Memory Limit/Load Issues - Page 15 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2018, 05:59 PM   #141
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,587
Default

1.5 Compared to 2.5 is an Econo Lodge...
__________________
Windows 10 Pro, HAF922, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline  
Old 04-12-2018, 06:00 PM   #142
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post
I use this analogy all the time, but ED is renovating our house while we are living in it, we can either stay here and step over the occasional problem, or we can go stay in a hotel until its ready.
Not a bad analogy, except ED's workers keep jumping around from one room to another and none of the rooms seem to get finished. I get that it is complicated but it can still be frustrating when you just want to enjoy the sim.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline  
Old 04-12-2018, 06:11 PM   #143
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 10,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cichlidfan View Post
Not a bad analogy, except ED's workers keep jumping around from one room to another and none of the rooms seem to get finished. I get that it is complicated but it can still be frustrating when you just want to enjoy the sim.
Like with a house... You wait for the electrician to finish his job and and move on to the restroom instead of putting wallpaper on.
We are lucky unlike in a house renovation ED is in charge of the whole work and does not need to rely on timely delivery/execution of external contractors, for most of the work.
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.0GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat | TM HOTAS Warthog custom extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |a hand made UFC | AHCP | 2x Elgato StreamDeck (Buttons galore)
shagrat is offline  
Old 04-12-2018, 06:27 PM   #144
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shagrat View Post
Like with a house... You wait for the electrician to finish his job and and move on to the restroom instead of putting wallpaper on.
We are lucky unlike in a house renovation ED is in charge of the whole work and does not need to rely on timely delivery/execution of external contractors, for most of the work.
Yeah, I get it, though I did have a fence built at the same time the interior painting was done.
Then came the carpet and tile folks.

It was still frustrating.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline  
Old 04-12-2018, 06:57 PM   #145
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 6,164
Default

If you own a house, renovation never stops once you begin.

I like this analogy, it fits quite well !
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5G_delidded - 32GB - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon - 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline  
Old 04-12-2018, 07:26 PM   #146
fjacobsen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,043
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
If you own a house, renovation never stops once you begin.

I like this analogy, it fits quite well !
Agree - but that still means that finishing one room at the time is the most efficient way. When all rooms are done -You can start over.

It´s ineffective to start on the bathroom, but then in the middle of it, jump to the bedroom just because, what happens there is more fun.
__________________
i7-3770K 3.4Ghz, 16GB RAM, GTX 960 4GB, Win7 Home 64bit
fjacobsen is offline  
Old 04-12-2018, 08:45 PM   #147
Catseye
Member
 
Catseye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Vernon, BC Canada
Posts: 927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fjacobsen View Post
Agree - but that still means that finishing one room at the time is the most efficient way. When all rooms are done -You can start over.

It´s ineffective to start on the bathroom, but then in the middle of it, jump to the bedroom just because, what happens there is more fun.
Henry Ford would never build a car this way.

All electrical in all rooms, then vapour barier in all rooms, drywall in all rooms etc. etc.

That is wholistically the best way to finish a complete project.

But, the problem is the contractors being ready on time each time.
Catseye is offline  
Old 04-12-2018, 09:44 PM   #148
Shaman
Veteran
 
Shaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,539
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NineLine View Post
First load is always a decent amount of work, but if you tried it again, you would see it load much faster, also, do you have DCS on a SSD drive? makes a bit of difference as well.
You are right. Things got better now. I have been today as guest on 2nd seat in Gazelle very dynamic virtual air show training that is being prepared for September this year, and no stutters or freezes whatsoever. I shall move DCS to system drive SSD maybe end next week and report back.
__________________
51PVO Founding member (DEC2007-)
100KIAP Founding member (DEC2018-)

:: Shaman aka Shamansky
tail# 44 or 444
100KIAP Regiment Early Warning & Control officer
Shaman is offline  
Old 04-12-2018, 10:02 PM   #149
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 10,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fjacobsen View Post
Agree - but that still means that finishing one room at the time is the most efficient way. When all rooms are done -You can start over.

It´s ineffective to start on the bathroom, but then in the middle of it, jump to the bedroom just because, what happens there is more fun.
The problem is, as the plumbing in the kitchen is done you have to shut the water, that means your bathroom and shower plus the guest toilet is out of order, as well, so you need a backup solution for the toilet in case the kitchen plumbing runs into issues. Or you need to add more work to prevent leakage in the kitchen in the middle of a three day work, to make the bathroom work while the kitchen is done.
Add electricity running through a central circuit board with one circuitbraker for multiple electrics, like light in the kitchen plus the fridge and hot water in the bathroom giving additional challenges...
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.0GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat | TM HOTAS Warthog custom extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |a hand made UFC | AHCP | 2x Elgato StreamDeck (Buttons galore)
shagrat is offline  
Old 04-12-2018, 10:27 PM   #150
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,587
Default

OK Guys, Getting off Topic Now.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro, HAF922, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:10 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.