Dummies Guide for the “MonitorSetup.lua“ - Page 10 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2013, 09:44 PM   #91
Steve.Boyer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Reputation power: 0
Steve.Boyer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Peter Please forgive me,I don't wont to waste any of your time,and I thank you again for all your help that I have seen you do for others and now me over the years. I updated my reader and now I have your instructions printed,and I believe i'll be able to work with them and learn. Thank you again,and please forgive me.
Steve.Boyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 02:14 AM   #92
Snacko
Member
 
Snacko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Posts: 920
Reputation power: 13
Snacko has a spectacular aura aboutSnacko has a spectacular aura aboutSnacko has a spectacular aura aboutSnacko has a spectacular aura about
Default

I'm not sure what's wrong here as this seems pretty basic. I have a 1920x1200 primary monitor with a 1280x1024 to the right of it. I am new to this multi-monitor setup, but I think I set it up all correctly as you can see below. (I followed the MonitorsSetup.lua Dummy Guide) But when I load a Ka-50 mission I get DCS.exe crashing every time I try it. I have set the resolution in graphic options to 3200x1200.

Code:
_  = function(p) return p; end;
name = _('My Settings');
Description = 'My configuration'
Viewports =
{ 
     Center =   -- This is the Camera of the rendered in-game world.
                -- What you see and everything behind the next bracket is controlling to this view-port.
     {
          x = 0;  -- Left/Upper corner will start at this X Point inside your set-in-game resolution.
          y = 0;  -- Left/Upper corner will start at this Y Point inside your set-in-game resolution.
          width = 1920;    -- Width  of the "Center"-view port inside the in-game resolution.
          height = 1200;  -- Height of the "Center"-view port inside the in-game resolution.
          viewDx = 0;  -- Horiz. default view-point direction
          viewDy = 0;  -- Vert.  default view-point direction
          aspect = 1920/1200;  -- screen.width/screen.height by default.
     }
}

Shkval =  -- or also LEFT_MFCD =
-- ratio 4:3
{
     x = 1920;
     y = 432;
     width = 448;
     height = 336;
}

ABRIS = -- OR ALSO RIGHT_MFCD =
-- ratio 3:4
{
     x = 2560;
     y = 0;
     width = 576;
     height = 768;
}

GUI =
{
     x = 1920;
     y = 0;
     width = 1280;
     height = 1024;
}

UIMainView = GUI
__________________
- ҉ - My Computer: - ҉ -
Intel I7-6700K 4.00 ghz (OC'ed @ 4.8ghz) ││ Asus Maximus VIII Extreme ││ G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200 ││ Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate 360MM
GeForce GTX 980 4gb ││ Corsair 850watt ││ 2x SanDisk 250gb(SSDs Raid0) ││ 2x WD 300gb ││ 1x WD 1tb ││ 3x Acer 28" ││ 1x 28" Touchscreen

- ҉ - Blackshark Cockpit Trainer - ҉ -
-- Thread -- ♥ Download
Snacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 07:02 AM   #93
PeterP
Veteran
 
PeterP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany / UTC+1
Posts: 5,183
Reputation power: 98
PeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to behold
Default

Your Monitorsetup.lua is legit.

Post also you options.lua.
__________________


Last edited by PeterP; 08-27-2013 at 07:49 AM.
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 01:51 PM   #94
Snacko
Member
 
Snacko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Posts: 920
Reputation power: 13
Snacko has a spectacular aura aboutSnacko has a spectacular aura aboutSnacko has a spectacular aura aboutSnacko has a spectacular aura about
Default

Do you mean the options.lua that is in my ..\Users\Andy\Saved Games\DCS\Config here it is:

