What monitor/resolution should I be looking at?

Hey everyone,

I'm planning a PC build for DCS, but I'm having a hard time figuring out what monitor, size, resolution, etc. I should expect out of a system based on my component choices. This is my first time building a PC.

Here's what I'm thinking for the main components:

- i5-9600k

- Some form of Z390 MoBo, probably an MSI MPG Pro Carbon or MSI MEG ACE.

- 32 GB of 3200 RAM

- RTX 2080

I don't plan on VR immediately. I would plan some upgrades down the road for that once VR tech advances a little more. I'll plan on TrackIR for sure.

I was thinking about a larger monitor, maybe 32" or so, and I kinda like how the curved screens look. Also plan on 144 Hz.

What capabilities would this machine have in DCS?

Thanks!

i5-9600k @ 5.0 GHz| Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master | 32 GB Trident G.Skill RAM @ 3200 MHz | Thermaltake Floe Riing 360 AIO | Samsung EVO 860 500 GB SSD | Crucial MX500 500 GB M.2 | SanDisk 1TB SSD | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Ultra Gaming | EVGA G3 850W Gold PSU | Thermaltake View 71 TG Snow Edition | Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS | MFC Crosswind pedals | Oculus Rift-S

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

Sort of in the same boat, I like to hop on your thread.

So far:

my specs are not as powerful as yours:

old i2500K @4.2GHz, 16Gb ram

recently upgraded to GeForce 1080

and for the monitor I'am long time very happy with my Samsung 27" 2560x1440, 60Hz

Having 1440 lines resolution I get good pictures with MSAA set to 2x only.

Imho the higher the resolution of the display the less you have trouble with AA, coz the pixels are so much smaller. Therefore I would not go lower then 1440, imho 1080 is somewhat obsolete for this reason.

And actually this is one part beside others why I personally not that much interested in VR. (is there vr with better than 1080 meanwhile?)

But then there are these UWQHD displays getting affordable nowadays.

So with that 2080 you plan I don't see any problems using such a display.