Memory Limit/Load Issues - Page 21 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2018, 08:13 PM   #201
Revelation
Senior Member
 
Revelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 1,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rikus View Post
DCS don´t need to look better, now looks really good.
DCS looks good, it can always be better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rikus View Post
- Dynamic campaign
ED has been working on Dynamic offerings for some time; it will come.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rikus View Post
- New weather engine
What would you like to see different from what we have?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rikus View Post
- More pilots, ground units, naval in a mission
- Bigger maps
With people complaining about having to have more RAM already, you think this is going to be feasible? There are a lot of things that need to happen on the hardware side for this to become a reality. It is what ED is working towards, it takes time.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rikus View Post
This is not Persian Gulf:
//redacted///
This is Persian Gulf:
//redacted///
Disagree. If you eat a single slice of pizza and not the entire pizza are you still eating pizza?
__________________
Win 10 Pro 64Bit | 27" Asus ROG 1440p | i7-6700k @4.54GHz | ASROCK Extreme7+ | 32Gb @3GHz DDR4 | 512Gb SM951 M.2 SSD | GTX 1080Ti | H100i AIO CPU Cooler
Revelation is offline  
Old 04-15-2018, 08:32 PM   #202
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 8,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rikus View Post
DCS don´t need to look better, now looks really good.


What DCS need is:

- Dynamic campaign
- New weather engine
- More pilots, ground units, naval in a mission
- Bigger maps

This is not Persian Gulf:







This is Persian Gulf:

Well, more units, bigger maps, with 256 GB RAM in an watercooled i7 @ 5GHz plus at least a 1080ti... Maybe around 30fps.

Now about Persian Gulf. Wags explained that they changed the name, from "Strait of Hormuz" to "Persian Gulf", because A) a lot of their customers in a certain country bordering on the Atlantic and Pacific may not identify "Strait of Hormuz" with the Persian Gulf. In addition there is the option to later extend the map to include more of the Persian Gulf... When everybody bought a new PC and the 1080ti and 32GB RAM are considered a mid-range PC.
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.0GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat | TM HOTAS Warthog custom build extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |a hand made UFC and an AHCP | Oculus Rift & controller
shagrat is offline  
Old 04-15-2018, 08:43 PM   #203
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 8,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rikus View Post
DCS don´t need to look better, now looks really good.

What DCS need is:
By the way, that is more likely what you need, not necessarily DCS.

Others would argue, we need more and better campaigns for single player, others would prefer a focus on a dedicated server and network multiplayer in dual cockpits improved. Yet others would argue for better AI, damage model, more decent mission editor with 3D placement, and so on, and so forth.

All(!) of this would be great to have, but there are limited resources and possibilities to achieve this. That is why there is a priorization based on a lot of factors...
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.0GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat | TM HOTAS Warthog custom build extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |a hand made UFC and an AHCP | Oculus Rift & controller
shagrat is offline  
Old 04-15-2018, 10:48 PM   #204
Rikus
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shagrat View Post
In addition there is the option to later extend the map to include more of the Persian Gulf... When everybody bought a new PC and the 1080ti and 32GB RAM are considered a mid-range PC.
Looking the actual specs for actual size of maps, i don´t think we will have 100% of the Persian Gulf in lot of years, sadly.

For me, calling Persian Gulf to Strait of Hormuz is misleading advertising, because they are selling 1/3 of the Persian Gulf.
Rikus is offline  
Old 04-15-2018, 11:16 PM   #205
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 8,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rikus View Post
Looking the actual specs for actual size of maps, i don´t think we will have 100% of the Persian Gulf in lot of years, sadly.

For me, calling Persian Gulf to Strait of Hormuz is misleading advertising, because they are selling 1/3 of the Persian Gulf.
Well, they put a photo, videos and Text detailing the "Persian Gulf" Map and its size, etc. If you think this is misleading, because you can't be bothered with actually reading/looking at the stuff you buy, than you should be damn careful when you go shopping.
On the other hand, the Strait of Hormuz is just the sea area between Iran and Dubai, Bahrain, UAE... Not the Iranian countryside 150 nm to the north and 100nm UAE etc. to the south.
That is misleading, as well.

Anyway you are never forced to buy something, if you don't like it, or don't feel comfortable with it.
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.0GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat | TM HOTAS Warthog custom build extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |a hand made UFC and an AHCP | Oculus Rift & controller
shagrat is offline  
Old 04-15-2018, 11:23 PM   #206
StandingCow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,557
Default

I suspect that ED would release a lower quality "world map" or at least a larger map along with their dynamic campaign. Something more typical of what most large scale flight sims use.
__________________
i7 9700k@ 5GHZ - 32 GB RAM - 1080TI

~Moo
StandingCow is offline  
Old 04-16-2018, 05:53 AM   #207
Rumination
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1
Default

Is there any way to make the memory issue better? I only have 8GB of RAM and the game is semi-unplayable. I can only join servers that have 4 people and the game crashes, a lot. Even in SP the game crashes frequently and its a real pain in the ass.
Rumination is offline  
Old 04-16-2018, 06:03 AM   #208
StandingCow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,557
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rumination View Post
Is there any way to make the memory issue better? I only have 8GB of RAM and the game is semi-unplayable. I can only join servers that have 4 people and the game crashes, a lot. Even in SP the game crashes frequently and its a real pain in the ass.
You can wait for the update that will unload items from the memory so you don't crash. Or reduce your textures and preload radius for now...that should help.
__________________
i7 9700k@ 5GHZ - 32 GB RAM - 1080TI

~Moo
StandingCow is offline  
Old 04-16-2018, 08:25 AM   #209
Shaman
Veteran
 
Shaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,522
Default

What version of GeForce drivers do ED developers recommend for 2.5 release version?
__________________
51st PVO Founder www.51st.org (DEC2007-DEC2017)
100 KIAP Founder www.100kiap.org (DEC2018-)

:: Shaman aka Shamansky
tail# 44 (RU) or 444 (US)
Shaman is offline  
Old 04-16-2018, 09:25 AM   #210
BIGNEWY
Senior
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,751
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaman View Post
What version of GeForce drivers do ED developers recommend for 2.5 release version?
they don't have a recommendation other than you should be using the latest ones available.
__________________
Currently on a break, please contact NineLine for assistance. Thanks
BIGNEWY is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:11 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.