X52 Pro -- button and wheel malfunction - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2015, 02:57 AM   #1
enolastraight
ED Translator
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 4
Default X52 Pro -- button and wheel malfunction

Hello everyone.
(I wish I didn't have to make my first post a request for help of all things, but this is driving me batty, and nobody else seems to have written about this before.)

Just two months ago I got my first HOTAS setup and jumped into DCS. Besides the initial nightmare of driver installation, everything worked fine, until recently. In the past few weeks I noticed some occasional malfunctions, mostly on the throttle component. Namely: the scroll wheel (which I've bound to the su-25 laser rangefinder/su-27 radar illumination) occasionally either inputs only scroll down, or continuously inputs scroll up (resulting in the aforementioned systems rapidly toggling on/off.) the other malfunction is with the fire D button, which when pressed once does a rapid double-click, or does not register the button press at all. When held down the signal gets cut off so the input is like I'm doing multiple presses in rapid succession. (so when bound to the shkval camera lock for example I find myself having to press multiple times)

Has anyone else experienced these issues? Is it possible that this is just a result of bad wiring or power issues with my USB ports, something that can be fixed at home? I've written to madcatz tech support and frankly I'd RMA if I could, but I happen to live in the Philippines and had to ship this all the way from the US, so I'm not really sure if I even have the option of sending it back for a replacement.

I would be very grateful for any information or assistance on this issue.

Last edited by enolastraight; 05-04-2015 at 02:59 AM.
enolastraight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 07:24 AM   #2
Devrim
Veteran
 
Devrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Turkey
Posts: 4,273
Default

If it's not serious hardware failure, probably it's just a dust issue I think (and hope). Because I had that.

There're cleaners in the market, you can open it and use spray on them, but very little touches... or if you have a friend that can do stuff like these, he can clean switches.
__________________
i7-2600 @3.4GHz | Corsair Veng. 16GB @1600MHz. | MSI nVidia GTX970 | Samsung 850EVO 256GB SSD (Win7HPx64)
Samsung 27" LS27D590P & Samsung 20" SyncMaster206BW | Saitek X-55 Rhino & Rudder | Trustmaster MFD Cougars | Logitech G13 & G230 & G510 & SwitchPanel | TIR5

MY MODS | MY CONTROLLER PROFILE
Devrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 01:01 PM   #3
enolastraight
ED Translator
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the input. I do hope that's the case. It does seem likely; I have a bunch of cats at home, and their fur is pretty much everywbere.
enolastraight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
buttons, hotas, malfunction, saitek, x52

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:20 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.