Code:
options = 
{
    ["difficulty"] = 
    {
        ["padlock"] = false,
        ["easyRadar"] = false,
        ["miniHUD"] = false,
        ["birds"] = 0,
        ["optionsView"] = "optview_all",
        ["permitCrash"] = false,
        ["immortal"] = false,
        ["easyCommunication"] = false,
        ["reports"] = true,
        ["radio"] = false,
        ["labels"] = true,
        ["map"] = true,
        ["easyFlight"] = false,
        ["cockpitLanguage"] = "english",
        ["units"] = "imperial",
        ["userSnapView"] = true,
        ["tips"] = true,
        ["externalViews"] = true,
        ["iconsTheme"] = "nato",
        ["fuel"] = false,
        ["weapons"] = false,
        ["setGlobal"] = true,
        ["geffect"] = "realistic",
    }, -- end of ["difficulty"]
    ["graphics"] = 
    {
        ["multiMonitorSetup"] = "mysettings",
        ["color"] = "32",
        ["preloadRadius"] = 41264,
        ["heatBlr"] = 1,
        ["scenes"] = "high",
        ["water"] = 0,
        ["fullScreen"] = true,
        ["disableAero"] = true,
        ["visibRange"] = "High",
        ["treesVisibility"] = 5067,
        ["aspect"] = 2.6666666666667,
        ["haze"] = 1,
        ["HDR"] = 3,
        ["TranspSSAA"] = true,
        ["textures"] = 2,
        ["cockpitShadows"] = true,
        ["shadows"] = 2,
        ["effects"] = 3,
        ["MSAA"] = 5,
        ["height"] = 1200,
        ["sync"] = false,
        ["shadowTree"] = true,
        ["civTraffic"] = "high",
        ["width"] = 3200,
        ["clutterMaxDistance"] = 100,
        ["lights"] = 2,
    }, -- end of ["graphics"]
    ["plugins"] = 
    {
        ["Ka-50"] = 
        {
            ["altTrimmingMethod"] = false,
        }, -- end of ["Ka-50"]
        ["UH-1H"] = 
        {
            ["UHRudderTrimmer"] = true,
            ["autoPilot"] = true,
            ["altUHTrimmingMethod"] = false,
            ["UHTrackIRAimingDisable"] = true,
            ["weapTooltips"] = true,
        }, -- end of ["UH-1H"]
    }, -- end of ["plugins"]
    ["views"] = 
    {
        ["cockpit"] = 
        {
            ["mirrors"] = true,
            ["reflections"] = false,
            ["russianHud"] = false,
            ["avionics"] = 1,
        }, -- end of ["cockpit"]
    }, -- end of ["views"]
    ["sound"] = 
    {
        ["world"] = -3,
        ["radioSpeech"] = true,
        ["cockpit"] = -3,
        ["volume"] = -3,
        ["headphones"] = -3,
        ["music"] = -100,
        ["subtitles"] = true,
        ["gui"] = -15,
    }, -- end of ["sound"]
    ["miscellaneous"] = 
    {
        ["Coordinate_Display"] = "Lat Long",
        ["accidental_failures"] = false,
        ["headmove"] = true,
        ["force_feedback_enabled"] = false,
        ["f5_nearest_ac"] = true,
        ["f11_free_camera"] = true,
        ["synchronize_controls"] = false,
        ["f10_awacs"] = true,
    }, -- end of ["miscellaneous"]
} -- end of options
__________________
- ҉ - My Computer: - ҉ -
Intel I7-6700K 4.00 ghz (OC'ed @ 4.8ghz) ││ Asus Maximus VIII Extreme ││ G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200 ││ Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate 360MM
GeForce GTX 980 4gb ││ Corsair 850watt ││ 2x SanDisk 250gb(SSDs Raid0) ││ 2x WD 300gb ││ 1x WD 1tb ││ 3x Acer 28" ││ 1x 28" Touchscreen

- ҉ - Blackshark Cockpit Trainer - ҉ -
-- Thread -- ♥ Download
Snacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 02:19 PM   #95
PeterP
Veteran
 
PeterP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany / UTC+1
Posts: 5,183
Reputation power: 98
PeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to behold
Default

Un-Check "Full screen" in the Options>System Menu.
And also un-check "disable aero interface - this will probably higher your frames when in windowed mode.
__________________


Last edited by PeterP; 08-27-2013 at 02:30 PM.
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 02:32 PM   #96
Snacko
Member
 
Snacko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Posts: 920
Reputation power: 13
Snacko has a spectacular aura aboutSnacko has a spectacular aura aboutSnacko has a spectacular aura aboutSnacko has a spectacular aura about
Default

Thank you so much!!!

