New GME software - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2016, 12:07 PM   #11
sedenion
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by f4l0 View Post
Which name should the mod description file have?
The exact same name as the mod sub-folder name with .txt, and zip archive name, see just more up here : http://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php?...69&postcount=5
sedenion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 12:10 PM   #12
sedenion
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by f4l0 View Post
Maybe a simple rsync might work?
Maybe, but i never really touched any network code in my life, so i have to learn before... maybe it's in fact simple, but i don't know...
sedenion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 12:14 PM   #13
f4l0
Senior Member
 
f4l0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sedenion View Post
The exact same name as the mod sub-folder name with .txt, and zip archive name, see just more up here : http://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php?...69&postcount=5
Yes found it in the code:

Code:
GME_IsFile(GME_GetCurGameModsPath() + L"\\" + name_list[0] + L".txt")
On my side is doesn't work, maybe because my mod has special characters(spaces and ~). I suggest to add

Code:
GME_IsFile(GME_GetCurGameModsPath() + L"\\" + "description" + L".txt")
to the condition thus 'description.txt' will work also.
__________________
f4l0
Developer of Simshaker for Aviators

Feel the brrrrttt:
[Official] SimShaker for Aviators Forums thread at ED forums
SimShaker blog - transfer game effects into the real world
SimShaker Soundmodule with Voicemeeter Banana Setup: http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?p=2469416

DCS Toggle Switches

System specs: Intel i7-8700k, 32 GB RAM, Nvidia 1070 GTX, lots of SSDs
Flightgear: Oculus Rift, Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Cougar MFDs, Jetseat, Bass shaker
f4l0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 12:17 PM   #14
sedenion
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaelu View Post
Maybe you find someone that knows and can help you. It would totally change the way we "mod" dcs now.

Do you know nexus mod manager? Something like it would be really powerful.
Nop... just watched... it is a totaly network based mod manager, with an online platform, right ?...


Quote:
Originally Posted by zaelu View Post
I found them. Looks Good! The only small downsize of this approach is is people have little space in C:\ and they manage multiple games/versions with big mods.. it might clutter the C drive. Maybe an option later to change the Backup Path?
This is on my "Maybe TODO list"... i had the same thought than you, i have the same usage of the C: disk... but i was waiting for somebody to ask me for that feature

I will considere it, since hopefully i prepared the groud with by-game custom backup path...
sedenion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 12:22 PM   #15
sedenion
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by f4l0 View Post
Yes found it in the code:

Code:
GME_IsFile(GME_GetCurGameModsPath() + L"\\" + name_list[0] + L".txt")
On my side is doesn't work, maybe because my mod has special characters(spaces and ~). I suggest to add

Code:
GME_IsFile(GME_GetCurGameModsPath() + L"\\" + "description" + L".txt")
to the condition thus 'description.txt' will work also.
OvGME is coded for full wide-char (unicode) support, and has no other name restriction than the system's (windows) name restriction... however, the zip library don't support wide-char, (so i have to convert each path name to 8bit ascii)... maybe the bug is here... (also .txt files are 8bit encoded)

Can you give me your archive to take a look at the problem ?

PS: the part of code you copied is the one for mod-directory type description (yes, folder mod can also have description, if you let a properly named text file in the mods stock dir), the zipped mod code use another function.

Last edited by sedenion; 08-07-2016 at 12:32 PM.
sedenion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 12:42 PM   #16
f4l0
Senior Member
 
f4l0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sedenion View Post
OvGME is coded for full wide-char (unicode) support, and has no other name restriction than the system's (windows) name restriction... however, the zip library don't support wide-char, (so i have to convert each path name to 8bit ascii)... maybe the bug is here... (also .txt files are 8bit encoded)

Can you give me your archive to take a look at the problem ?

PS: the part of code you copied is the one for mod-directory type description (yes, folder mod can also have description, if you let a properly named text file in the mods stock dir), the zipped mod code use another function.
Ok, I just grep through your code and looked for description

My mod's structure looks like this:

Code:
Controls ~~ Warthog_Custom_Controls
 - Controls ~~ Warthog_Custom_Controls.txt
 - Mods
   - aircraft
     - ...
Nevertheless, having the option to either have a description.txt or 'modname'.txt for the general mod description makes it more 'user friendly'. When using description.txt, you can rename your modfolder and still get a valid description...
__________________
f4l0
Developer of Simshaker for Aviators

Feel the brrrrttt:
[Official] SimShaker for Aviators Forums thread at ED forums
SimShaker blog - transfer game effects into the real world
SimShaker Soundmodule with Voicemeeter Banana Setup: http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?p=2469416

DCS Toggle Switches

System specs: Intel i7-8700k, 32 GB RAM, Nvidia 1070 GTX, lots of SSDs
Flightgear: Oculus Rift, Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Cougar MFDs, Jetseat, Bass shaker
f4l0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 12:49 PM   #17
sedenion
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by f4l0 View Post
Ok, I just grep through your code and looked for description

My mod's structure looks like this:

Code:
Controls ~~ Warthog_Custom_Controls
 - Controls ~~ Warthog_Custom_Controls.txt
 - Mods
   - aircraft
     - ...
Ok, your problem is that the .txt file is in your mod folder, the .txt file must be at the root of the zip file, in parallel of the mod folder, like this:

Code:
Controls ~~ Warthog_Custom_Controls.txt
Controls ~~ Warthog_Custom_Controls
 - Mods
   - aircraft
     - ...
( think about that: if you put the description txt in your mod folder, the description txt is considered as mod file, so is copied to the game file tree, this is not the destiny of a description text )

Quote:
Originally Posted by f4l0 View Post
Nevertheless, having the option to either have a description.txt or 'modname'.txt for the general mod description makes it more 'user friendly'. When using description.txt, you can rename your modfolder and still get a valid description...
I will considere a generic "description.txt" yes...this is not hell to code

Last edited by sedenion; 08-07-2016 at 12:54 PM.
sedenion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 01:18 PM   #18
f4l0
Senior Member
 
f4l0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,449
Default

Another feature request:

Right-Click on a mod with the option to open that mod in the file explorer
__________________
f4l0
Developer of Simshaker for Aviators

Feel the brrrrttt:
[Official] SimShaker for Aviators Forums thread at ED forums
SimShaker blog - transfer game effects into the real world
SimShaker Soundmodule with Voicemeeter Banana Setup: http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?p=2469416

DCS Toggle Switches

System specs: Intel i7-8700k, 32 GB RAM, Nvidia 1070 GTX, lots of SSDs
Flightgear: Oculus Rift, Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Cougar MFDs, Jetseat, Bass shaker
f4l0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 01:27 PM   #19
GregP
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fairfax, VA, USA
Posts: 908
Default

This is simply brilliant. I've used JSGME for many years now and it does get confusing when I've got 20 icons for different games, at least four of which are for DCS alone. Thanks for doing this!
__________________
i5-2500K @ 4.8 GHz / Asus P8P67 Pro / 16GB DDR3-1600 / GTX 1080 Ti / Sound Blaster Z / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / TrackIR5 / MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals / Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog + MFDs / CH Products Throttle Quadrant / X-Keys XK-80 / X-Keys Professional / Panasonic TC-58AX800U 58" 4K TV

DCS Startup Videos
GregP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 02:18 PM   #20
Aviators
Senior Member
 
Aviators's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,091
Default

Great!! Thanks
__________________
www.amvi.it
Aviators is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:29 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.