[CORRECT AS IS] VIACOM PRO and PTT - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2019, 11:54 AM   #1
bradleyjs
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 537
Default [CORRECT AS IS] VIACOM PRO and PTT

The F-16C has three (3) radios, but only two (2) are mostly used. In the latest version of VIACOM PRO the PTT only allows for one (1) TX versus the other two (2) that are missing thus only allowing communication over that single TX.

Does anyone know if this is just an Early Access issue or is the VIACOM tool not properly coded to support this new module?

Both the A-10C ad F/A-18C have several TX’s to use, so there’s no issue with those modules.

What do you guys think?
__________________
Alienware Area 51 R5 - Intel i9 7980XE (4.7 GHz), 32GB Dual Channel HyperX DDR4 XMP, Dual NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Graphics 11GB GDDR5X SLI, 4.5 TB combo of SSDs/HDDs, Alienware 1500 Watt Multi-GPU Power Supply, Alienware 25” 240Hz Gaming Monitor, Alienware Pro Gaming Keyboard, TM HOTAS, TM Cougar F-16C MFDs, Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals, TrackIR5, Win10 Pro x64
bradleyjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 12:05 PM   #2
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,342
Default

It shows only one radio (UHF I think), but both the UHF and the VHF radios are usable just fine. VHF is radio 1 and UHF is radio 2 in VAICOM. I use the same profile that I use for the F-18 and it works fine. I also have the same buttons assigned to radio keybinds in DCS with no issues.
Also, which one is the 3rd radio? Are you referring to the intercom?
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR|
F/A-18C, F-16C, JF-17, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 12:47 PM   #3
bradleyjs
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 537
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
It shows only one radio (UHF I think), but both the UHF and the VHF radios are usable just fine. VHF is radio 1 and UHF is radio 2 in VAICOM. I use the same profile that I use for the F-18 and it works fine. I also have the same buttons assigned to radio keybinds in DCS with no issues.
Also, which one is the 3rd radio? Are you referring to the intercom?
A UHF, similar to the one in the A-10C, and is located in the middle of the Left Console.

I use the same key bindings for all modules; which makes it easier to remember. I will have to investigate the profile that you just mentioned. I’m also probably going to have to review the LUA code to see if anything is glaringly wrong.
__________________
Alienware Area 51 R5 - Intel i9 7980XE (4.7 GHz), 32GB Dual Channel HyperX DDR4 XMP, Dual NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Graphics 11GB GDDR5X SLI, 4.5 TB combo of SSDs/HDDs, Alienware 1500 Watt Multi-GPU Power Supply, Alienware 25” 240Hz Gaming Monitor, Alienware Pro Gaming Keyboard, TM HOTAS, TM Cougar F-16C MFDs, Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals, TrackIR5, Win10 Pro x64
bradleyjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 01:54 PM   #4
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleyjs View Post
A UHF, similar to the one in the A-10C, and is located in the middle of the Left Console.
I thought this was just the UHF radio manual panel. I think it's for when you don't control it from the DED.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR|
F/A-18C, F-16C, JF-17, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 03:10 PM   #5
Revelation
Senior Member
 
Revelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 2,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
I thought this was just the UHF radio manual panel. I think it's for when you don't control it from the DED.
This is correct. There is a knob to change it between backup mode, UHF panel, and UFC or DED. At least I think it was labeled as UFC.
__________________
Win 10 Pro 64Bit | 27" Asus ROG 1440p | i7-6700k @4.54GHz | ASROCK Extreme7+ | 32Gb @3GHz DDR4 | 512Gb SM951 M.2 SSD | GTX 1080Ti | H100i AIO CPU Cooler
Revelation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 03:15 PM   #6
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revelation View Post
At least I think it was labeled as UFC.
ICP in the Viper, UFC in the Hornet. Gotta love different names for the same thing.
__________________
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700k, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro 512 GB, 970 Evo Plus 1TB, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W, Acer Predator XB271HK|Hornet grip on T-50 base, Warthog side-stick, Warthog throttle, TPR pedals, 3 MFDs, MT desk mounts, TrackIR|
F/A-18C, F-16C, JF-17, AV-8B, A-10C, M-2000C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3, Caucasus, NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 03:34 PM   #7
Revelation
Senior Member
 
Revelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 2,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
ICP in the Viper, UFC in the Hornet. Gotta love different names for the same thing.
Right, but I believe the actual verbiage on the knob is UFC.
__________________
Win 10 Pro 64Bit | 27" Asus ROG 1440p | i7-6700k @4.54GHz | ASROCK Extreme7+ | 32Gb @3GHz DDR4 | 512Gb SM951 M.2 SSD | GTX 1080Ti | H100i AIO CPU Cooler
Revelation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 03:55 PM   #8
mvsgas
Veteran
 
mvsgas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 8,319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
ICP in the Viper, UFC in the Hornet. Gotta love different names for the same thing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revelation View Post
Right, but I believe the actual verbiage on the knob is UFC.
The F-16C Upfront Control (UFC) is control through the Integrated Control Panel (ICP)
__________________
Quote:
Q:The internet says...
A:The internet is wrong.
EvilBivol-1

CPU=AMD Ryzen 5 3600, Mo/Bo= Gygabite X570 AORUS Elite, Memory Corsair vengeance LPX DDR4 3200 32gb, 500g Samsung 970 evo pro, WD blue 3D NAND 2 TB SATA III, video card=Gigabyte RTX 2070, 8gb gddr 6, EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G+, Cooler Master NR600 Masterbox, Joystick=Thrustmaster T-flight Stick X, Track IR, Win10 64
mvsgas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 09:32 AM   #9
bradleyjs
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 537
Default

I think Wags explains the UHF radio in Startup or the Orientation vids. Also, I might have heard it from the Grim Reapers vids when I get some time later today, I’ll see if I can find it in the EA Manual and the F-16C’s Dash-1 (I found a legit copy of the Dash-1 online a couple of days ago).

But in the long run, the bottom line is, it’s modeled in the sim. So, in the mean time, let’s spread our wings and Fly!
__________________
Alienware Area 51 R5 - Intel i9 7980XE (4.7 GHz), 32GB Dual Channel HyperX DDR4 XMP, Dual NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Graphics 11GB GDDR5X SLI, 4.5 TB combo of SSDs/HDDs, Alienware 1500 Watt Multi-GPU Power Supply, Alienware 25” 240Hz Gaming Monitor, Alienware Pro Gaming Keyboard, TM HOTAS, TM Cougar F-16C MFDs, Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals, TrackIR5, Win10 Pro x64

Last edited by bradleyjs; 10-13-2019 at 10:56 AM. Reason: Typo
bradleyjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 01:16 PM   #10
bradleyjs
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 537
Default

According to the Dash-1, its just a UHF Backup Control Panel. I guess I just misunderstood its purpose.
__________________
Alienware Area 51 R5 - Intel i9 7980XE (4.7 GHz), 32GB Dual Channel HyperX DDR4 XMP, Dual NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Graphics 11GB GDDR5X SLI, 4.5 TB combo of SSDs/HDDs, Alienware 1500 Watt Multi-GPU Power Supply, Alienware 25” 240Hz Gaming Monitor, Alienware Pro Gaming Keyboard, TM HOTAS, TM Cougar F-16C MFDs, Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals, TrackIR5, Win10 Pro x64
bradleyjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:02 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.