What new plane?

CBStu

Newbie here trying to figure out what new plane I should buy. I fly the stock TF51 fine but found it has no guns. I bought an A10C and found I can fly it fine but the electronics are way beyond me, at least at this stage. I watched a tutorial and 50% of that was way over my head. So I thought a WW2 plane might be the way to go since they are much simpler. Bought the Spitfire and can't fly it. I have about a 10% chance of getting off the runway and those few flights I usually crash on landing. What can you recommend? Also is there somewhere I can read reviews of various planes?

I would recommend the F-5E Tiger II. It's a very simple 70s fighter jet with additional air to ground capabilities. Its avionics are very simple (unlike the A-10) and it is great fun and easy to fly (unlike the Spitfire). It's the best beginner airplane IMHO, besides the dedicated trainer aircraft which are boring if you ask me.

Edited by QuiGon

Intel i7-12700K @ 8x5GHz+4x3.8GHz + 32 GB DDR5 RAM + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + M.2 SSD + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

Tornado3 small.jpg

Agree with QuiGon on the F-5E.

Similar era airframes would be the MiG-21Bis, and the AJS 37 Viggen, of which Id also recommend the Viggen. Its quite simple out of the box, and it can be as complex as you want it - but its still quite simple imo, just requires to wrap your head around its logic. But for simple CCIP quick release of bombs and rockets, its really straight forward. Plus Heatblur (the developers behind the module) continue to support it big time, with new features and also just going back and improving stuff they have learned from their development on their next module.

Crash Laobi has made a short 'Which Plane' video for each of the above, describing what type of platform it is.

- Jack of many DCS modules, master of none.