Full cockpit + VR?

TripRodriguez

Hey guys. I know that there is an odd kind of conflict between VR and full cockpits, but I've got a different approach that I'm really surprised not to see other people talking about.

As a home pit builder myself what I consider the ultimate solution is to be able to fly in VR, but still have 100% use of the cockpit without any fumbling around.

There are two solutions for this:

1) Quick switch to pass-through camera, operate cockpit via that.

2) Accurate hand tracking with a cockpit perfectly matched up to the VR cockpit. This is my preferred method and the one I'm trying to get set up myself.

I think it's the perfect solution. You reach for that switch or knob in VR, able to see your hands exactly, and when your hand gets there, the real thing is there under your fingers! VR haptics can't get any better than that!

Has anyone else been working on this? The obvious options are Leap Motion and various tracked gloves available as "dev kits". I purchased Vive Trackers for my hands for this purpose. My early tests were promising, but the big drawback is that there is no animation for the hands so you can't actually see where your fingers are. Only solution for that so far is to always keep my hand in the same position as the static pose of the VR hands LOL. Also a side note, it is a pain when you first load into the aircraft to carefully adjust the vr view to match the cockpit. Not a deal breaker by any means, but an automated solution would be awesome. Put a Vive Tracker on your sim cockpit somewhere and in-game match up the same location on the virtual cockpit and attach the two? That's definitely getting ahead of ourselves though, one step at a time Trip!