Building / Trees Pre-Loading - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2018, 05:29 AM   #1
Avio
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 222
Default Building / Trees Pre-Loading

I have maxed out the needed sliders (see screenshot) but buildings and some trees in NTTR in the distance seem to load only when flying and approaching nearer to them.

This poses a problem when trying to using targeting pod from far away (eg in A-10C) as objects just would not show up till way near.

Should I set anything differently?

Also, reflections of mountains in lake water flicker quite a lot as I fly around the lake. Anyway to stop the flickering / shimmering?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_180615_131856.png
Views:	146
Size:	1.41 MB
ID:	187582  
Avio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 05:36 AM   #2
RAAF_TINDAL
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Northern Territory
Posts: 6
Default

I would suggest upping your view distance should you want LODs to come in a little earlier. Will also extend the overall viewing range of the player.

Can hit FPS pretty hard though depending, but I run similar settings with Extreme viewing distance on a 1080 no problem.
__________________

U28D590 @ 3840x2160 | 4670k 4.5 | Strix 1080 8GB | 8GB DDR3 1600 | 2TB SSHD + 3 x 240GB SSD | Saitek X56
RAAF_TINDAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 05:50 AM   #3
Avio
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 222
Default

Strangely in Cacasus region, trees and even the smallest building / ground objects seem to load in even when very far away.

By the way, there is a lot of flickering / shimmering of shadows from trees, etc., when viewed from some distance away. Anyway to get rid of this shimmering?
Avio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 07:03 AM   #4
RAAF_TINDAL
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Northern Territory
Posts: 6
Default

I haven't seen any noticeable shadow flicker except on certain parts of the carrier / ships at sea. The ocean reflections seem a little too intense which produces the flickering on horizon / where ships are.. I think it's just the low res reflection, you could probably find a way to manually increase the quality of the reflections but I wouldn't have a clue to be honest.

2.5 is still WIP and I'm sure the water / shadows will receive further attention in the near future.
__________________

U28D590 @ 3840x2160 | 4670k 4.5 | Strix 1080 8GB | 8GB DDR3 1600 | 2TB SSHD + 3 x 240GB SSD | Saitek X56
RAAF_TINDAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 07:37 AM   #5
RAAF_TINDAL
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Northern Territory
Posts: 6
Default

I just noticed you have flat terrain shadows on, switching this to ''Default'' should help with flickering shadows. Turning up overall shadow quality will help as well, I would turn the AA down to help with frames too.

The built in MSAA hits pretty hard, I personally use nVidia FXAA/MSAA as well as the AF too. Helps with performance.
__________________

U28D590 @ 3840x2160 | 4670k 4.5 | Strix 1080 8GB | 8GB DDR3 1600 | 2TB SSHD + 3 x 240GB SSD | Saitek X56
RAAF_TINDAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 05:22 AM   #6
Avio
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 222
Default

Tried various settings but still the shadows flicker especially from a distance away. Guess would have to make do with it.
Avio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 07:34 PM   #7
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 4,850
Default

I have turned MSAA OFF and went with SSAA 1.5x. It delivers better fps and a much much better quality picture for things further than 3-5km away.


Give it a try.



*** It's either MSAA -or- SSAA - Do not enable BOTH !
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3000/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 02:34 AM   #8
Avio
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 222
Default

Okay will give SSAA 1.5x a try. Thanks.
Avio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 09:27 AM   #9
Goa
Member
 
Goa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BitMaster View Post
I have turned MSAA OFF and went with SSAA 1.5x. It delivers better fps and a much much better quality picture for things further than 3-5km away.


Give it a try.



*** It's either MSAA -or- SSAA - Do not enable BOTH !
hI mAN,

according to one of the latest patch SSAA is not being rendered for resolutions above 1080p and I know you're playing in 2k@1440p am I correct?

So in your opinion is the SSAA still woking for our resolutions???
It doesnt seem like that to me
__________________
  • CPU : Intel i7 8700k@5.0ghz cooled by Noctua NH-D15 / Motherboard:Asorck Z370 Taichi / RAM: 32GB GSkill TridentZ @3600mhz / SSD: 500GB Nvme Samsung 970 evo+ 500GB Samsung 850 evo / GPU:Asus geforce strix O.C 1080TI / Monitor: Asus PG278QR 144HZ / Trackir 5 proclip/ TM Warthdog Hotas /TM TFFRP rudder /Case: Fractal Design R6 Define black
Goa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 10:57 AM   #10
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 4,850
Default

It still works..or my eyes need 5 dioptrin glasses.


I checked with and w/o and with MSAA, you clearly see the difference, at least I think i do LoL
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5.2G_delidded - 32GB 3000/3600MHz - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon 2050/12006- 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:39 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.