Question Before I Buy - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2017, 02:58 PM   #11
WildBillKelsoe
Veteran
 
WildBillKelsoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cairo, Egypt
Posts: 5,694
Reputation power: 48
WildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to allWildBillKelsoe is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeilWillis View Post
I'd say now is definitely the time to buy WW2 modules. With Normandy around the corner, there will be a huge influx of missions. The asset pack will bring lots more possibilities - including decent bomber intercept missions given that there will be better AI bomber formation code in the works. Buying now will give you time to get to grips with the Kurfurst, and get you battle ready for the end of May. It does take a little time to master the techniques for both getting it airborne and landing it, and for getting the best out of it in dogfights.
I concur. I simply cant wait to shoot those bombers down while getting sandwiched by the spitfires and the mustangs
__________________
Fat T is above, thin T is below. Long T is faster, Short T is slower. Open triangle is AWACS, closed triangle is your own sensors. Double dash is friendly, Single dash is enemy. Circle is friendly. Strobe is jammer. Strobe to dash is under 35 km. HDD is 7 times range key. Radar to 160 km, IRST to 10 km. Stay low, but never slow.
WildBillKelsoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 03:11 PM   #12
BuzzU
Senior Member
 
BuzzU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,040
Reputation power: 15
BuzzU has a spectacular aura aboutBuzzU has a spectacular aura aboutBuzzU has a spectacular aura about
Default

I agree that the modules seem expensive. I'm an old guy living on an SS check and it doesn't stretch far these days. However, let's not forget we got DCS World for free. So, we already started one big module ahead.

Just consider the first module you buy as a payment for DCS world.

It's still cheap in the long run. I got involved with iRacing and spent $800 before I finally quit it. The sad part is we don't get to keep any of it unless we continue to pay. The biggest ripoff ever.
__________________
Buzz

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
BuzzU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 03:26 PM   #13
dooom
Senior Member
 
dooom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Saskatoon Saskatchewan
Posts: 2,085
Reputation power: 21
dooom is a glorious beacon of lightdooom is a glorious beacon of lightdooom is a glorious beacon of lightdooom is a glorious beacon of lightdooom is a glorious beacon of lightdooom is a glorious beacon of lightdooom is a glorious beacon of lightdooom is a glorious beacon of lightdooom is a glorious beacon of lightdooom is a glorious beacon of lightdooom is a glorious beacon of light
Default

i uploaded a whole bucket load of DoW WWII missions. they all have AI and all WWII planesets in them.. you can fly them single player or multi... Look them up in user files

https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c..._filter=Filter
__________________

""This was not in the Manual I did not read", cried the Noob" - BMBM, WWIIOL
*NOTCH VIDEO F15 vs SU33
*P-51D ANM64 Bombing guide
dooom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 07:01 PM   #14
OnlyforDCS
Senior Member
 
OnlyforDCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,477
Reputation power: 13
OnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really nice
Default

Well I caved. Bought the "K" today. Quite a beastie I must say. Can't wait to take it online
__________________
Current specs: Windows 7 64bit, i5-3570K @ 4.2 Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 128GB SSD exclusively for DCS, ASUS Turbo GTX970 4GB, TrackIR 5, MS FFB2 Sidewinder + Saitek X52 throttle, Saitek Pro rudder pedals.
OnlyforDCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 07:16 PM   #15
Rudel_chw
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 733
Reputation power: 9
Rudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnlyforDCS View Post
Well I caved. Bought the "K" today. Quite a beastie I must say. Can't wait to take it online
You should have waited a sale ... anyway, may I suggest this playlist by Bunyap ... I learned a lot from it:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...pecUyLbUSnmoRs
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS Sierra
For Gaming: 24" Monitor - Xeon X3460 - 16 GB DDR3 1333 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows Server 2012R2 - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 07:19 PM   #16
Rudel_chw
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 733
Reputation power: 9
Rudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really niceRudel_chw is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dooom View Post
i uploaded a whole bucket load of DoW WWII missions. they all have AI and all WWII planesets in them.. you can fly them single player or multi... Look them up in user files

https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c..._filter=Filter
Hello,

Really? ... I hadn't give them any attention because they were multiplayer missions ... so I can play them in solitaire? ... I will try them out, thanks a lot
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS Sierra
For Gaming: 24" Monitor - Xeon X3460 - 16 GB DDR3 1333 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 384 GB - HDD 8 TB - Windows Server 2012R2 - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 05:00 AM   #17
OnlyforDCS
Senior Member
 
OnlyforDCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,477
Reputation power: 13
OnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
You should have waited a sale ... anyway, may I suggest this playlist by Bunyap ... I learned a lot from it:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...pecUyLbUSnmoRs
Yeah Im busy watching that one currently. Already took it up a couple of times online, though without much success. Need to get to grips on flying it right, and I gotta say my TrackIR is acting all weird in it and giving me the most trouble. I have it setup perfectly in the Spit, so I don't know what Im doing wrong.

There are a few options regarding cockpit camera positions for the 109 thats maybe related to that, can anyone clarify what that is about and which I should choose?

Also, any other videos for proprer coordinated flying in the 109 would be much appreciated. She is a tough one to get to grips with initially. Doesn't fly nearly as nice and tame as the Spit, though thats probably a lot to do with pilot error.
__________________
Current specs: Windows 7 64bit, i5-3570K @ 4.2 Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 128GB SSD exclusively for DCS, ASUS Turbo GTX970 4GB, TrackIR 5, MS FFB2 Sidewinder + Saitek X52 throttle, Saitek Pro rudder pedals.
OnlyforDCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 05:15 AM   #18
Art-J
Senior Member
 
Art-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 2,725
Reputation power: 16
Art-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really niceArt-J is just really nice
Default

Since gunsight in 109 is off-center, there are three cam options to choose from for guys, who are bothered by that. "Cruise" position puts Your virtual head in line with the fuselage (You have to lean right to aim through the sight), "gunsight" position gives You permanent scoliosis and puts Your head off center as well (You always see through the sight), default is somewhere in between If I recall correctly.
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.
Art-J is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 09:54 AM   #19
rel4y
Member
 
rel4y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 488
Reputation power: 2
rel4y will become famous soon enoughrel4y will become famous soon enough
Default

Naw, the third option is auto. This is imho the best option and switches the view according to if you have the gunsight up or folded down. The TrackIR for me sometimes gets stuck "below" the gunsight somehow, is that your problem as well? I havent had this in other planes.
rel4y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 11:25 AM   #20
OnlyforDCS
Senior Member
 
OnlyforDCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,477
Reputation power: 13
OnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really niceOnlyforDCS is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rel4y View Post
Naw, the third option is auto. This is imho the best option and switches the view according to if you have the gunsight up or folded down. The TrackIR for me sometimes gets stuck "below" the gunsight somehow, is that your problem as well? I havent had this in other planes.
Thanks for the reply, will try auto. In my case the view sometimes gets stuck on the top metal "plate" above the pilot's headrest.
__________________
Current specs: Windows 7 64bit, i5-3570K @ 4.2 Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 128GB SSD exclusively for DCS, ASUS Turbo GTX970 4GB, TrackIR 5, MS FFB2 Sidewinder + Saitek X52 throttle, Saitek Pro rudder pedals.
OnlyforDCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:06 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.