That fixed it! Rep inbound m8!
__________________
- ҉ - My Computer: - ҉ -
Intel I7-6700K 4.00 ghz (OC'ed @ 4.8ghz) ││ Asus Maximus VIII Extreme ││ G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200 ││ Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate 360MM
GeForce GTX 980 4gb ││ Corsair 850watt ││ 2x SanDisk 250gb(SSDs Raid0) ││ 2x WD 300gb ││ 1x WD 1tb ││ 3x Acer 28" ││ 1x 28" Touchscreen

- ҉ - Blackshark Cockpit Trainer - ҉ -
-- Thread -- ♥ Download
Snacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 02:19 AM   #97
furball42
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 13
Reputation power: 0
furball42 is on a distinguished road
Default

I have tried the first lua modify as per your Dummies Guide. My first problem is that I do not see the my monitor option come up in the Monitors setup in the game. What am I doing wrong?
furball42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 05:54 AM   #98
PeterP
Veteran
 
PeterP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany / UTC+1
Posts: 5,183
Reputation power: 98
PeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to behold
Default

That's a indication for a broken script with a invalid syntax.
Please check your *.lua for typos.
__________________


Last edited by PeterP; 12-09-2013 at 06:02 AM.
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 12:47 PM   #99
furball42
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 13
Reputation power: 0
furball42 is on a distinguished road
Default

PeterP,
All I changed was the name of the .lua, and so far no love (as in, the file does not come up in the monitor set up option in game). I am logged in as Admin., Going to the minitor set up via this path: Program Files, Eagle Dynamics, DCS World, Config, Monitor set up and the new .Lua is:_ =
_ = function(p) return p; end;
name = _('2 Screen');
Description = 'Two monitor configuration'
Viewports =
{
Center =
{
x = 0;
y = 0;
width = screen.width;
height = screen.height;
viewDx = 0;
viewDy = 0;
aspect = screen.aspect;
}
}

I am modifying the 1 Camera file under monitor set up and saving it as another name in the same file using Notebook++ .
Is there another Monitor setup page that I need to be looking at?
Sorry if it seems that this idiot can't follow the Dummies Guide. Any ideas on what I may be doing wrong?
Looks like the spacing is weird in this screen, but it looks just the same as the original file 1 camera when opened in Notebook++.
Thanks for any ideas and help.

Last edited by furball42; 12-10-2013 at 12:52 PM.
furball42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 01:14 PM   #100
Psyrixx
Member
 
Psyrixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 497
Reputation power: 11
Psyrixx is just really nicePsyrixx is just really nicePsyrixx is just really nicePsyrixx is just really nicePsyrixx is just really nicePsyrixx is just really nicePsyrixx is just really nicePsyrixx is just really nicePsyrixx is just really nicePsyrixx is just really nicePsyrixx is just really nice
Default

Code:
_ = 
_ = function(p) return p; end;
name = _('2 Screen');
Description = 'Two monitor configuration'

Viewports =
{
    Center =
    {
        x = 0;
        y = 0;
        width = screen.width;
        height = screen.height;
        viewDx = 0;
        viewDy = 0;
        aspect = screen.aspect;
    }
}
If your code is indeed as above (since this is what you pasted, albeit without the [code] tags around it), then the first line, "_=", is breaking the script. Make sure the first line is "_ = function(p) return p; end;".
Psyrixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:50 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.