SSD wear - Page 4 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2017, 07:10 PM   #31
Dudikoff
Senior Member
 
Dudikoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Croatia / Lebanon
Posts: 1,700
Reputation power: 31
Dudikoff is a glorious beacon of lightDudikoff is a glorious beacon of lightDudikoff is a glorious beacon of lightDudikoff is a glorious beacon of lightDudikoff is a glorious beacon of lightDudikoff is a glorious beacon of lightDudikoff is a glorious beacon of lightDudikoff is a glorious beacon of lightDudikoff is a glorious beacon of lightDudikoff is a glorious beacon of lightDudikoff is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
I just checked Samsung website and the data you provided is correct, limit is 75TBW for the 250GB version 850 EVO.
But, that's hardly a realistic figure. When they tested the first gen TLC drives, they have written 700+ TB before the first errors started appearing.

https://us.hardware.info/reviews/417...date-20-6-2013
__________________
i386DX40@42 MHz w/i387 CP, 4 MB RAM (8*512 kB), Trident 8900C 1 MB w/16-bit RAMDAC ISA, Quantum 340 MB UDMA33, SB 16, DOS 6.22 w/QEMM + Win3.11CE, Quickshot 1 btn 2 axis gameport joystick, Numpad as hat. 2 FPH on a good day, 1 FPH avg.

DISCLAIMER: My posts are absolutely useless. Just passing time till DCS: F-14..

Annoyed by my posts? Please consider donating. Once the target sum is reached, I'll be off to somewhere nice I promise not to post from. I'd buy that for a dollar!

Last edited by Dudikoff; 06-19-2017 at 07:13 PM.
Dudikoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 08:48 PM   #32
Piston85
Member
 
Piston85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 798
Reputation power: 5
Piston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura about
Default

The loading times are only large for me the first time I boot DCS, after that it just loads within 10 seconds or less. I mean missions and everything.
__________________
i7-4790K 4.5Ghz 1.2v | Gigabyte GTX 1070 Aorus 8G | 16GB HyperX Savage 2133Mhz CL11 1.6V | ASUS Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2/USB 3.1 |
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Thermaltake Smart M850W Modular 80+ Bronze |
MS Sidewinder Precision 2 | Thrustmaster TWCS | TrackIR 5 | LG IPS LED 23MP55HQ 23" - 1920x1080@60hz - Noganet Stormer NG-CP767 | Win10 Pro 64bits
Piston85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 04:21 AM   #33
Piston85
Member
 
Piston85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 798
Reputation power: 5
Piston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura aboutPiston85 has a spectacular aura about
Default

does it help if I move the page file to my other hdd?
__________________
i7-4790K 4.5Ghz 1.2v | Gigabyte GTX 1070 Aorus 8G | 16GB HyperX Savage 2133Mhz CL11 1.6V | ASUS Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2/USB 3.1 |
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | WD Caviar Blue 500GB | Thermaltake Smart M850W Modular 80+ Bronze |
MS Sidewinder Precision 2 | Thrustmaster TWCS | TrackIR 5 | LG IPS LED 23MP55HQ 23" - 1920x1080@60hz - Noganet Stormer NG-CP767 | Win10 Pro 64bits
Piston85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 06:37 AM   #34
Sporg
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 996
Reputation power: 9
Sporg is just really niceSporg is just really niceSporg is just really niceSporg is just really niceSporg is just really niceSporg is just really niceSporg is just really niceSporg is just really niceSporg is just really niceSporg is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piston85 View Post
does it help if I move the page file to my other hdd?
Don't do that.
If DCS exceeds your amount of RAM Windows will swap to the page file.
You will want that to be as fast as possible, thus on the SSD.

If you are not exceeding your RAM the page file will just be there, but not be written to, thus no wear.

My example of wear earlier includes having my page file on the same SSD.
so again, it should be no problem at all.
Sporg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:14 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.