Lock On Platinum - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2010, 08:32 PM   #31
Sawamura
Member
 
Sawamura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 653
Default

Nice trailer, GA.
Sawamura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 12:58 AM   #32
Avimimus
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 826
Default

*Groan* I foolishly thought that the DVD release would coincide with the online release and was ready to go early in April.

Is there any chance to have a deal where we can pre-order the DVD version and get free access to the online version while we wait?

Still - good news for market reach.
Avimimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 02:54 AM   #33
Crunch
Veteran
 
Crunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge ON Canada
Posts: 3,154
Send a message via MSN to Crunch
Default

Nice to see a new boxed version in stores in North America. I hope there is good distribution and it captures a nice chunk of the NA market. It will end up bringing lots more online as well. Congrats ED.
Crunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 05:40 AM   #34
Witchking
Senior Member
 
Witchking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Mississauga/Hamilton,Canada
Posts: 2,481
Send a message via MSN to Witchking
Default

very well done with the trailer GA. Wags...will the existing FC2 users get an update that merges the interface and gui design to depict it as LO: platinum as well? :p Just that the lo platinum logo looks much cooler. :p
__________________
WHISPR | Intel I7 5930K | Nvidia GTX980 4GB GDDR5 | 16GB DDR4 | Intel 730 series 512GB SSD | Thrustmaster WARTHOG | CH Pro Pedals | TrackIR4 pro |
|A-10C|BS2 |CA|P-51 MUSTANG|UH-1H HUEY|MI-8 MTV2 |FC3|F5E|M2000C|AJS-37|FW190|BF 109K|Mig21|A-10:SSC,EWC|L-39|NEVADA|
Witchking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 10:11 AM   #35
pauldy
Member
 
pauldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Laguna, Philippines
Posts: 489
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EtherealN View Post
For CIS countries - yes.
Rest of the world - no.
I'm no-go in marketing or business but..

I think that would turn off potential buyers specifically newcomers to Lock On..

Going.. like "Oh Lock On, looks like a cool game!"

but then the buyer finds out. It needs an original Lock On CD..
..No Original CD in sight since it went out of production years ago..

"Oh bummer!~ "

*Heads off to buy another game instead...*

Oh well..

I hope i would still see the Boxed Add on FC2... if any of our local stores decides to order it at all...
__________________
pauldy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 10:13 AM   #36
EtherealN
Coffee boy
 
EtherealN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: An Chéim, Baile Átha Cliath, Éire
Posts: 14,918
Default

Actually, Lock On isn't out of production - Ubisoft routinely license it to bargain-bin producers and you can order copies on CD from several online retailers as well as Eagle Dynamics and TFC.

But basically, yes, it's a nuisance but there is nothing ED or TFC can do about it.

FC2 as an "expansion" in retail is a different thing. It's just the bundles with LOMAC+FC2 that require a license from Ubisoft outside the CIS.
__________________

Daniel "EtherealN" Agorander | Даниэль "эфирныйн" Агорандер
Intel i7 2600K @ 4.4GHz, ASUS Sabertooth P67, 8GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600MHz, ASUS GTX 560Ti DirectCU II 1GB, Samsung 830series 512GB SSD, Corsair AX850w, two BENQ screens and TM HOTAS Warthog
DCS: A-10C Warthog FAQ | DCS: P-51D FAQ | Remember to read the Forum Rules | Hell Yeah! | Norse Religious Education | Life of a Game Tester
EtherealN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 02:13 PM   #37
Toxe
Member
 
Toxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 323
Default

Very nice, this is great news!

Oh and brilliant video again, GA.
Toxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 04:11 PM   #38
TheMoose
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: X <- Marks the spot
Posts: 933
Send a message via MSN to TheMoose
Default

That is awesome news and the Promo video from GA is awesome.

However I have question. Last I heard, Ubisoft had boycotted Starforce from all their software. Will that version of DVD have starforce?
__________________
Antec 900 gaming tower, PSU: Corsair 750W, Q6600, Asus P5K, 8Gig Mushkin, Nvidia eVGA 280 GTX Superclocked 1G DDR3, SSDNOW200 Kingston Drive, TrackIr 3000+Vector, Logitech Extreme 3D Pro joystick, Saitek rudder pedals pro, Sharp 42" inch LCD Aquo. OS: windows 7 64bit.
TheMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 04:22 PM   #39
Mastiff
Veteran
 
Mastiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mars
Posts: 4,497
Default

only because they went for the "you must have an online conection to run games.".

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMoose View Post
That is awesome news and the Promo video from GA is awesome.

However I have question. Last I heard, Ubisoft had boycotted Starforce from all their software. Will that version of DVD have starforce?
__________________
" any failure you meet is never a defeat; merely a set up for a greater comeback " WF.
"Success is not final, failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that counts," Sir Churchill
" He who never changes his mind, never changes anything," WC, GBS.

"Asus z370 MX||i7x8700k||ddr4-32gb PC3200||RTX 2080-8gb||EVGA SN 1300 G2 ||turtle beach elite pro 7.1||Win10x64||TrackIr 4/ir||VKB,MCG\ViRpiL,T50cm|MFG CrossWinds||X55 Throttle||G19 Keyboard/Mouse|| Rift VR
32 Samsung|| 1x9inc||
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 04:51 PM   #40
Feuerfalke
Veteran
 
Feuerfalke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,530
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMoose View Post
That is awesome news and the Promo video from GA is awesome.

However I have question. Last I heard, Ubisoft had boycotted Starforce from all their software. Will that version of DVD have starforce?
Ubisoft exchanged the old Starforce DVD-check protection for something worse: A constant internet connection.

The current version of StarForce-Protection, however, has nothing in common with the old buggy drivers that cause so much trouble. Nothing except the name and the company
Modern Starforce does no longer install drivers, no more complex DVD checks or checks for virtual drives or something. You install, activate the game with a short internet connection, then you're free to play.
__________________

Gigabyte GA-Z87-UD3H | i7 4470k @ 4.5 GHz | 16 GB DDR3 @ 2.133 Ghz | GTX 1080 | HP LP2475w 1920x1200 | Cougar 1000 W | Creative X-Fi Ti | TIR5 | CH HOTAS + SaitekProPedals | Win10 64 HP | X-Keys Pro 20, 2x Pro 54
Feuerfalke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lock On Platinum andyfoot Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 1 & 2 10 12-04-2009 08:44 PM

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:57 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.