Do US Carriers operate in the Persian Gulf (waterway)? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2018, 07:55 PM   #1
Mr_sukebe
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 510
Default Do US Carriers operate in the Persian Gulf (waterway)?

Curious about this one as there appears to be confusion about the use of the name "Persian Gulf". Look on Google maps, and it's a quite specific area of water, bordered on it's south eastern end by the Straits of Hormuz, followed by the Gulf of Oman and then the Arabian sea.

I've read comments which talk about cruisers, destroyers and similar sailing through the Straits in the Persian Gulf itself. Do US carriers actually sail into Persian Gulf to operate there, or do they normally stay out in the Gulf of Oman and Arabian seat?
__________________
System: i5@3600, 24GB DDR3, 1080, SSD, Rift CV1, Jetseat 908, CH Fighterstick and Throttle, Crosswinds.
Mr_sukebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 05:02 AM   #2
jojo
Senior Member
 
jojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_sukebe View Post
Curious about this one as there appears to be confusion about the use of the name "Persian Gulf". Look on Google maps, and it's a quite specific area of water, bordered on it's south eastern end by the Straits of Hormuz, followed by the Gulf of Oman and then the Arabian sea.

I've read comments which talk about cruisers, destroyers and similar sailing through the Straits in the Persian Gulf itself. Do US carriers actually sail into Persian Gulf to operate there, or do they normally stay out in the Gulf of Oman and Arabian seat?
Yes they do, and Charles de Gaulle too.
But it's a complicated area, and no air ops during the strait crossing...
__________________
Flickr gallery:
https://www.flickr.com/gp/71068385@N02/728Hbi
jojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 07:32 AM   #3
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,118
Default

They enter the Persian Gulf to launch their jets from there into Syria/Iraq/Afghanistan.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + ATi Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280X (3 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 10:30 AM   #4
FistofZen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: in a house
Posts: 62
Default

What a silly question.
FistofZen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 10:50 AM   #5
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FistofZen View Post
What a silly question.
Why is it silly? It's a legit question.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + ATi Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280X (3 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 11:15 AM   #6
Pikey
Senior Member
 
Pikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reading, UK (GMT)
Posts: 2,878
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FistofZen View Post
What a silly question.
Nah it's legit question. You have to infer Air Ops from the question, when he says carriers. I think really what he means in the OP is what are the rules about AirOps in the Straits of Hormuz, which is practically Iranian airspace.

It's a super sensitive area for boundaries.
And there's a huge vulnerability question about moving massive assets like a carrier through it, inside SAM and SSM missile bubbles. Carriers don't like being this close, you have to fold away the open water rulebook. I'm not privvy to the actual Ops ruleset they have to use to get through the straits but you can be sure it's tense.
Pikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 12:08 PM   #7
Fisherman82
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 120
Default

I don't think its a silly question, I wondered that myself, after some googeling I found this article with a map where USS Eisenhower has sailed through the straits:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/6499605.stm
Fisherman82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 02:53 PM   #8
Kozality
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 18
Default

I was in San Diego this past week visiting the USS Midway, which was part of "Battle Force Zulu" in the Persian Gulf. They have the maps and screens showing the positions of the ships during operations there, and right away you get a feeling for how crowded it was. Our tour guide, a veteran, spoke to the difficulties of operating there as well. Not only were the AirOps complicated, but it's an incredibly congested waterway with all of the light oil tankers making their way to the small gulf states to offload (lighter ships empty into the ports closer to the strait, where it's then loaded into the larger supertankers for the ocean transit, our guide explained.) On the status boards you can see this with replicas of the numerous radar contacts, mostly neutral or unidentified ships.

So it's challenging, to say the least. And the presence of such a close shore means that there's not much warning time from land-based ASMs or the like. The guide seemed to indicate that sailing in there is by no means ideal...but the advantage gained from being able to launch aircraft so much closer (which equates to advantages in warload and time-on-station) made up for it.
Kozality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 04:19 PM   #9
Mr_sukebe
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 510
Default

Thanks for confirming chaps
__________________
System: i5@3600, 24GB DDR3, 1080, SSD, Rift CV1, Jetseat 908, CH Fighterstick and Throttle, Crosswinds.
Mr_sukebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 06:04 PM   #10
jojo
Senior Member
 
jojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGon View Post
They enter the Persian Gulf to launch their jets from there into Syria/Iraq/Afghanistan.
US won't go to Afghanistan from Persian Gulf since they would have to overfly Iran.
They launch from Indian Ocean and overfly Pakistan.

Going to Syria from Persian Gulf isn't ideal, you have to fly across all Irak, but yes it's possible now.

Freedom of navigation rules state that anybody can cross a strait (no international water) but with inoffensive behavior.
__________________
Flickr gallery:
https://www.flickr.com/gp/71068385@N02/728Hbi

Last edited by jojo; 04-17-2018 at 09:53 AM.
jojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:38 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.