diff.lua (versus) .lua files???

I'm new to DCS and have the TS HOTAS stick & throttle and I'm trying to load a custom profile. I was looking in DCS device files and I found a profile that I want to use (i.e. TMC, TTM, Keyboard.lua, and Thrustmaster Combined file). The issue I don't understand is these profiles only have a .LUA file for the keyboard, but DCS keeps looking for a .diff.lua file? I don't understand why the difference.

How do I get DCS to load a .LUA file & not a .DIFF.LUA? Is the file extension .diff.lua due to a newer version of DCS, whereas the profile I am trying to use was created in an older version and the file naming convention has changed? I running 1.5.5, but the profile I am trying to use was created over two years years ago in 7/2015.

I tried deleting all keyboard commands, except one (you have to make at least one assignment or it will not let you save the profile), but that didn't work either. I feel like there's something stupid I'm missing and I can't figure it out. What am I doing wrong?

I tried putting the contents of the .LUA file from the profile I want to use into a .diff.lua file and portions of the profile worked, but others simply did not or did not work as they should. I keep thinking the .diff file extension equals "different than default A-10C SIM assignments" and maybe the profile .lua file I'm trying to use doesn't match up exactly. I don't know...

I can run the target software and I finally figured out hot to create a combined device ID (that took forever), but this last piece is beyond my understanding.

Any help is super appreciated as I've been messing with this for days now...

The whole location and function of LUA has changed. The diff.lua that's created in your user\saved games folder gets created when you change the default setting in the game control settings. So if you bind a hotas function to be different than the default one, diff.lua file will be created. You can't really change it.