whole bunch of suu-25 illumination flares and they seem to affect the aircrafts just fine and without any noticable decrease in fps...

This also applies to aircrafts. Screenshot taken in 2.5.1

screen_180426_141745.png

(taken from the beta 2.5.1 branch discussions, so it's still not fixed)

todays newsletter with info on the night lighting overhaul did not mention this being worked on either.

any official word on that issue? i can't imagine that this is supposed to stay like that...

Edited by twistking

• 2 months later...
Yup, its still an issue, we know.

ok, i was just worried, that this could have been forgotten (specifically for nttr), because it has been fixed already on caucassus, if i'm not mistaken.

keep up the good work! :thumbup:

• ED Team