Easiest way to get air to air radar back to 'default'? - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2020, 03:36 AM   #11
LastRifleRound
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 867
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
The Hornet supports different radar settings for each A2A weapon. You can only go into ACM by being into AA mode. You can only go into AA mode by selecting an A2A weapon with the stick or by pressing the A/A button in the cockpit, which selects the AIM-9 automatically.

The AIM-9 defaults to a 4B, 80 degree azimuth pattern. That's why, when you exited ACM, you were at this pattern. Your 1B, 140 degree from previously was overwritten.

You can choose your settings for each A2A missile by selecting it, choosing bars, azimuth, timeout etc and then pressing SET. After that, every time you return to that particular weapon, you'll have these settings. So you can set up 1B, 140 azimuth scan for the AIM-9 (or all A2A weapons) if you want and save it.
I didn't know this and it is extremely useful, thanks
LastRifleRound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 09:04 AM   #12
_Spad_
Junior Member
 
_Spad_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Default

I also thought pressing the undesignate button twice returned you to RWS mode if you were in ACM mode. This, however, hasn't worked for me since the last update.
__________________
_Spad_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 09:52 AM   #13
imacken
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 5,172
Default

Just following up on this a bit.
I'm confused by the SET function. If I SET a weapon in RWS to say, 1 bar and 140 degrees, if I go to another weapon the bar/azimuth changes and if I then go back to the original weapon, it retains the parameters I SET. That is all good.
However, if I change a weapon to TWS (from RWS) the parameters change but when I go back to TWS, the parameters do not return to what was SET for that weapon.
How is this supposed to work?
__________________
Intel i9 10900K 5.1GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z490-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · 2 x Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · Thrustmaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · Thrustmaster F/A-18 Hornet Grip · Virpil WarBRD Base · Virpil Throttle MT-50 CM2 · Virpil Alpha Grip · Virpil MongoosT-50CM2 Grip · HP Reverb Pro
imacken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 11:57 AM   #14
Habu_69
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA VA
Posts: 1,101
Default

I believe the radar "SET" function is one of those that can be pre-programmed by the pilot and entered into the MC by the data cartridge (which we do not currently have).
Habu_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 12:36 PM   #15
falcon_120
Senior Member
 
falcon_120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Barcelona,Spain
Posts: 1,508
Default

The set function is really helpful and I use it a lot, i have my preferred setting for Sidewinders and for Amraams, so when i exit ACM mode through the NWS button i normally go to Amraam which is my preferred scan pattern.
falcon_120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 01:07 PM   #16
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
Just following up on this a bit.
I'm confused by the SET function. If I SET a weapon in RWS to say, 1 bar and 140 degrees, if I go to another weapon the bar/azimuth changes and if I then go back to the original weapon, it retains the parameters I SET. That is all good.
However, if I change a weapon to TWS (from RWS) the parameters change but when I go back to TWS, the parameters do not return to what was SET for that weapon.
How is this supposed to work?
That seems to be a separate issue, with RWS not returning to its own pattern once you exit TWS. Again, I don't know how it works in the real jet, but I'd imagine that since you're exiting TWS, the azimuth and bar constraints should be lifted and you should return to what RWS previously used. So you have a point here.

A workaround is to switch back to RWS, switch to another A2A weapon and then back to your previous one, to bring up its SET pattern.
__________________
The vCVW-17 is looking for Hornet and Tomcat pilots and RIOs
vCVW-17 Discord: https://discord.gg/u4ETeJV

Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700K, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro, 970 Evo Plus, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum|
F/A-18C ,
AV-8B, JF-17, A-10C, M-2000C, F-16C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 05:57 PM   #17
imacken
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 5,172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harker View Post
That seems to be a separate issue, with RWS not returning to its own pattern once you exit TWS. Again, I don't know how it works in the real jet, but I'd imagine that since you're exiting TWS, the azimuth and bar constraints should be lifted and you should return to what RWS previously used. So you have a point here.

A workaround is to switch back to RWS, switch to another A2A weapon and then back to your previous one, to bring up its SET pattern.
Thanks again. Should this be reported as a bug do you think?
__________________
Intel i9 10900K 5.1GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z490-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · 2 x Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · Thrustmaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · Thrustmaster F/A-18 Hornet Grip · Virpil WarBRD Base · Virpil Throttle MT-50 CM2 · Virpil Alpha Grip · Virpil MongoosT-50CM2 Grip · HP Reverb Pro
imacken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 06:01 PM   #18
Harker
DCS Ground Crew
 
Harker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
Thanks again. Should this be reported as a bug do you think?
I haven't come across any definitive piece of info that can support this. It's just an educated guess on my part. Still, that might get the devs to give it a second look.
__________________
The vCVW-17 is looking for Hornet and Tomcat pilots and RIOs
vCVW-17 Discord: https://discord.gg/u4ETeJV

Z370 Aorus Gaming 7, i7-8700K, RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4, 960 Pro, 970 Evo Plus, WD Gold 6TB, Seasonic Prime Platinum|
F/A-18C ,
AV-8B, JF-17, A-10C, M-2000C, F-16C, F-14, BS2, UH-1H, P-51D, Sptifire, FC3
Harker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:47 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.