Kneeboards: a little intel please

Bahger

With apologies in advance for asking another very basic question after coming back to DCS somewhat rusty for the first time in four years, the -- very welcome -- kneeboard feature is new to me. Can anyone explain how the selection is made, i.e. is it contextual, depending on where the a/c is in relation to certain airports or is it up to the player to load images into a directory which then show up as kneeboards? Where is this folder? Can the player add images and, if so, what are the restrictions re. size and file type? Many thanks.

Are you flying in VR ? If not , i like to use my tablet for the kneeboard . I simply take screenshots of airport diagrams , VADS ,

Map sections , notes etc and compile them into a folder .

If you are flying in VR , you may find this helpful .

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=229077

I have no experience with the DCS kneeboard , but others will help you there .

Edited by Svsmokey

9700k @ stock , Aorus Pro Z390 wifi , 32gb 3200 mhz CL16 , 1tb EVO 970 , MSI RX 6800XT Gaming X TRIO , Seasonic Prime 850w Gold , Coolermaster H500m , Noctua NH-D15S , CH Pro throttle and T50CM2/WarBrD base on Foxxmounts , CH pedals , Reverb G2v2

Edited my post for why :)

9700k @ stock , Aorus Pro Z390 wifi , 32gb 3200 mhz CL16 , 1tb EVO 970 , MSI RX 6800XT Gaming X TRIO , Seasonic Prime 850w Gold , Coolermaster H500m , Noctua NH-D15S , CH Pro throttle and T50CM2/WarBrD base on Foxxmounts , CH pedals , Reverb G2v2

I'll just dump this old copypasta – it answers at least some of those questions:

The kneeboard is an often under-appreciated tool in DCS It can provide all kinds of useful information while in flight without having to look away or alt-tab to manuals or printouts or the like. The Caucasus and NTTR maps come with airport navigation cards, and some modules — notably the Viggen and MiG-21 — come with their own to deal with particular quirks of the respective aircraft.