Mulitmonitor Views - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2017, 05:46 PM   #1
WNC
Junior Member
 
WNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 21
Default Mulitmonitor Views

My set up.... Physical cockpit with 3-projectors pointing to a 4ft x 12ft radius screen @ 5760x1080 resolution.

Problem.... Sitting in physical cockpit you can't see mouse arrow when half the GUI screen is hidden.
Click image for larger version

Name:	GUI.JPG
Views:	389
Size:	2.70 MB
ID:	172106
Answer to problem....Place it in upper left or right hand corner or better yet Undock the GUI window to allow dragging it to desired location. Best if DCS would fix otherwise is it possible to mod LUA file to achieve this? Where is GUI Lua file located?


Another BIG problem is..... Virtual cockpit is way to big for 5760x1080 resolution! Here it is zoomed out all the way!
Click image for larger version

Name:	Cockpit zoom.JPG
Views:	407
Size:	3.05 MB
ID:	172113
Answer to problem....Allow zooming out further!!!!! They did not restrict zoom limit for exterior view, but they did for interior which does not work for pit builders. again, Best if DCS would fix otherwise is it possible to mod LUA file to achieve this? Where is GUI Lua file located?

For another post location....Best cockpit view for pit builders is to remove canopy frame and glass from cockpit view but keep everything else in tact including the gun site retical and propeller!!!!!!!!

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=195804

Last edited by WNC; 11-13-2017 at 05:53 PM.
WNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 04:38 PM   #2
Coug4r
Member
 
Coug4r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 536
Default

When you go multimonitor you have this problem. Zooming out is ok for some freeflight perhaps but it'll increase the widescreen/fisheye effect. Doesn't look good and for any A2A combat it'll make your enemies even smaller than they already are. Putting your head further back in the pit may work for some planes but for others the instruments and/or HUD become unreadable.

I think the only solution to this is to scale the scene down because when you go 2 monitors wide everything is actually twice as big. 3 monitors, 3 times as big. If somehow somewhere ED could make a scale (down) option for the 3D scene (DX11 has this option) then we could have some pretty decent more realistic multimonitor 3D view.
__________________
-
If man were meant to fly he'd be filled with helium.
Coug4r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 03:09 PM   #3
WNC
Junior Member
 
WNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 21
Default Peta

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug4r View Post
When you go multimonitor you have this problem. Zooming out is ok for some freeflight perhaps but it'll increase the widescreen/fisheye effect. Doesn't look good and for any A2A combat it'll make your enemies even smaller than they already are. Putting your head further back in the pit may work for some planes but for others the instruments and/or HUD become unreadable.

I think the only solution to this is to scale the scene down because when you go 2 monitors wide everything is actually twice as big. 3 monitors, 3 times as big. If somehow somewhere ED could make a scale (down) option for the 3D scene (DX11 has this option) then we could have some pretty decent more realistic multimonitor 3D view.
Problem with forums is you have to search and read through ten times as much as you want to find what it is you are looking for.

I found a post by "Peta" that address the problem and he has come up with a solution that works well. I seem to have lost the link now , could have sworn I saved it some where.

Here is the mod that worked for zooming out further in cockpit.....

Path...

User"name"\Saved Games\DCS.openalpha\Config\View\

Here are the Lua files I placed there.....

Server.lua
Snapview.lua
View.lua

Will add the post link for downloading if I can find it again

But, I do understand what you area saying that the game not being formated correctly for triple/wide screen images etc. More and more people are going that route, you would think they would address that and many other problems by now!

Last edited by WNC; 11-24-2017 at 03:15 PM.
WNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 07:09 PM   #4
Coug4r
Member
 
Coug4r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 536
Default

Trust me, you don't want to zoom out more.. it'll make things in the distance even smaller. I changed my settings so i got a 2 monitor width on 3 monitors and i can set my zoom to near neutral which makes spotting bandits easier again compared to a 3 monitor setup and zooming out fully.
__________________
-
If man were meant to fly he'd be filled with helium.
Coug4r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:52 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.