Operation Snowfox - Persian Gulf PvE Playground - Page 25 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2019, 07:00 PM   #241
solidGad
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 122
Default

Hello good sir. Quick question. Are the A2A spawns automatic? Loaded up an Su-27 last night and it would only give me ground missions. Figured maybe for A2A I just have to go look for them?

Thanks!
solidGad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 08:25 PM   #242
Surrexen
Member
 
Surrexen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidGad View Post
Hello good sir. Quick question. Are the A2A spawns automatic? Loaded up an Su-27 last night and it would only give me ground missions. Figured maybe for A2A I just have to go look for them?

Thanks!
1. You don't get specific 'air missions' in this scenario. All mission goals are ground targets. It is assumed you will deal with the air assets as part of the mission.
2. There should be 5 CAP groups, 1 GCI group, and a Red Bomber group. Usually they are all up in the air after about 10-15 minutes or so.
3. If none of the above groups are spawning after having waited for 15 minutes, check the GameMode flag in the editor didn't get changed to something other than 0 or 1.

Last edited by Surrexen; 11-25-2019 at 08:32 PM.
Surrexen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 09:21 PM   #243
Twwhitey
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surrexen View Post
No worries, let me know how you go. I'll test TOO mode a little bit later as well.

Edit: Works fine for me in TOO mode as well. Maybe try doing a repair and give it another go.
Man that’s so weird. I did a repair and reset the Openbeta saved games folder too. Oh well, I’ll keep playing around with it. Thanks for confirming!!
__________________
i9-9900K @ 5.0GHz, ASUS ROG Z390 MAXIMUS XI HERO, ASUS GeForce RTX 2080Ti 11GB, 32GB DDR4 @ 3866MHZ, 1TB Intel 660P M.2 NVMe SSD, 1TB WD Black SN750 NVMe SSD, Oculus Rift S
Twwhitey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2019, 08:54 PM   #244
MikiBzh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 53
Default

Log as spectator first, then choose your slot.
MikiBzh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2019, 11:51 PM   #245
Surrexen
Member
 
Surrexen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikiBzh View Post
Log as spectator first, then choose your slot.
Worth a try I suppose, but I've never had to do that.
Surrexen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2019, 04:15 PM   #246
Leysard
Junior Member
 
Leysard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 86
Default

Surrexen,

Thanks for this great mission. I'm currently using it in FA-18 and with persitency. I have cleaned out Abu Musa Island from all ground targets. Now when I get back into the mission, on SA page, the 15 over AbuMusa is still present even that there is no more targets on the Island (double checked with Tacview). Any Idea ?

Also, the D/L of Stennis flight 2, 3, or 4, cannot remember is set to 167, not 127, is that correct (I usually switch it back to 127 or advise my wingmen to do so) ?
__________________
Win 10 | i7 8700 Coffee Lake OC @ 4.9Ghz | 32Go Ram | 1080Ti | DCS on SSD | Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog | Saitek Rudder | TrackIr 5 Pro
Leysard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2019, 11:56 PM   #247
Surrexen
Member
 
Surrexen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leysard View Post
Surrexen,

Thanks for this great mission. I'm currently using it in FA-18 and with persitency. I have cleaned out Abu Musa Island from all ground targets. Now when I get back into the mission, on SA page, the 15 over AbuMusa is still present even that there is no more targets on the Island (double checked with Tacview). Any Idea ?

Also, the D/L of Stennis flight 2, 3, or 4, cannot remember is set to 167, not 127, is that correct (I usually switch it back to 127 or advise my wingmen to do so) ?
Yeah this is normal. The SA page gets it's data for SAM site locations at mission start (like the data cartridge was prepared before you click 'fly'), before the persistency script can remove the units from the map. Unfortunately, there isn't anything I can do about that one.

Edit: I've just jumped in to look at the D/L of the Stennis Hornets, for me when I switch the D/L on for each plane it is set to 127. This isn't something you can set in the editor either so I'm not sure why it's showing up different for you.

Last edited by Surrexen; 11-30-2019 at 12:03 AM.
Surrexen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 01:00 AM   #248
Ziptie
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: America
Posts: 927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surrexen View Post
Yeah this is normal. The SA page gets it's data for SAM site locations at mission start (like the data cartridge was prepared before you click 'fly'), before the persistency script can remove the units from the map. Unfortunately, there isn't anything I can do about that one.

Edit: I've just jumped in to look at the D/L of the Stennis Hornets, for me when I switch the D/L on for each plane it is set to 127. This isn't something you can set in the editor either so I'm not sure why it's showing up different for you.
Hey Surrexen - if I (or another person) were to have made a mission that is hosted in a MP server - would simply using the mission scripting that you provided (adding the -- to each of those two lines) make the mission retain progress like it does in single player?


Cheers,


Don (callsign Ziptie)
__________________
i7 6700 @4ghz, 32GB HyperX Fury ddr4-2133 ram, GTX980, Oculus Rift CV1, 2x400 gig SSD drives (one soley for DCS OpenBeta standalone) Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS

Airframes: A10C, F/A-18C, F-14B, FC3, Combined Arms. Terrains: Persian Gulf, Nevada NTTR
Ziptie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 08:38 AM   #249
Surrexen
Member
 
Surrexen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daarseth View Post
Hey Surrexen - if I (or another person) were to have made a mission that is hosted in a MP server - would simply using the mission scripting that you provided (adding the -- to each of those two lines) make the mission retain progress like it does in single player?


Cheers,


Don (callsign Ziptie)
You will need to adjust some things in the scripts, but the script doesn't care if it's running single player or multiplayer. When running in multiplayer, only the host needs to worry about the de-sanitization process as only the host machine will generate the lua files etc. The host machine will also need file permissions in the appropriate folders to be able to write the files out. All the usual things.
Surrexen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 09:12 PM   #250
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 791
Default

Hi Surrexen

I have been flying Snowfox a lot lately, in an attempt to clear out all opposing ground forces (thanks to that awesome save function!! )

Main trouble I'm having to deal with, are enemy cap patrols. There are in fact so many, that I'm having a very hard time picking out ground targets/SAM's. Which is totally cool by the way. It shouldn't be too easy.

One thing though. What exactly are the Khasab CAP Vipers and F-18 and 14 fleet defenders supposed to do? Are they only defending a very limited range around Khasab and the carrier?
I ask this because I haven't seen them get into action so far. Even when enemy aircraft came as close to somewhere in between Qeshm and Khasab (I was kinda hoping they would come and protect me while I was making my "mach1-winchester-tail-between-my-legs" escape back to Khasab ), but they just kept doing their orbit.
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 32gb DDR4 - Oculus Rift cv1 - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar HOTAS (NN-Dan mod) - Pointctrl <-- must have for VR users!! - Fully adjustable DIY playseat
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:39 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.