Trigger "switched condition broken on 2.5? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2018, 03:35 AM   #1
strikers_blade
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 94
Default Trigger "switched condition broken on 2.5?

I am trying to show a message every single time a player gets into a specific zone. I selected the "switched condition" trigger type. I use an helicopter for going in and out of the zone but for some reason, in never changes my condition status.

Am I missing something or what?

__________________
My system:
Windows 10 64 bits
I7-6820HQ CPU @ 2.70Ghz
32.0 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro M4000M
strikers_blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 04:00 AM   #2
Habu_69
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA VA
Posts: 519
Default

I successfully use SWITCHED CONDITION, so it does function. I suspect the problem is the condition: PART OF COALITION IN ZONE. What should happen if one unit remains in the zone and others enter and exit? Not sure how the program would handle such situation.
Habu_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 10:39 AM   #3
strikers_blade
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habu_69 View Post
I successfully use SWITCHED CONDITION, so it does function. I suspect the problem is the condition: PART OF COALITION IN ZONE. What should happen if one unit remains in the zone and others enter and exit? Not sure how the program would handle such situation.
The message would not show up as long as a unit is already in it. According to the manual, "part of coalition in zone" must switch from true to false or vice versa (i.e. change of state) if you want the action to occur again. So for my setup above, I tried with the helo inside the zone and exiting or outside and entering with the same bad results.
__________________
My system:
Windows 10 64 bits
I7-6820HQ CPU @ 2.70Ghz
32.0 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro M4000M
strikers_blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 11:13 AM   #4
Rowan
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 128
Default

Won't flags work for this, flag true, flag false?
Rowan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 11:18 AM   #5
strikers_blade
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 94
Default

Possibly but why making it more complicated than it should?

That being said, I tried at various locations around NELLIS and it does work as long as the trigger zone is not too big and at very specific locations. Simply said, it looks like there is/are specific spots around NELLIS or possibly around other airport where my trigger will not work. If I use a zone of 100, it works just fine where I have it on my image above. If I go 1000, it doesn't anymore.

Weird.....I will try with the flags.
__________________
My system:
Windows 10 64 bits
I7-6820HQ CPU @ 2.70Ghz
32.0 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro M4000M
strikers_blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 11:20 AM   #6
Pikey
Veteran
 
Pikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reading, UK (GMT)
Posts: 3,143
Default

Looks like you aren't ever switching the condition, it has to equal false to get back to true again. There's a blue unit presetn in the screenshot. Also you have to set the player by your own definition, you want the player to flip the condition, not any of a coalition.
Pikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 11:29 AM   #7
Rowan
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 128
Default

Not complicated at all.

Try this...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_180416_132652.png
Views:	116
Size:	79.8 KB
ID:	182662   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_180416_132702.png
Views:	109
Size:	80.4 KB
ID:	182663  
Rowan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 11:31 AM   #8
strikers_blade
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey View Post
Looks like you aren't ever switching the condition, it has to equal false to get back to true again. There's a blue unit presetn in the screenshot. Also you have to set the player by your own definition, you want the player to flip the condition, not any of a coalition.
Pikey, as I mentioned above, I tried both ways (blue unit starting in or blue unit starting out) with the same results. My trigger works if my triggerzone becomes much smaller or if I move the zone and the helo away from specific zones in NELLIS. I am still testing this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rowan View Post
Not complicated at all.

Try this...
I assumed the flag option would require an extra step. Time to explore that option a bit more then.
__________________
My system:
Windows 10 64 bits
I7-6820HQ CPU @ 2.70Ghz
32.0 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro M4000M
strikers_blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 11:58 AM   #9
SUNTSAG
Member
 
SUNTSAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 767
Default

Your condition is not being switched because you have these BLUEFOR units already in the zone.



Move them elsewhere and your trigger should work when a BLUEFOR airframe enters the zone.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ZONE.PNG
Views:	166
Size:	172.3 KB
ID:	182665  
__________________
Callsign: NAKED
SUNTSAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 12:13 PM   #10
strikers_blade
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SUNTSAG View Post
Your condition is not being switched because you have these BLUEFOR units already in the zone.



Move them elsewhere and your trigger should work when a BLUEFOR airframe enters the zone.
You sir just made my day. For some stupid thinking of mind, I also assumed only vehicles could be considered "units"

With such condition now, neither "switched condition" or "flag ON" work . Time for plan B.
Thank you SUNTSAG
__________________
My system:
Windows 10 64 bits
I7-6820HQ CPU @ 2.70Ghz
32.0 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro M4000M
strikers_blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
switched condition, trigger type

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:02 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.