Operation Snowfox - Persian Gulf PvE Playground - Page 26 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2019, 09:34 PM   #251
Surrexen
Member
 
Surrexen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
Hi Surrexen

I have been flying Snowfox a lot lately, in an attempt to clear out all opposing ground forces (thanks to that awesome save function!! )

Main trouble I'm having to deal with, are enemy cap patrols. There are in fact so many, that I'm having a very hard time picking out ground targets/SAM's. Which is totally cool by the way. It shouldn't be too easy.

One thing though. What exactly are the Khasab CAP Vipers and F-18 and 14 fleet defenders supposed to do? Are they only defending a very limited range around Khasab and the carrier?
I ask this because I haven't seen them get into action so far. Even when enemy aircraft came as close to somewhere in between Qeshm and Khasab (I was kinda hoping they would come and protect me while I was making my "mach1-winchester-tail-between-my-legs" escape back to Khasab ), but they just kept doing their orbit.
Yeah those groups are on carrier/base defence and are on a fairly tight leash for obvious reasons. They definitely do attack things that get within their set ranges. The F-16's often trigger 'border disputes' and as a general rule the fleet defence planes do a pretty good job of keeping the area around the carrier relatively clear.

I had made a small change in the scripts to do with red/blue air in the last update that I actually think is making all the AI planes slightly less aggressive which I have undone and that fix will be out once I've got this JF-17 in the hangar.
Surrexen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 04:35 AM   #252
Surrexen
Member
 
Surrexen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 379
Default

v118 is up

Changelog v118:

- JF-17 added
- UH-1H added
- Radio call-in's for MQ-9 Predator aerial drones that can act as JTAC's for the called sector, be advised the drones will have to fly from near Khasab to the target sector to give some semblance of realism. The drones are invisible/immortal to make up for the travel time.
- Some minor script adjustments
Surrexen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 05:19 PM   #253
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 797
Default

Sorry if asked before, bit could you explain how to load version 118 while also keeping progress made in version 117?
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 32gb DDR4 - Oculus Rift cv1 - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar HOTAS (NN-Dan mod) - Pointctrl <-- must have for VR users!! - Fully adjustable DIY playseat
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 08:08 PM   #254
Surrexen
Member
 
Surrexen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
Sorry if asked before, bit could you explain how to load version 118 while also keeping progress made in version 117?
So long as you leave the generated lua files alone, just launch it as normal and it will continue on.
Surrexen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 02:06 PM   #255
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surrexen View Post
So long as you leave the generated lua files alone, just launch it as normal and it will continue on.
You're right, it did


So, I tried version 118.

Some feedback:
Great to have the Huey available, but the distance from Khasab to the area(s) of operations is just way to far to enjoy. The fact that 90% of the flight is oversea, doesn't help with that either. Frustration gets to a maximum when being shot down just when you arrive near enemy ground units

Just an idea (without having any knowledge of scripting): It would be awesome if we were able to take off with our Huey somewhere on Qeshm. Would it maybe be possible to make an FOB/FARP base spawn on Qeshm Island as soon as enemy SAM sites there are killed. That would however mean, that the Huey only comes available after clearing all SAMs.

I have no idea though, if the above suggestion would be even possible with scripting...




Anyways; I think by now this mission is among my top 3 of missions with best replay value!!
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 32gb DDR4 - Oculus Rift cv1 - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar HOTAS (NN-Dan mod) - Pointctrl <-- must have for VR users!! - Fully adjustable DIY playseat
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 03:02 AM   #256
Surrexen
Member
 
Surrexen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirrah View Post
You're right, it did


So, I tried version 118.

Some feedback:
Great to have the Huey available, but the distance from Khasab to the area(s) of operations is just way to far to enjoy. The fact that 90% of the flight is oversea, doesn't help with that either. Frustration gets to a maximum when being shot down just when you arrive near enemy ground units

Just an idea (without having any knowledge of scripting): It would be awesome if we were able to take off with our Huey somewhere on Qeshm. Would it maybe be possible to make an FOB/FARP base spawn on Qeshm Island as soon as enemy SAM sites there are killed. That would however mean, that the Huey only comes available after clearing all SAMs.

