F16 joystick/HOTAS discussion - Page 15 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2019, 11:25 AM   #141
Deano87
Senior Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 13WELT_JankeS View Post
...and I'm waiting for the F-16CJ
I Knowwwww the feeeelinggg....

If you have any questions about the FSSB setup then don't hesitate to ask.
__________________
Ignore me I’m probably wrong - Now with 42% extra sarcasm - May contain nuts.

Proud owner of:
PointCTRL VR : Finger Trackers for VR -- Real Simulator : FSSB R3L Force Sensing Stick. -- Deltasim : Force Sensor WH Slew Upgrade -- Mach3Ti Ring : Real Flown Mach 3 SR-71 Titanium, made into an amazing ring.

My Fathers Aviation Book : 50 Years of Flying Fun - From Hunter to Spitfire and back again.
My Screenshots
Deano87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 02:05 PM   #142
13WELT_JankeS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Poland
Posts: 62
Default

Thanks, Mate! I will not hesitate to ask if necessary
__________________
i7-8700K, Z370, 32GB DDR4-3000MHz, RTX 2080 Ti, FSSB R3L, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, 2x MFD's, Windows 10 Pro, Pimax 5K+

DCS: F-16C, F/A-18C, F-14B, F-15C, AV-8B, M2000C, F-5E, A-10C, AJS-37, Su-27, Su-33, MiG-21bis, MiG-29, Spitfire LF Mk. IX, Bf 109 K-4, SA342, UH-1H
13WELT_JankeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 02:16 PM   #143
gianlu320
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 129
Default

@Deano87

If you don’t mind I have a question
I know you are planning to put your F16 throttle on an arm replicating the f16 throttle arm.
I’m trying to do the same thing.
But doing this requires the use of a throttle rail to implement the detents.
How do you plan on implementing the idle cutoff detent?
I’m scratching my head at the moment..
gianlu320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 06:27 PM   #144
Deano87
Senior Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,481
Default

This probably isn't what you want to hear.

But I'm actually using a throttle rail, It has bars that go down the front and back and join up with the throttle chassis to make it self supporting.

It will function similarly to this, but not look exactly the same.



One thing you need to be aware of though is that the side panels on the F-16 cockpit tilt inwards by 10 degrees and the rotation axis of the throttle is also leant inwards by 10 degrees, and because of this the throttle rail ALSO needs to be leant over at 10 degrees. If you're using a throttle arm, the length of the arm or the position of the rail is CRITICAL to getting the correct angle for the throttle grip itself.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1000_616-2.jpg
Views:	680
Size:	763.4 KB
ID:	216052  
__________________
Ignore me I’m probably wrong - Now with 42% extra sarcasm - May contain nuts.

Proud owner of:
PointCTRL VR : Finger Trackers for VR -- Real Simulator : FSSB R3L Force Sensing Stick. -- Deltasim : Force Sensor WH Slew Upgrade -- Mach3Ti Ring : Real Flown Mach 3 SR-71 Titanium, made into an amazing ring.

My Fathers Aviation Book : 50 Years of Flying Fun - From Hunter to Spitfire and back again.
My Screenshots
Deano87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 07:00 PM   #145
gianlu320
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 129
Default

Thanks for the answer
Also didn’t know about the 10 degree angle, thanks for that.

I’m planning on using a throttle rail as well.
What I was wandering is:
Having a throttle replica arm, How can Dcs recognise when the throttle is in the cutoff position and when instead it is in the idle position?
gianlu320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 07:15 PM   #146
Deano87
Senior Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gianlu320 View Post
Thanks for the answer
Also didn’t know about the 10 degree angle, thanks for that.

I’m planning on using a throttle rail as well.
What I was wandering is:
Having a throttle replica arm, How can Dcs recognise when the throttle is in the cutoff position and when instead it is in the idle position?
Get the The Realsimulator TUSBA R2.
Using that you can set custom positions for min and max throttle and also when you bring the throttle back through the cutoff gate the TUSBA can activate a DX button, in the similar way to what the Warthog throttles do when you bring them into the cutoff position.

Its really programmable when you get into the software.

http://realsimulator.com/html/tusba.html
__________________
Ignore me I’m probably wrong - Now with 42% extra sarcasm - May contain nuts.

Proud owner of:
PointCTRL VR : Finger Trackers for VR -- Real Simulator : FSSB R3L Force Sensing Stick. -- Deltasim : Force Sensor WH Slew Upgrade -- Mach3Ti Ring : Real Flown Mach 3 SR-71 Titanium, made into an amazing ring.

My Fathers Aviation Book : 50 Years of Flying Fun - From Hunter to Spitfire and back again.
My Screenshots
Deano87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 08:33 PM   #147
gianlu320
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 129
Default

Wow thanks a lot!
You have been super helpful
I was already thinking about Tusba but didn't know about the DX button activation.

Thanks
gianlu320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 09:06 PM   #148
Deano87
Senior Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,481
Default

No problemo!
__________________
Ignore me I’m probably wrong - Now with 42% extra sarcasm - May contain nuts.

Proud owner of:
PointCTRL VR : Finger Trackers for VR -- Real Simulator : FSSB R3L Force Sensing Stick. -- Deltasim : Force Sensor WH Slew Upgrade -- Mach3Ti Ring : Real Flown Mach 3 SR-71 Titanium, made into an amazing ring.

My Fathers Aviation Book : 50 Years of Flying Fun - From Hunter to Spitfire and back again.
My Screenshots
Deano87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 08:26 AM   #149
Cupra
Member
 
Cupra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 282
Default

Nice setup you have... I am still thinking how to interface my throttle grip... actuality is a DX device, so no Tsuba support because no cougar hardware in it. I will have to do it the same way BMS does.. just with the throttle position without any buttons or virtual knobs and so on... No Cutuff/Button or anything like this.
__________________
DCS F-16C 40/42
Cupra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2019, 06:16 AM   #150
13WELT_JankeS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Poland
Posts: 62
Default

I finally attached my FSSB R3L to the chair (Playseat Airforce) - this is how it works:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ix0bQzVVUGw

It's great - I'm waiting for Viper to get used to the new aircraft with the new control My serial number 139
__________________
i7-8700K, Z370, 32GB DDR4-3000MHz, RTX 2080 Ti, FSSB R3L, TM Warthog HOTAS, CH Pro pedals, 2x MFD's, Windows 10 Pro, Pimax 5K+

DCS: F-16C, F/A-18C, F-14B, F-15C, AV-8B, M2000C, F-5E, A-10C, AJS-37, Su-27, Su-33, MiG-21bis, MiG-29, Spitfire LF Mk. IX, Bf 109 K-4, SA342, UH-1H

Last edited by 13WELT_JankeS; 09-05-2019 at 06:19 AM.
13WELT_JankeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:37 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.