Uncommanded Rudder Inputs - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2016, 01:09 AM   #1
flynavy154
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 2
Reputation power: 0
flynavy154 is on a distinguished road
Default Uncommanded Rudder Inputs

I feel certain this is likely a problem with my rudder pedals or their settings and not the module, but in the L-39 I'm experiencing sudden uncommanded rudder inputs. For example, I can be in a left standard-bank turn with some slight left rudder applied and suddenly the rudder will snap to the full right position obviously causing a violent yaw and then oscillation while recovering. Any thoughts?
flynavy154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 06:54 AM   #2
msalama
Senior Member
 
msalama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,720
Reputation power: 31
msalama is a glorious beacon of lightmsalama is a glorious beacon of lightmsalama is a glorious beacon of lightmsalama is a glorious beacon of lightmsalama is a glorious beacon of lightmsalama is a glorious beacon of lightmsalama is a glorious beacon of lightmsalama is a glorious beacon of lightmsalama is a glorious beacon of lightmsalama is a glorious beacon of lightmsalama is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Spiky controller pot(s)? Two controllers inadvertently bound to the rudder?
__________________
...aaaand yes, the Huey is still getting some luuurve http://www.belsimtek.com/upload/docs/development-tasks.pdf
msalama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 07:00 AM   #3
NeilWillis
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,919
Reputation power: 19
NeilWillis is just really niceNeilWillis is just really niceNeilWillis is just really niceNeilWillis is just really niceNeilWillis is just really niceNeilWillis is just really niceNeilWillis is just really niceNeilWillis is just really niceNeilWillis is just really niceNeilWillis is just really niceNeilWillis is just really nice
Default

Also, check you don't have duplicated inputs in the control settings. By default, you will see multiple inputs, and you'll need to go into the settings and delete all the unwanted ones. You have tio do that for every new module installed.
NeilWillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 10:03 AM   #4
Boris
Member
 
Boris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 815
Reputation power: 8
Boris is a jewel in the roughBoris is a jewel in the roughBoris is a jewel in the roughBoris is a jewel in the roughBoris is a jewel in the roughBoris is a jewel in the roughBoris is a jewel in the rough
Default

Sorry to dig this up, but I'm having the very same issue.

The L-39 will yaw abruptly, seemingly at random, in normal, even straight and level flight.

I'm certain it has nothing to do with the controllers as this is not an issue in any other module.
__________________
PC Specs / Hardware: MSI z87-g45 Mainboard, Intel 4770k clocked to 4500 MHz, MSI 1080 Ti 11G, 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 RAM, Philips BDM4065UC 4K UHD Screen, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, modded MS FFB2/CH Combatstick, MFG Crosswind Pedals, Oculus Rift CV1
OS: Windows 10 Home Creator's Update
Boris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 11:51 AM   #5
JG14_Smil
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,210
Reputation power: 22
JG14_Smil is a glorious beacon of lightJG14_Smil is a glorious beacon of lightJG14_Smil is a glorious beacon of lightJG14_Smil is a glorious beacon of lightJG14_Smil is a glorious beacon of lightJG14_Smil is a glorious beacon of lightJG14_Smil is a glorious beacon of lightJG14_Smil is a glorious beacon of lightJG14_Smil is a glorious beacon of lightJG14_Smil is a glorious beacon of lightJG14_Smil is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via MSN to JG14_Smil
Default

Never seen it in my hundreds of hours of MP flight.
__________________
-smil-

"Paddle your own canoe" -- Nick Offerman
"Go ride your bike"-- "Dad"
JG14_Smil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 12:15 PM   #6
Boris
Member
 
Boris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 815
Reputation power: 8
Boris is a jewel in the roughBoris is a jewel in the roughBoris is a jewel in the roughBoris is a jewel in the roughBoris is a jewel in the roughBoris is a jewel in the roughBoris is a jewel in the rough
Default

I'll check my axis commands again when I get home...
__________________
PC Specs / Hardware: MSI z87-g45 Mainboard, Intel 4770k clocked to 4500 MHz, MSI 1080 Ti 11G, 16GB 2400 MHz DDR3 RAM, Philips BDM4065UC 4K UHD Screen, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, modded MS FFB2/CH Combatstick, MFG Crosswind Pedals, Oculus Rift CV1
OS: Windows 10 Home Creator's Update
Boris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 12:39 PM   #7
Slazi
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Japan
Posts: 817
Reputation power: 8
Slazi will become famous soon enoughSlazi will become famous soon enough
Default

You can also check your input device on a second screen by diaplaying game controller input.
Slazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 03:07 PM   #8
mkiii
Member
 
mkiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Littlehampton, UK
Posts: 319
Reputation power: 5
mkiii will become famous soon enoughmkiii will become famous soon enough
Default

It's the guy in the back messing with you
mkiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 08:26 AM   #9
LeCuvier
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: South of France
Posts: 582
Reputation power: 7
LeCuvier has a spectacular aura aboutLeCuvier has a spectacular aura aboutLeCuvier has a spectacular aura aboutLeCuvier has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boris View Post
Sorry to dig this up, but I'm having the very same issue.
The L-39 will yaw abruptly, seemingly at random, in normal, even straight and level flight.
I'm certain it has nothing to do with the controllers as this is not an issue in any other module.
Moin-Moin!
As NeilWillis says: check your Options / Controls for multiple bindings (e.g. joystick, throttle, pedals) to the same axes! By default DCS binds axes for every new module to every one of your input devices; and you have to clear out all the unwanted ones.
I'm 99% sure that's the origin of your problem.
__________________
LeCuvier
Windows 10 Pro 64Bit | i7-4790 CPU |16 GB RAM| GTX-970 | Acer XB270HU | TM Warthog HOTAS | VKB Gladiator Pro | MongoosT-50 | MFG Crosswind Pedals | TrackIR 5
LeCuvier is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:15 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.