New PC Build for DCS 2.5 - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2018, 07:07 PM   #31
ExGreyFox
Member
 
ExGreyFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LA
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
expect to encounter trouble at said 3455 C16 setting when you double the amount of modules.


There is a big difference between 2 and 4 module configs.


If you do NOT see a 4 x8GB kit listed at that speed in QVL, assume none passed the tests. Likely it will be 2x8GB and at the very very top end you see 2 x 4GB again as well, at 4800 or so...


I have the exact same issue with my board. 4 modules do only 2666 w/o trouble. With only 2 of them they go XMP-3600_CL16. BTW, this is a 4-Module kit, not 2 x 2x8, a true 32GB kit and it won't work. It's also not in QVL, that kit does not appear in any QVL I checked anymore, the latency was too tight I guess. They all run 18CL now with 4 modules.



RAM got tricky, more than it ever was imho, taking the ultra high price in consideration you can't afford a mishap and get stuck like I do with a 550€ kit that wont run properly due to chipset & board limitations.
That kit ran flawless at 3600 with my 7700k, and each pair runs in a 2-set at XMP with the 8700k, just not 4 of them together...and I really tried hard, every damn Bios, dozens and dozens of settings...nada.


This got nothing to do with single or double sided modules. The culprit with 2 or 4 modules are the circuits, their exact same length on the board, the voltage supply, signal clarity, timing issues.



The Ultra Overclocker records with RAM Speed are meanwhile done with either Asus Apex E-ATX that despite it's over-sized layout only has 2 RAM slots, to keep the signals integer....or meanwhile even ITX boards...as they also only house 2 slots, due to size limitations..but comes in just fine for world records in RAM overclocking.




long story short. If you want 3466MHz 32GBG kit...get it from QVL or expect trouble, my honest advice.
Thats just the thing. There are no true 32GB kits from G.SKill TridentZ RGB line on the QVL for the ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VII HERO. Not gonna lie, RAM compatibility this go round is throwing me for a loop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilotasso View Post
Ryzen 1000 series was more sensitive to the number of memories installed. With 2 it could go up to 3466, but with 4 couldn't go past 3200.

Ryzen 2000 has a MUCH BETTER memory controller. The difference between 2 and 4 is 3666 and 3533 respectively (typical values, your mileage will vary, and your skill in overclocking will affect this number too).

Some people report better results with 3466 with CL timings of 14, but I couldnt get that, for 3466 I was stuck with CL15, and amazingly 3533 as well, so I kept 3533 (go figure).

3200Mhz should be easily achieved even with 4 sticks on the 2700X, as long both kits are same part number and are SAMSUNG B Die (the 2 kits of 3466 should be SAMSUNG B die 80% sure)
I appreciate you guys. I'm just going to go with what you guys suggested a few posts back which is the F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR (4x8GB) kit and call it a day.

I'm going to go off on a limb here but I am ASSUMING that I should see a marginal performance boost on 3 monitor surround at 3240x1920 going from my existing rig to what I am planning to build. This is basically the whole point of this exercise. Let me know what you guys think.
__________________

Intel i7-8700k Coffee Lake@stock
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB (2x16) 3200MHz
ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti
Maximus X FORMULA Z370 BIOS 1401
NZXT Kraken x62
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB (OS)
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 1TB (Games)
Corsair AX1200i 1200 Watt
Cooler Master HAF X
HOTAS Warthog | MFG Crosswind | TrackIR 5
Heatware


Last edited by ExGreyFox; 06-12-2018 at 07:24 PM.
ExGreyFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 06:48 PM   #32
ExGreyFox
Member
 
ExGreyFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LA
Posts: 169
Default

So I've totally done a 180. Decided I need raw power at stock right out of the box. Here is what I'm going with.

