Performance hit with the new cockpit - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2019, 03:34 AM   #31
Ziptie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: America
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ercoupe View Post
Try my settings. I think you'll see that you don't need everythung set to high for this sim to look great.
What are your PC specs and average FPS, if I may ask?


Cheers,

Don (callsign Ziptie)
__________________
i7 6700 @4ghz, 32GB HyperX Fury ddr4-2133 ram, GTX980, Oculus Rift CV1, 2x400 gig SSD drives (one soley for DCS OpenBeta standalone) Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS

Airframes: A10C, F/A-18C, F-14B, FC3, Combined Arms. Terrains: Persian Gulf, Nevada NTTR
Ziptie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2019, 04:31 AM   #32
Puma
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 321
Default

Finally installed the update. I didn't notice any change in fps. I run effectively 4k, so usually 50-60fps and never below 35 which is similar to before.

Will also say the flood illumination was easily adequate to see on my monitor.
__________________

__________________
i7-8700K, 16 GB DDR4 3600, Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7, Gigabyte RTX 2080 Ti, 500GB Samsung Evo SSD+2x750GB RAID-0, TrackIR 5 /w clip, CRG9 49” Curved Ultrawide Flight Display+15" Touchscreen+17" Gauges display, Thrustmaster Warthog+7.5cm, Tablet CDU, Saitek Pro Combat Pedals, Custom Pit, Butt Kicker and pneumatic G-Seat
Puma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2019, 04:38 AM   #33
Ziptie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: America
Posts: 1,149
Default

Yeah, monitor has no problems holding anywhere above 60 FPS (more often than not - north of 100.)

VR is where most people are reporting large performance hits.


Cheers,

Don (callsign Ziptie)
__________________
i7 6700 @4ghz, 32GB HyperX Fury ddr4-2133 ram, GTX980, Oculus Rift CV1, 2x400 gig SSD drives (one soley for DCS OpenBeta standalone) Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS

Airframes: A10C, F/A-18C, F-14B, FC3, Combined Arms. Terrains: Persian Gulf, Nevada NTTR
Ziptie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2019, 01:13 PM   #34
Hardcard
Member
 
Hardcard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daarseth View Post
VR is where most people are reporting large performance hits.
I don't think that's the case.
I'd say that most people are expreciencing a performance hit when compared with the old cockpit...but since they didn't monitor fps before the update (and their beastly rigs can brute-force through anything), they don't see the problem.

In my case, the problem is clear as day:

FC3 -> 60+fps
Mi-8 -> 60+fps
Huey -> 60+fps
Old A10C cockpit -> 60+fps
New A10C cockpit -> 30-40fps (under the same conditions, without tweaking)
Tomcat -> 60+fps
__________________
Hardcard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 05:34 AM   #35
||CaptHawk
Member
 
||CaptHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardcard View Post
I don't think that's the case.

I'd say that most people are expreciencing a performance hit when compared with the old cockpit...but since they didn't monitor fps before the update (and their beastly rigs can brute-force through anything), they don't see the problem.



In my case, the problem is clear as day:



FC3 -> 60+fps

Mi-8 -> 60+fps

Huey -> 60+fps

Old A10C cockpit -> 60+fps

New A10C cockpit -> 30-40fps (under the same conditions, without tweaking)

Tomcat -> 60+fps
I'm getting the same or similar results. Still tweaking but with limited results.

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
__________________

AMP WIZARD "Forest Gumble" "When the air becomes electric....It's like a box of chocolates"
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit | Intel Core i7 3770K @4.2 | Asus P8Z77-V Pro Thunderbolt | 32GB Patriot Limited Addition DDR3 1600MHz Ram | EVGA GTX 1070 SC @1594MHz/4000 MHz 8GB | 1x42" Multi Touch Screen and 1x27" 4k widescreen|Saitek x52 Pro|
||CaptHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 08:19 AM   #36
wernst
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: EDTF
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardcard View Post
Love the new cockpit, but not at the cost of ~20fps.

Anyone else having performance issues with the new cockpit?

Also, is it possible to revert back to the old cockpit?
I have (again) stuttering, an issue which I hadn’t noticed since long and which I have almost forgotten.
Since quite some time all modules are more or less stutter free. Fine, but with the new cockpit old problems are here again.

Besides performance, the new cockpit is almost not usable at night time.
What use is the nice look and appearance of the new cockpit if I can’t see the essential controls at night anymore?
Even with floodlight pushed to max. It has been said that the old floodlight was incorrect.
But what use is it having a correct floodlight which makes the Hog not flyable at night?

Yes, ED please provide an option to roll back the new cockpit to the old one or give us the choice between new and old pit.


Don’t get me wrong. I highly appreciate ED’s efforts to continously improving all modules.

But it shouldn’t be done at the cost of playability.
Function comes before beauty.
wernst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 04:22 PM   #37
ac5
Senior Member
 
ac5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,071
Default

No such problems at all here.

Old A-10C cockpit = Solid 60 FPS.

New A-10C cockpit = Solid 60 FPS.

Only issue is far too dark at dusk / night.
__________________
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus X Hero Intel Z 370
CPU: Intel Core i7-8086K @ 4.0 GHz
Memory: 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-3000
Graphics Card: ASUS NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti 11GB
Monitor ASUS PA 329 32" @ 4K
1 SSD Samsung 860 PRO 256 GB
1 SSD Samsung 860 PRO 1 TB
Windows 10 - 64
CH Pro combatstick, throttle and pedals
ac5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 04:58 PM   #38
wernst
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: EDTF
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ac5 View Post
No such problems at all here.

Old A-10C cockpit = Solid 60 FPS.

New A-10C cockpit = Solid 60 FPS.

Only issue is far too dark at dusk / night.
Please learn, that obviously all issues with the new cockpit update reported here are not affecting everyone equally.
It's maybe related to the different types of hardware they are using.

Some users have difficulties with the nightly cockpit while others say: „I’m fine with it“.
They might have the same professional type of monitor as the ED devs are using.
I only have a semi professional EIZO monitor, obviously a poor man’s monitor.

It’s the same with the performance issues. Some users (as you) report „no performance loss“
while not a few here are mentioning noticeable loss of performance.

What do you suggest should be done?
Listen to the lucky card users or listen to the people who had no problems with the old cockpit - until now?
wernst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 05:09 PM   #39
ac5
Senior Member
 
ac5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,071
Default

Hi wernst, either buy better hardware or use my settings...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Settings-AC-2.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	320.2 KB
ID:	224132  
__________________
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus X Hero Intel Z 370
CPU: Intel Core i7-8086K @ 4.0 GHz
Memory: 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-3000
Graphics Card: ASUS NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti 11GB
Monitor ASUS PA 329 32" @ 4K
1 SSD Samsung 860 PRO 256 GB
1 SSD Samsung 860 PRO 1 TB
Windows 10 - 64
CH Pro combatstick, throttle and pedals
ac5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 08:42 PM   #40
wernst
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: EDTF
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ac5 View Post
Hi wernst, either buy better hardware or use my settings...
Hi ac5, you said earlier: "Only issue is far too dark at dusk / night."

High fps but too dark?
You probably have already "better hardware" and sure did apply your own "my settings", isn't it?
Still some issues? Why? Hmm . . .

My plan for 2020:
I'll have to buy "better hardware" and will apply "ac5 settings" to run the new cockpit update without issues.
But what if . . .?

Happy New Year to all Hog and DCS pilots.

Last edited by wernst; 12-31-2019 at 08:51 PM.
wernst is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:35 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.