Air to Air Radar - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2019, 06:08 PM   #1
Paco
Veteran
 
Paco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 258
Default Air to Air Radar

Is it just me or does the air to air radar have trouble finding targets. With the addition of D/L I'm scanning right where targets should be but the radar can't pick them up. Elevation is correction and I've tried different bar scans etc. Nothing. Seems the radar picks them up way inside of where it should. Any ideas?
__________________
Paco
Paco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 06:29 PM   #2
Datajack
Member
 
Datajack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida USA
Posts: 151
Default

I have the same problem. Also issues with locking targets.
__________________
Intel i7 9700K, ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-E, Zotac GTX 2080 TI AMP, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 3200mhz, Corsair H60 liquid cooler, EVGA 850W PS, Cooler Master: Master Case H500, 1 TB Samsung EVO SSD | Virpil CM2 Throttle, F-16: Thrustmaster F-16/A-10 Stick, F-18: Thrustmaster F-18 Stick, Thrustmaster TPR Pedals, Rift S VR | J-PEIN Desk mount Throttle, VIRPIL VP-L mount Stick, Cougar MFDs, Generic Custom Built Front Panel, Left Panel and Right Panel, 32 Button Steam Deck.
Datajack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 06:39 AM   #3
silentbob11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 275
Default

same here
__________________
CPU: intel Core i7 9700K ~ 3.6 GHZ , nVidia RTX2060 SUPER, 32GB 3300 Mhz RAM, DELL 24" LED. Windows 10
silentbob11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 07:09 AM   #4
MrDieing
DCS Ground Crew
 
MrDieing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 820
Default

So what is this supposed to be? An actual bug report or a rant that the Hornet radar is too bad according to your 'feelings'? Can you be more specific?
__________________
''Greed is a bottomless pit which exhausts the person in an endless effort to satisfy the need without ever reaching satisfaction.''
Erich Fromm
MrDieing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 04:00 PM   #5
wilbur81
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDieing View Post
So what is this supposed to be? An actual bug report or a rant that the Hornet radar is too bad according to your 'feelings'? Can you be more specific?
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=247015
__________________
i7 8700K @ Stock - Win10 64 - 32 RAM - GTX 1070 SC - 4k Display

"I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend."
- Faramir
wilbur81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 08:28 AM   #6
falcon_120
Senior Member
 
falcon_120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Barcelona,Spain
Posts: 1,496
Default

Air to air radar detection is worling perfectly here, picking fighters regularly around 60-75 mn if they are in hot aspect,
Much less if they are beaming or running cold.

Enviado desde mi SM-G950F mediante Tapatalk
falcon_120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 03:56 PM   #7
EAF602 Red
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 68
Default

Using aacq last night and managed to pick my furthest contact yet, a Mig29@98 miles

Red
EAF602 Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 09:07 PM   #8
Paco
Veteran
 
Paco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 258
Default

Figured it out. I find the radar works much better with LTWS deselected.
__________________
Paco
Paco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 01:58 AM   #9
Eagle7907
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,056
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paco View Post
Figured it out. I find the radar works much better with LTWS deselected.

I just had the same problem. I'll try this next time. Thanks!
Eagle7907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 08:46 PM   #10
sk000tch
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paco View Post
Figured it out. I find the radar works much better with LTWS deselected.
I think you will find that working with LTWS and the different acquisition modes, using L&S designation, AAQC vs. faste acq., return to search and the like will create better habits and SA for when more advanced features are added. There's really no reason to turn ltws off except perhaps to declutter.

This post describes a good process under the current implementation (there's been some additions since this was posted, but they have not fundamentally changed the process): https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.p...22#post3961122
__________________
just a dude who probably doesn't know what he's talking about

Last edited by sk000tch; 08-12-2019 at 08:48 PM.
sk000tch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:46 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.