Rudder trim too sensitive... - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2018, 07:04 PM   #1
jcomm
Senior Member
 
jcomm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Google Maps
Posts: 2,284
Default Rudder trim too sensitive...

Inflight, even ay the highest speeds, adjusting rudder trim slightly has an abrupt impact in yaw.

I would guess in RL adjustmens wouldn't have that outcome. Although I think rudder force modeling is still WIP, could the rudder trim steps be made softer ?
__________________
Flight Simulation is the Virtual Materialization of a Dream...
jcomm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 06:26 AM   #2
TechRoss
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: South Africa
Posts: 273
Default

I really can't say as I am new to the Spit, but I don't think it is WIP, the module is complete. I agree it is very sensitive but then everything on the spit is super sensitive.
TechRoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 09:22 AM   #3
jcomm
Senior Member
 
jcomm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Google Maps
Posts: 2,284
Default

Yes, my bad - it's released indeed, and the clipped wings were the "release moment" :-)

Still, I find that the rudder trim could receive some fine tunning. If only I knew what to edit in order to make the adjustment steps finer ?

I use an exponential curve for the rudder axis, but it's not the correct approach / solution IMO.

Being able to fine tune the incremental step parameter for the rudder tab would be a better solution, I guess.
__________________
Flight Simulation is the Virtual Materialization of a Dream...

Last edited by jcomm; 12-01-2018 at 09:34 AM.
jcomm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 11:11 AM   #4
iRocco
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 149
Default

Just reduce the sensitivity?
iRocco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 02:51 PM   #5
jcomm
Senior Member
 
jcomm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Google Maps
Posts: 2,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iRocco View Post
Just reduce the sensitivity?
Where? In the axis tuning - I already did - or do you mean by manually editing conf. files, and which one(s) / how ?
__________________
Flight Simulation is the Virtual Materialization of a Dream...
jcomm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 05:26 PM   #6
Mud
Member
 
Mud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 556
Default

This is something that I would like to see changed in all modules. Or at least the WW2 aircraft. The trim increments are too big per step, so it's a darn pain in the bottom to do fine trimming.
__________________

Spoiler:
W10-x64 | Asus P8Z77-V | Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz | Noctua NH-D14
Corsair 32Gb 1600 @ 2133 10-12-12-20 | MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X OC
SB Audigy 2 Platinum | TM Hotas Warthog
MFG Crosswind pedals | TrackIR 5
Oculus Rift CV 1
Mud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 06:28 PM   #7
jcomm
Senior Member
 
jcomm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Google Maps
Posts: 2,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mud View Post
This is something that I would like to see changed in all modules. Or at least the WW2 aircraft. The trim increments are too big per step, so it's a darn pain in the bottom to do fine trimming.


If at least we could edit the increments, but I couldn't find anything in the "FMOptions.lua" that could look like it...
__________________
Flight Simulation is the Virtual Materialization of a Dream...
jcomm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 11:26 PM   #8
Lixma 06
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,169
Default

Bump for this - it's a nightmare trying to dial in just a small amount of rudder trim - the plane ends up swinging left to right.

The elevator trim is OK so why not the rudder?

Last edited by Lixma 06; 02-12-2019 at 11:40 PM.
Lixma 06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 12:16 AM   #9
thrustvector
Senior Member
 
thrustvector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Exeter uk
Posts: 1,143
Default

all you need to do is set up some curves, then ittl be to your own personal taste
thrustvector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 01:24 AM   #10
Lixma 06
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thrustvector View Post
all you need to do is set up some curves, then ittl be to your own personal taste
I'm using keys, though. The only available axis I have springs back to the centre.
Lixma 06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:35 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.