I have no idea though, if the above suggestion would be even possible with scripting...




Anyways; I think by now this mission is among my top 3 of missions with best replay value!!

Helo missions in Snowfox and Clear Field are tough because the air dispatcher will vector bad guys to you once you are in Iranian air space. If you time your attack and call CAP support at the appropriate time it can be done though. I have already said, sticking FARPs everywhere in these missions would not be very realistic.

I have spent several weeks smashing my head on the keyboard trying to figure out how to make helo's work well in these missions and came very close to having some extremely cool things to add in, but unfortunately once I plugged all the code into dynamic situations the thing fell over due to pathfinding issues (it worked perfect in single scenarios). I have had to put the whole helo thing back on the drawing board until I can come up with a workaround for the issues I have run into.

Meanwhile, the next version will have a corrected position for the Bandar Abbas SA-5 (SA-10) site as I found exactly where the launcher locations were on the map (I was only about 300m out so it's not a massive change). Here is hoping we actually get the real SA-5 to come out soon to capitilize on this discovery!
Surrexen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 10:22 AM   #257
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 797
Default

I totally understand why you don't want to use those awefully outdated (and green) FARP objects in your mission.

What about using one or two Perry Class ships, as spawn points for the Huey?

(Again no idea about any complications. Merely trying to help )
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 32gb DDR4 - Oculus Rift cv1 - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar HOTAS (NN-Dan mod) - Pointctrl <-- must have for VR users!! - Fully adjustable DIY playseat
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 02:49 AM   #258
Moo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for adding the Huey!
The one thing I'd love to see if you can add (if it's possible) is to sling load in AA air defenses.

To be able to sling load up 2-3 crates up the coast or onto an island to assemble a Blue Sam site to help the air defense / attacking of the next 'area' would be a fantastic addition.
Without knowing anything I think you're almost there.
You can call fighter cover already, you have persistence in the static and units.
I can imagine that if you had a trigger/flag that the SAM sites have to put in a very specific area you'd be able to call that as a unit appearing as part of your persistance? So would in effect be there the next time around.
But as I say, I know nothing!
Moo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 03:30 AM   #259
Surrexen
Member
 
Surrexen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moo View Post
Thanks for adding the Huey!
The one thing I'd love to see if you can add (if it's possible) is to sling load in AA air defenses.

To be able to sling load up 2-3 crates up the coast or onto an island to assemble a Blue Sam site to help the air defense / attacking of the next 'area' would be a fantastic addition.
Without knowing anything I think you're almost there.
You can call fighter cover already, you have persistence in the static and units.
I can imagine that if you had a trigger/flag that the SAM sites have to put in a very specific area you'd be able to call that as a unit appearing as part of your persistance? So would in effect be there the next time around.
But as I say, I know nothing!
The next thing is there will be 5 more mission targets. The enemy EWR network will no longer be invisible/immortal, and the red squadrons have been added into the detection list along with all radar capable red ground and sea units. Change is in testing.

Helo stuff is back on the drawing board as things didn't quite work out. Helo's have brought me nothing but headaches

Last edited by Surrexen; 12-09-2019 at 07:02 AM.
Surrexen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 08:05 PM   #260
bunkerjunker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 27
Default

Fantastic Work Surrexen. Excellent mission and the closest thing I've seen to a dynamic campaign.

Asking for a friend, is there any way to keep the audio files when AI drops a bomb or foxes on a bandit, but disable them when clients do in multiplayer? Love the feedback from the AI, but when I drop a bomb, I like to make the call to my package and the audio sometimes interrupts/duplicates the calls.

And one last question, can the elevation in the reports be changed to feet instead of meters? Is it a function of the _Settings:SetImperial() in the .lua? Thanks for your help. Keep up the great work.

Last edited by bunkerjunker; 12-09-2019 at 08:19 PM.
bunkerjunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:38 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.