CPU: Core i7-8700K
RAM: G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB
MOBO: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X FORMULA
GFX: GTX 980Ti for now (Re-Using my existing GPU until 1180 comes out)
Cooler: NZXT Kraken x62
Storage: Samsung 970EVo NVMe M.2 500GB (OS) + Samsung 970EVo NVMe M.2 1TB (Games)
PSU: Corsair AX1200i 1200 Watt (Re-using Old existing PSU)
OS: Windows 10 Home 64-bit

Pilotasso and BitMaster please dont hate me.
__________________

Intel i7-8700k Coffee Lake@stock
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB (2x16) 3200MHz
ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti
Maximus X FORMULA Z370 BIOS 1401
NZXT Kraken x62
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB (OS)
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 1TB (Games)
Corsair AX1200i 1200 Watt
Cooler Master HAF X
HOTAS Warthog | MFG Crosswind | TrackIR 5
Heatware


Last edited by ExGreyFox; 06-13-2018 at 08:53 PM.
ExGreyFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 02:35 PM   #33
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 4,970
Default

wont hate you, but a FORMULA board and an AIO makes zero sense !!!


This board is for watercool enthusiasts like I am


You waste some money ! Better get another Asus board that skips the EK waterblocks.
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 03:56 PM   #34
ExGreyFox
Member
 
ExGreyFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LA
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
wont hate you, but a FORMULA board and an AIO makes zero sense !!!


This board is for watercool enthusiasts like I am


You waste some money ! Better get another Asus board that skips the EK waterblocks.
Haha hey! I'm a formula guy by nature. Its more of an emotional thing for me. Been with em since 2008

Btw, found these nice CL15 2x16GB kits. Im enjoying the breathing room with RAM selection and intel F4-3200C15D-32GTZR
__________________

Intel i7-8700k Coffee Lake@stock
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB (2x16) 3200MHz
ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti
Maximus X FORMULA Z370 BIOS 1401
NZXT Kraken x62
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB (OS)
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 1TB (Games)
Corsair AX1200i 1200 Watt
Cooler Master HAF X
HOTAS Warthog | MFG Crosswind | TrackIR 5
Heatware

ExGreyFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 07:56 PM   #35
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 4,970
Default

I always wanted one of those but for some unknown reason, I always end up with a different board.


Indeed, the Intel platform still enjoys greater support from all sides and thus I guess you have more choices with RAM than with AMD, I have read those QVL's myself and was a bit surpised how few are actually supported for AMD X470 chipsets.



I tell you, I am struck by this issue.

My only hope is a new Bios some day that supports my modules with all 4 inserted. If I have all 4 in, timing gets tricky and BSOD's come quick beyond 3200 CL17-18-18-38-2T. That is really not what I like but all I get without riscing any errors every few hours.


The onyl thing that makes me believe it may still work out is my 7700k Z270 setup that used to run those 4 modules last year. I got another 16GB kit with 2x8GB only, GSkill and exact same 3600er specs and handed it down to my son. he is happy with 16GB, bet he is ! That board , also got it when it came out, needed 3-4 months until the RAM ran like expected. Before that one Bios that fixed it, I had the exact same issues, actually even worse. So there is hope and I dont give up. Asus issued a new Bios that I put on 3 days ago and tested it all over again. Actually, those modules are real good, if only the board would accept them or I would only need 2 aka 16GB, but I want 32GB at 3200 CL17 over 16GB 3600 CL16 with the new Hornet. That beast just sucked RAM like nuts, in the few hours I spent in it.


It wouldnt be all that bad if RAM was cheaper and if I could sell mine and get another set for 225€ anywhere, but they are 549,-€ ! I paid about 300 back then, No way I pay that price. i am rather changing the mobo, that's cheaper, how funny that is !
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3200/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 10:00 PM   #36
ExGreyFox
Member
 
ExGreyFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LA
Posts: 169
Default

Hey guys, so I have this build arriving in the mail in a few days and I'm already stressed

Just to refresh what I bought:

CPU: Core i7-8700K
RAM: G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB
MOBO: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X FORMULA
GFX: GTX 980Ti for now (Re-Using my existing GPU until 1180 comes out)
Cooler: NZXT Kraken x62
Storage: Samsung 970EVo NVMe M.2 500GB (OS) + Samsung 970EVo NVMe M.2 1TB (Games)
PSU: Corsair AX1200i 1200 Watt (Re-using Old existing PSU)
OS: Windows 10 Home 64-bit

