Please bring back object size settings! - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2018, 11:55 AM   #1
Greekbull
Member
 
Greekbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 581
Default Please bring back object size settings!

As a someone who Sims in 4K visibility is greatly behind those that are running lower resolution. I know this is an issue for people who running VR as well. It would be great to have the ability to individually adjust aircraft and ground objects. I realize the issues in MP servers but simply allow the host to turn this option on or off. For many of us who fly cooperative missions it is almost impossible without a label mod to assist with seeing enemy AI.
__________________
i7 8700K @ 5.0Ghz I ASUS Maximus Hero X Z370 I 64GB G Skill TridentZ DDR4 3200 I ASUS STRIX GTX 1080Ti I Samsung EVO 960 500GB M.2 PCIe SSD I TM Warthog HOTAS I VPC Mongoose T-50 Stick Base I MFG Crosswind Pedals I 4K 50" I TrackIR 5 W/ Wireless LukeClip

VFA-25 Fist of the Fleet

Virtual Carrier Strike Group 1 | Discord
Greekbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 02:12 PM   #2
flyco
Member
 
flyco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: York
Posts: 201
Default

As a fellow UHD monitor use, I must agree with the above post.

With a paused screen, knowing where the ‘bogey’ is and using max zoom, I can just about pick up a Spitfire-sized target at between 2 and 3 miles.

The use of labels doesn’t help much because of the other new ‘gotcha’ - I use a second monitor for my Helios and so the labels are considerably displaced and variable.

I can’t remember being shot down by the ‘hun in the sun’ so many times in one sortie - even without the sun!
flyco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 02:49 PM   #3
Gladman
Senior Member
 
Gladman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kitscoty, AB
Posts: 1,085
Default

I'll through my hat into this ring as well. Its something the future requires. 1080p is a thing of the past and VR next gen will still require it.
__________________
i7 4790K @ 4.6Ghz - ASUS Maximus Hero VII - 32GB 2133 RAM - ASUS GTX 1080 - 512GB SSD - XSPC Watercooling System - Thrustmaster Warthog Hotas - MFG Crosswind Pedals - Oculus Rift!!!
VFA-25 Fist Of The Fleet
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic99190_2.gif
Gladman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 04:49 PM   #4
SharpeXB
Senior Member
 
SharpeXB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 1,404
Default

I personally have an easier time seeing and especially identifying objects with a 4K screen. Responders above: Are you saying it’s more difficult? How can that be?
__________________
Velocity Micro PC | Asus Z97-A | i7-4790K 4.7GHz | Corsair Liquid CPU Cooler | 32GB DDR3-1600MHz Memory | EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC 11GB | 240gb Intel 520 Series MLC SSD | 850 W Corsair PSU | Windows 10 Home | Samsung U28D590D UHD 28” Monitor | Bose Companion 5 Speakers | CH Fighterstick | Ch Pro Throttle | CH Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5
SharpeXB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 04:58 PM   #5
wilbur81
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SharpeXB View Post
Responders above: Are you saying it’s more difficult? How can that be?
Yes, it is definitely more difficult to spot a target in 4k. A 4k pixel is smaller than a 1080p pixel... so, another distant aircraft is more difficult to spot in 4k.
__________________
i7 8700K @ Stock - Win10 64 - 32 RAM - EVGA GTX 1070 SC - Samsung SSD - X55 HOTAS - Cougar MFDs - Saitek Combat Pedals - Home built ACES II - 55" 4k TCL s405 TV
wilbur81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 07:25 PM   #6
Greekbull
Member
 
Greekbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 581
Default

Yes it is much harder to see air to air and ground objects in 4K. Pixel size is much smaller! Now the resolution is much better and clearer but objects are much smaller than they should at any distance.
__________________
i7 8700K @ 5.0Ghz I ASUS Maximus Hero X Z370 I 64GB G Skill TridentZ DDR4 3200 I ASUS STRIX GTX 1080Ti I Samsung EVO 960 500GB M.2 PCIe SSD I TM Warthog HOTAS I VPC Mongoose T-50 Stick Base I MFG Crosswind Pedals I 4K 50" I TrackIR 5 W/ Wireless LukeClip

VFA-25 Fist of the Fleet

Virtual Carrier Strike Group 1 | Discord
Greekbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 08:39 PM   #7
corn322
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur81 View Post
A 4k pixel is smaller than a 1080p pixel...
Be careful with this. Using the tool here (http://lcdtech.info/en/data/pixel.size.htm) so I don't have to do math by hand... Your 55" 4k screen has 0.317mm size pixels, but my 24" 1200p screen has 0.269mm size pixels.

I assume you are sitting more than 1 meter from your screen, which would make the pixels appear smaller.
corn322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 08:43 PM   #8
Gladman
Senior Member
 
Gladman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kitscoty, AB
Posts: 1,085
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corn322 View Post
Be careful with this. Using the tool here (http://lcdtech.info/en/data/pixel.size.htm) so I don't have to do math by hand... Your 55" 4k screen has 0.317mm size pixels, but my 24" 1200p screen has 0.269mm size pixels.

I assume you are sitting more than 1 meter from your screen, which would make the pixels appear smaller.

I'll assume your logic is correct. Given that I think it fair to say that a proper object sizing option becomes even more relevant if we are at all (as a community) interested in an even playing field.
__________________
i7 4790K @ 4.6Ghz - ASUS Maximus Hero VII - 32GB 2133 RAM - ASUS GTX 1080 - 512GB SSD - XSPC Watercooling System - Thrustmaster Warthog Hotas - MFG Crosswind Pedals - Oculus Rift!!!
VFA-25 Fist Of The Fleet
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic99190_2.gif
Gladman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 09:03 PM   #9
Greekbull
Member
 
Greekbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 581
Default

I'm not looking to do this for a competitive advantage...again please make this an option that the host can turn off in a MP Server if desired...I'm just saying those running very high resolution are at a big disadvantage with object sizes. It would be nice to have the option to change that again. Thanks
__________________
i7 8700K @ 5.0Ghz I ASUS Maximus Hero X Z370 I 64GB G Skill TridentZ DDR4 3200 I ASUS STRIX GTX 1080Ti I Samsung EVO 960 500GB M.2 PCIe SSD I TM Warthog HOTAS I VPC Mongoose T-50 Stick Base I MFG Crosswind Pedals I 4K 50" I TrackIR 5 W/ Wireless LukeClip

VFA-25 Fist of the Fleet

Virtual Carrier Strike Group 1 | Discord
Greekbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 09:03 PM   #10
Johnny_Rico
Senior Member
 
Johnny_Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,095
Default

+1 to having this back
Johnny_Rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:56 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.