Question about performance tab of Windows task manager - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2020, 09:15 PM   #1
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 778
Default Question about performance tab of Windows task manager

First of all, please forget my ignorance , I merely try to learn a bit more about this..

Is checking the performance tab in the Windows task manager a proper way to find my pc's hardware bottleneck?

Few weeks ago I doubled my RAM to 32GB and when I check the task manager now I do see that the bottleneck seems to have shifted from my pc's memory to my 1080ti (the latter one being the first component to hit 100% usage). But I just noticed something weird that made me doubt if Windows task manager is an accurate way to check this.

I just played a mission which was kinda heavy on my pc, but with decent fps. At some point I tried speeding up time (ctrl-z), which obviously destroyed my framerate to about 5fps. While doing 2x time speed, I checked the task manager and surprisingly my CPU, memory and GPU all showed minor usage (like below 20%). I made sure my HMD was active while checking these values.
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 32gb DDR4 - Oculus Rift cv1 - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar HOTAS (NN-Dan mod) - Pointctrl <-- must have for VR users!! - Fully adjustable DIY playseat
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 10:05 AM   #2
Bob_Bushman
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 293
Default

For Ram and GPU, it's ok, mainly used cause it's so easy to get to compared to other monitor software.

For CPU and disk utilisation it pools all resources. It's important to know that it pools all resources but if you only have one GPU that's not an issue, and RAM us just one big pool.

Say you have a four core CPU, no hyperthreading, that shows up to windows as for sperate cpu's, all four cores must be fully loaded for your CPU 'pool' to report 100%.

Even when separating the graph to logical cores giving a graph per thread, won't give s good indication, windows will cycle a tasks CPU usage across available cores so no single core should feel lonely or forgotten.

If only one thread is fully maxed out and the rest is idling the cpu utilisation would never report more than 25%, and since windows constantly shifts the load around it won't show up on the graphs either.

And we don't have quad core cpu's anymore either, 6-12 cores are becoming very common, and with hyperthreading that is reported to windows as a 12 and 24 cpu's fit it's big pool.

So a fully loaded core on my cpu for instance would come in as a cpu utilisation of 8% since 12 threads at my disposal.

The best way to tell if you are you limited, us to decrease graphics settings until the GPU sees low use, and if you still don't get any better framerate.
__________________
i7 8700k @ 4.7, 32GB 2900Mhz, 1080ti, CV1
Virpil MT-50\Delta, MFG Crosswind, Warthog Throttle, Virptil Mongoost-50 throttle.
Bob_Bushman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 02:11 PM   #3
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 6,384
Default

I usually have 1 core at full tilt 100% usage and the others vary between 1-50%, they go all the way up & down depending what DCS and the system has to do but that 1 core is always running max.
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5G_delidded - 32GB - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon - 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 32GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 07:25 PM   #4
sirrah
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 778
Default

Thanks for the explanation
__________________
System specs:
Spoiler:
System specs: Core i7-8700k - GTX 1080ti - Z370 - 32gb DDR4 - Oculus Rift cv1 - Saitek Pro pedals - TM Warthog HOTAS - TM Cougar HOTAS (NN-Dan mod) - Pointctrl <-- must have for VR users!! - Fully adjustable DIY playseat
sirrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 02:04 PM   #5
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 6,384
Default

An example, SP Free Flight Hornet PG

pic is in this thread https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=260836
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5G_delidded - 32GB - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon - 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 32GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:48 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.