I am trying to learn the steps on how to install Windows 10 on one the 500GB 970Evo NVMe M.2 and I'm coming across a lot of new terminology and BIOS options I have never seen before. Can someone clarify what is the best way to get Windows 10 on that drive in the best most practical way? I am seeing people creating UEFI compatible windows 10 USB sticks using something called Rufus, others are changing BIOS options under CSM. I am lost. Any help is greatly appreciated.
__________________

Intel i7-8700k Coffee Lake@stock
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB (2x16) 3200MHz
ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti
Maximus X FORMULA Z370 BIOS 1401
NZXT Kraken x62
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB (OS)
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 1TB (Games)
Corsair AX1200i 1200 Watt
Cooler Master HAF X
HOTAS Warthog | MFG Crosswind | TrackIR 5
Heatware

ExGreyFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 10:33 PM   #37
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 3,336
Default

It's pretty straight forward. Download the Win 10 Media Creation tool from Microsoft (just google it). You'll see a link and instruction on how to create a bootable USB stick.



Also, in BIOS, use the Windows Boot Manager or it may just say UEFI) for the boot option. Do *not* select the old MBR (Master Boot Record). And of course, insure that you have bootable USB as an option before the HDD for the boot order.


That's pretty much it since you don't have any older RAID controllers to worry about.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1

Last edited by hansangb; 06-16-2018 at 10:38 PM.
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 10:49 PM   #38
ExGreyFox
Member
 
ExGreyFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LA
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post
It's pretty straight forward. Download the Win 10 Media Creation tool from Microsoft (just google it). You'll see a link and instruction on how to create a bootable USB stick.



Also, in BIOS, use the Windows Boot Manager or it may just say UEFI) for the boot option. Do *not* select the old MBR (Master Boot Record). And of course, insure that you have bootable USB as an option before the HDD for the boot order.


That's pretty much it since you don't have any older RAID controllers to worry about.
I see, so basically I need I need to go with the UEFI installation route for better boot times and hardware support. So to sum it up I need to acquire a Windows 10 ISO via the Windows media creation tool and then use Rufus to create the windows 10 USB stick? Now after this point, how do I proceed with the UEFI Windows 10 installation? Do I still need to mess with the CSM bios setting?
__________________

Intel i7-8700k Coffee Lake@stock
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB (2x16) 3200MHz
ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti
Maximus X FORMULA Z370 BIOS 1401
NZXT Kraken x62
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB (OS)
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 1TB (Games)
Corsair AX1200i 1200 Watt
Cooler Master HAF X
HOTAS Warthog | MFG Crosswind | TrackIR 5
Heatware

ExGreyFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 11:00 PM   #39
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 3,336
Default

No, the media creation tool becomes the bootable device and you start installing right away. The UEFI/MBR decision is the only thing you really have to worry about in BIOS. My guess is that your BIOS already defaults to it. I can't imagine any BIOS/MB that defaults to using MBR these days.



And You won't need compatibility mode with the new hardware. It's not like you have an ancient RAID controller or disk controller.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 11:07 PM   #40
ExGreyFox
Member
 
ExGreyFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LA
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post
No, the media creation tool becomes the bootable device and you start installing right away. The UEFI/MBR decision is the only thing you really have to worry about in BIOS. My guess is that your BIOS already defaults to it. I can't imagine any BIOS/MB that defaults to using MBR these days.



And You won't need compatibility mode with the new hardware. It's not like you have an ancient RAID controller or disk controller.

Ok got it, So I need to make sure I go to the CSM setting in UEFI bios and change it to disabled if it defaults to enabled?

Then Ill just use the windows creation tool then and make a windows 10 USB stick. Then just go in BIOS and boot from USB.
__________________

Intel i7-8700k Coffee Lake@stock
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB (2x16) 3200MHz
ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti
Maximus X FORMULA Z370 BIOS 1401
NZXT Kraken x62
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 500GB (OS)
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 2280 1TB (Games)
Corsair AX1200i 1200 Watt
Cooler Master HAF X
HOTAS Warthog | MFG Crosswind | TrackIR 5
Heatware


Last edited by ExGreyFox; 06-16-2018 at 11:12 PM.
ExGreyFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:57 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.