maverick attack - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2018, 05:48 PM   #1
colubridae
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: cheshire, england
Posts: 137
Default maverick attack

I’m sure someone’s done this before but I managed to set up a quick fire attack using mavericks on targets near to one another:-

1 use the long range of the TGP to set a target as SPI.
2 Set the SPI as a mark point
3 Find the next target with the TGP. Set as SPI
4 Set SPI as next markpoint

5 Repeat 3 and 4 as necessary.
6 When all targets are ‘markpointed’ set steering to mark on CDU.
7 Set SPI to steerpoint.
8 Select maverick
9 Slew all sensors to current SPI
10 When maverick locks, launch maverick.
11 Select next steerpoint.
Repeat 7, 8, 9 10
Return to step 11 until all targets attacked.

This is assuming no other markpoints have been made before attack.


I tried it and it worked but I may not have written down the exact button sequence
colubridae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 05:52 PM   #2
Yurgon
Campaign Testers
 
Yurgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,113
Default

Also works nicely with JDAMs

You've got a few redundant steps, it's quite possible (and useful) to omit those. For instance, with STPT as SPI Generator, there's no need to set the SPI Generator to STPT again. Just cycle the steerpoint, and there's your SPI.
__________________
Yurgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 06:17 PM   #3
colubridae
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: cheshire, england
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yurgon View Post
Also works nicely with JDAMs

You've got a few redundant steps, it's quite possible (and useful) to omit those. For instance, with STPT as SPI Generator, there's no need to set the SPI Generator to STPT again. Just cycle the steerpoint, and there's your SPI.


Thanks yurgon.
colubridae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 12:59 AM   #4
Eviscerador
Junior Member
 
Eviscerador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Gijón, Spain
Posts: 31
Default

You don't need to set each target as SPI. Just make the TGP your SOI (which should be for slewing anyway) and create a mark point whenever you find a target.

Once you finish (or just got 4-6 markpoints, one for each Mav) go to the UFC, set the EGI to Mark, cycle marks, slave to SPI and launch all the things!

This way you don't need to set any SPI or waste time changing the SPI from steerpoint to TGP or HUD. You can do it in a few seconds.
Eviscerador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 12:17 PM   #5
mangaroca
Member
 
mangaroca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 322
Default

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rjEkoNOXuD4

The real problem is that after the first hit the rest starts to move..
__________________
"Heatblur: F-14A/B" + "DCS: Strait of Hormuz" = Carrier launched Tomcats roaming over the desert yet again!

Never say never, Baby! 8]
mangaroca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 01:32 PM   #6
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangaroca View Post
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rjEkoNOXuD4

The real problem is that after the first hit the rest starts to move..
That depends on their ROE, which have been set by the mission designer.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + ATi Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280X (3 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 01:56 PM   #7
kylekatarn720
Member
 
kylekatarn720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Turkey
Posts: 313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangaroca View Post
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rjEkoNOXuD4

The real problem is that after the first hit the rest starts to move..
Meh, you should avoid using force correlate anyway.
kylekatarn720 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 02:01 PM   #8
Yurgon
Campaign Testers
 
Yurgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kylekatarn720 View Post
Meh, you should avoid using force correlate anyway.
Agreed. AFAIK it's used against low contrast targets, and the impact point can spread heavily. In DCS it works like a sniper tool, but IRL it might be more useful against, say, a barn or something really big.
__________________
Yurgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 02:16 PM   #9
kylekatarn720
Member
 
kylekatarn720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Turkey
Posts: 313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yurgon View Post
Agreed. AFAIK it's used against low contrast targets, and the impact point can spread heavily. In DCS it works like a sniper tool, but IRL it might be more useful against, say, a barn or something really big.
Indeed. a10 amaa

"How often and in what situation would you force correlate a Maverick?

Large, poorly bounded target. Avoid at all costs."
kylekatarn720 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:54 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.