Sooo hard to make historical scenario - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2019, 10:37 AM   #1
Thor_H
Junior Member
 
Thor_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Norway
Posts: 88
Default Sooo hard to make historical scenario

Hello, privet!
First of all, i LOVE DCS World and i have purchased almost every module available.
Now my gripes:
I like to relive history, and the Cold War era in particular. So i am trying o make scenarios from the 1960's up til the end of the cold war. BUT it is so diffucult to use USSR as a faction because most of the modules do not support it, whenever i try to use USSR there is with a few exceptions no skins available, i would be fine with "plausible" skins but the problem is most of them have the "VVS Russia" written on them and or the Russian Flag on the tail.

When so much emphasis goes into the accurate modelling of these fantastic modules and i see lots of nations represented how come USSR is almost always left out of the equation? Should be a simple enough thing to add "SUN" as an option to a skin as a few of the modules have skins that would not be completely out off the ballpark to make a believeable scenario.

One example is the Mi-8, great skins but NO option to fly it as USSR.

Gets of soapbox and wishes you all a magic weekend!
Thor_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 10:39 AM   #2
Thor_H
Junior Member
 
Thor_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Norway
Posts: 88
Default

Yes, i know about dowloadable skins in user files but my scenarios are made for MP and it is such a pain to get everyone to download and install a bunch of files everytime we want to fly.
Thor_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 10:53 AM   #3
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 14,212
Default

+1

The lack of units available for the USSR in DCS is indeed pretty frustrating and has stopped me from working on several cold war missions, becaus it became too frustrating to always use Russia instead of the USSR, as it just destroys the historical immersion.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + M.2 SSD + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 11:47 AM   #4
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 6,757
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thor_H View Post
... it is such a pain to get everyone to download and install a bunch of files everytime we want to fly.

Not everytime you want to fly, just the first time. Give your friends a "ussr" pack of liveries to download and place on their Saved games/dcs/liveries/ folder, and they are set for any future cold war mission you might edit
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - nVidia GTX1070ti - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:25 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.