F14 noob, radio's to contact SC THR Tower (and more) - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2020, 05:03 PM   #1
majapahit
Senior Member
 
majapahit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NL
Posts: 1,547
Default F14 noob, radio's to contact SC THR Tower (and more)

(Finally started w. F14, I had for ages)

Radio's weird, set up a mission, tested radio SC THR freq 225 and 127.5 AM

PILOT 159-radio set preset channel 1 to 225 in ME
- PILOT top remote defaults to (preset?) 243 - wht freq is that, not in the presets
- PILOT preset channel select button will not rotate, so no presets for PILOT radio that is stuck in 243?
- PILOT radio so only works manual?

- PILOT radio cannot do 127.5?? (Anything below 225)

RIO 182-radio tested channel 1 set to 225 and 127.5 'AM' in ME corresponding to boat
- this "FM" dropdown in ME does not work?

Jester
JESTER menu won't switch AM to FM? All ATC freq. are AM?

In all practicality the procedure for recovery is
- JETSER menu set TACAN to boat, RIO TACAN is the default TACAN
- PILOT sets ILS (is this necessary for ACL landing?)
- JESTER menu set to boat as datalink HOST for ACL landing
- PILOT uses RIO-radio for comms if boat freq. is 127.5

But for RIO radio if freq. is 127.5, JESTER is not really needed for recovery, what does RealLife do, who does comms?

Resume:
PILOT radio not fully implemented, use RIO radio instead?
Set TACAN in PILOT seat in VR is a pain in the butt, so use JESTER and use his, right.

thx
__________________
Spoiler:
| VR goggles | Autopilot panel | Headtracker | TM HOTAS | G920 HOTAS | MS FFB 2 | Throttle Quadrants | 8600K | GTX 1080 | 64GB RAM| Win 10 x64 | Voicerecognition | 50" UHD TV monitor | 40" 1080p TV monitor | 2x 24" 1080p side monitors | 24" 1080p touchscreen |
majapahit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2020, 09:04 PM   #2
draconus
DCS Ground Crew
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,400
Default

Pilot radio works but the mode selection is bugged currently. And yes, it's UHF only. For VHF use RIO radio.
https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=285491
__________________
G4560@3,5GHz/DDR4-16GB/GTX970-4GB/SATA3-SSD, Win7-64, 27"LCD-FullHD, T16000M HOTAS, customTiR
Aircraft: FC3, F-14B
/ Supercarrier / Maps: NTTR, PG
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 03:22 AM   #3
IronMike
3rd Party Developer
 
IronMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austria
Posts: 2,418
Default

Guard and Preset are reversed, we caught that too late. This is already fixed internally and will be in the next patch. Our apologies for that.
__________________
Heatblur Simulations

Please feel free to contact me anytime, either via PM here, on the forums, or via email through the contact form on our homepage.

http://www.heatblur.com/

https://www.facebook.com/heatblur/
IronMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 06:41 AM   #4
majapahit
Senior Member
 
majapahit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NL
Posts: 1,547
Default

OK thx
__________________
Spoiler:
| VR goggles | Autopilot panel | Headtracker | TM HOTAS | G920 HOTAS | MS FFB 2 | Throttle Quadrants | 8600K | GTX 1080 | 64GB RAM| Win 10 x64 | Voicerecognition | 50" UHD TV monitor | 40" 1080p TV monitor | 2x 24" 1080p side monitors | 24" 1080p touchscreen |
majapahit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:39 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.