DCS on two computers - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2019, 08:02 PM   #1
Saurophaganax
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 13
Talking DCS on two computers

My appologies if I failed to ask on the right place, but this is a rather odd question.

I have two computers:

Got an old Alienware Aurora R4, (core i7, 16GB, 1 Tera, GTX 1080, GTX 780) long ago, bought an Occulus Rift, and since it works with any program except DCS, I save a couple pennies and got a Helios Predator 500, (i7, 36GB 1 tera, GTX 1070).

So, I'm waiting for the new DCS Online Server Software to come out, and in the meantime I'm designing missions for a possible future server.

I have to compromise every time I play a mission and reduce the quality to avoid the VR, acting up.

The question is: given that a complex mission is a bit too heavy for either computer, if I use them in network with one as server and the other as client, do I get better results, since they would be sharing the workload?

I know the question sounds dumb, but a "yes" is not necessary self evident for somebody who knows so little. Wise is who in doubt asks, though.

Thanks in advance.
Saurophaganax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 08:14 PM   #2
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 5,274
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saurophaganax View Post
...
The question is: given that a complex mission is a bit too heavy for either computer, if I use them in network with one as server and the other as client, do I get better results, since they would be sharing the workload?
I've two PCs at home, the weakest run as a DCS dedicated server and the fastest is where I usually play DCS with. I've not noticed a better performance of DCS when running a Mission hosted on the server, versus running in single player, so the answer to your question would be no.
Sorry.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 LTSC - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 11:09 PM   #3
sea2sky
Senior Member
 
sea2sky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,421
Default

Same here. Running some bigger missions on a second (weaker) PC and notice an fps boost on the main one.
__________________
i5-9600K@4.8GHz z390 Aorus Pro 32Gb DDR4 1080ti Rift CV1 Warthog on Virpil base
sea2sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 05:42 PM   #4
vhsousa
Junior Member
 
vhsousa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Portugal
Posts: 22
Default

Hi guys, I have a doubt in this two computer matter:
Me and my son both play DCS, we like diferente planes, i'm more in helicopters and he on F-18 carrier ops.
Due I have a powerfull pc than is laptop and a bigger screen
My question his: Can he use my PC and log with is DCS Steam account (I'm a DCS standalone) and play with is F-18 when I'm not using my PC?

What must he do?
Just login in his Steam and his DCS accound and after that he can download/install his planes to my PC?

And then when I want to fly I log in my DCS accound

Thanks for the help

[Edit]

Just tried, it works
__________________

Last edited by vhsousa; 01-14-2020 at 09:04 PM.
vhsousa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:21 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.