Can uncontrolled units far away affect the GPU? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2018, 08:51 AM   #1
Fisherman82
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 150
Default Can uncontrolled units far away affect the GPU?

I asked this in the section for bugs for the release version since I wondered if it was related to the memory issue but I got no answers so I thought I should try again in this section, it is because Im trying to figure out what I may have to upgrade.

Im running free flight missions with the Harrier in both Caucasus and Nevada with good frame rates and pretty high graphics settings, totally good enough for me. In Nevada Im flying up in the north above Rachel, pretty far from Nellis.

However, if I put many uncontrolled aircraft at the ramp at Nellis my frame rates drop from about 60-70 down to 23-30. Is this because I only have 16 GB RAM or due to my MSI GTX 970 4GB graphics card?

I know that the card is below recommended system specs but it seems strange that it should be the cause for the fps drop because the uncontrolled aircraft is very far from where Im flying and is not shown on my screen at any time.

Or is it because of that I only have 16 GB RAM, is a mission with many stationary uncontrolled aircraft regarded as a heavy mission and needs 32 GB RAM?
Fisherman82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 12:50 PM   #2
Demon_
Senior Member
 
Demon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fisherman82 View Post
However, if I put many uncontrolled aircraft at the ramp at Nellis my frame rates drop from about 60-70 down to 23-30.
The AI (artificial intelligence) are managed by the CPU. What is your? Overclock the CPU.
You should monitor your system with MSI Afterburner/settings/monitoring.
__________________
Attache ta tuque avec d'la broche.

Last edited by Demon_; 04-16-2018 at 01:32 PM.
Demon_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 07:15 PM   #3
Demon_
Senior Member
 
Demon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,109
Default

Hello! Where are you?
__________________
Attache ta tuque avec d'la broche.
Demon_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 07:28 PM   #4
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 4,850
Default

Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa !! lol
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3000/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2018, 04:58 PM   #5
Fisherman82
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demon_ View Post
The AI (artificial intelligence) are managed by the CPU. What is your? Overclock the CPU.
You should monitor your system with MSI Afterburner/settings/monitoring.
I totally missed that someone commented this thread.

I got a FX8350 4,2 Ghz 8 core. DCS is running on 6 cores if I remember correct, and Im using MSI Afterburner, some of the used cores reach about 60% load. My 16 Gb Ram is never full, at most 13 is used. I got a MSI 1080 8gb.

Had the same for 1.5 and 2.0 without a problem, only upgraded the GPU now when 2.5 came out.

Skickat från min D5503 via Tapatalk
Fisherman82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2018, 05:46 PM   #6
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demon_ View Post
Hello!
Chips??? Nandos has excellent rice (which is a healthier carb) and my meals never include a bun (two leg/thighs).

EDIT: Which reminds me that it has been over a month since I have been there.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1

Last edited by cichlidfan; 04-27-2018 at 05:48 PM.
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2018, 09:03 PM   #7
Demon_
Senior Member
 
Demon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,109
Default

Fisherman, you have to monitor the VRAM usage of the GTX970, to not use more then 3.5GB: https://www.pcgamer.com/why-nvidias-...han-35gb-vram/


cichlidfan, have you been hypnotize by the boobs?

__________________
Attache ta tuque avec d'la broche.

Last edited by Demon_; 04-27-2018 at 09:38 PM.
Demon_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2018, 09:57 PM   #8
Demon_
Senior Member
 
Demon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,109
Default

You should also monitor your RAM usage with MSI afterburner.

ED works to minimize the RAM usage: https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...54&postcount=1
__________________
Attache ta tuque avec d'la broche.
Demon_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2018, 10:47 PM   #9
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demon_ View Post
cichlidfan, have you been hypnotize by the boobs?
There were boobs? All I saw was Nandos and food. At my age food is more significant than the other stuff (that stuff is already covered since Beagles are chick magnets ), especially if I don't have to cook it.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1

Last edited by cichlidfan; 04-27-2018 at 11:07 PM.
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 06:00 PM   #10
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 4,850
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cichlidfan View Post
There were boobs? All I saw was Nandos and food. At my age food is more significant than the other stuff (that stuff is already covered since Beagles are chick magnets ), especially if I don't have to cook it.
Way to go, Lifestyle !
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3000/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:17 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.