Gets stuck in grass. - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2019, 07:29 AM   #1
VampireNZ
Senior Member
 
VampireNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,540
Default Gets stuck in grass.

Land helicopter on the grass....can't take off again. Seriously guys?
__________________
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha| i7-6700K @ 4.60GHz | nVidia GTX 1080ti Strix OC 11GB @ 2075MHz| 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz DDR4 CL14 |
Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2 SSD | Corsair Force LE 480GB SSD | Windows 10 64-Bit |
TM Warthog with FSSB R3 Lighting Base | VKB Gunfighter Pro + MCG | TM MFD's | Oculus Rift S | Jetseat FSE

VampireNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 08:31 AM   #2
Holbeach
Senior Member
 
Holbeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Norfolk, England.
Posts: 1,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VampireNZ View Post
Land helicopter on the grass....can't take off again. Seriously guys?

I've just been doing exactly that, with no problems.
You need to be more specific.


..
__________________
I7 2600K @ 3.8, CoolerMaster 212X, EVGA GTX 1070 8gb. RAM 16gb Corsair, 1kw PSU. 2 x WD SSD. 1 x Samsung M2 NVMe. 3 x HDD. Saitek X-52. Saitek Pro Flight pedals. CH Flight Sim yoke. TrackIR 5. Win 10 Pro. IIyama 1080p. MSAA x 2, SSAA x 1.5. Settings High. Harrier/Spitfire/Beaufighter/The Channel, fanboy..
..



Holbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 09:20 AM   #3
VampireNZ
Senior Member
 
VampireNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,540
Default

I gently land helicopter on grass - then apply full collective, and go nowhere.
__________________
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha| i7-6700K @ 4.60GHz | nVidia GTX 1080ti Strix OC 11GB @ 2075MHz| 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz DDR4 CL14 |
Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2 SSD | Corsair Force LE 480GB SSD | Windows 10 64-Bit |
TM Warthog with FSSB R3 Lighting Base | VKB Gunfighter Pro + MCG | TM MFD's | Oculus Rift S | Jetseat FSE

VampireNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 09:35 AM   #4
swatstar98
Member
 
swatstar98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 655
Default

If you keep reporting bugs WITHOUT a track is useless. No way to test or replicate it.
__________________
"parts are falling off the french helicopter.. IT IS A MISSILE YOU IMBECILE" - Rober -
swatstar98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 09:47 AM   #5
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 22,776
Default

Ensure you are not using any unofficial mods and run a cleanup and repair

Then please post a track showing the problem, it will help the dev team

thanks
__________________
BIGNEWY
Community Manager Eagle Dynamics
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA MSI RTX 2080Ti VENTUS GP, Intel® i9-10900K 3.70GHz, 5.30GHz Turbo, Corsair Hydro Series H150i Pro, 32GB DDR @3000, ASUS ROG Strix Z490-F Gaming, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, VIVE Cosmos

BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 09:57 AM   #6
Holbeach
Senior Member
 
Holbeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Norfolk, England.
Posts: 1,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VampireNZ View Post
I gently land helicopter on grass - then apply full collective, and go nowhere.

You need about 60% collective, to get a fully loaded Gazelle off the deck.
I certainly wouldn't be using full collective, which would only kill the engine.

Check your bindings. Make sure it's not centred.
..
__________________
I7 2600K @ 3.8, CoolerMaster 212X, EVGA GTX 1070 8gb. RAM 16gb Corsair, 1kw PSU. 2 x WD SSD. 1 x Samsung M2 NVMe. 3 x HDD. Saitek X-52. Saitek Pro Flight pedals. CH Flight Sim yoke. TrackIR 5. Win 10 Pro. IIyama 1080p. MSAA x 2, SSAA x 1.5. Settings High. Harrier/Spitfire/Beaufighter/The Channel, fanboy..
..




Last edited by Holbeach; 09-11-2019 at 10:00 AM.
Holbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 10:16 AM   #7
VampireNZ
Senior Member
 
VampireNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holbeach View Post
You need about 60% collective, to get a fully loaded Gazelle off the deck.
I certainly wouldn't be using full collective, which would only kill the engine.

Check your bindings. Make sure it's not centred.
..
Yes - I am aware of that.....if you think about it, I had to takeoff in the helicopter to be able to land it somewhere else

I implied I can slowly increase collective to maxmimum position, but still stuck in the mud. Happened multiple times, but I have also just landed and taken off from grass just fine - so maybe it was just a few strange places... I right beside a road on one attempt.
But hey - no track, it didn't happen apparently. Clearly I have no idea what I am saying and need to prove it.
__________________
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha| i7-6700K @ 4.60GHz | nVidia GTX 1080ti Strix OC 11GB @ 2075MHz| 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz DDR4 CL14 |
Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2 SSD | Corsair Force LE 480GB SSD | Windows 10 64-Bit |
TM Warthog with FSSB R3 Lighting Base | VKB Gunfighter Pro + MCG | TM MFD's | Oculus Rift S | Jetseat FSE

VampireNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 10:30 AM   #8
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 7,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VampireNZ View Post
... Clearly I have no idea what I am saying and need to prove it.
Well, are you ranting or reporting a bug? It is not proof whats needed, its clues for the developer to reproduce the bug.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - nVidia GTX1070ti - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 10:38 AM   #9
Holbeach
Senior Member
 
Holbeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Norfolk, England.
Posts: 1,192
Default

You need to save a track file, in the debrief screen, then upload it, for somebody to analyze it, when reporting a possible bug of this nature.


..
__________________
I7 2600K @ 3.8, CoolerMaster 212X, EVGA GTX 1070 8gb. RAM 16gb Corsair, 1kw PSU. 2 x WD SSD. 1 x Samsung M2 NVMe. 3 x HDD. Saitek X-52. Saitek Pro Flight pedals. CH Flight Sim yoke. TrackIR 5. Win 10 Pro. IIyama 1080p. MSAA x 2, SSAA x 1.5. Settings High. Harrier/Spitfire/Beaufighter/The Channel, fanboy..
..




Last edited by Holbeach; 09-11-2019 at 10:42 AM.
Holbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 03:55 PM   #10
xvii-Dietrich
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Pohjoiskalotti
Posts: 564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VampireNZ View Post
Land helicopter on the grass....can't take off again. Seriously guys?

I've just done some testing for you and you can certainly land on grass and take off again.

Attached is a track where I do exactly that.

I start at an airbase in a fully-loaded Gazelle, fly out to the nearby field, land (rather heavily *blush*), take off again, and fly back to the base.

So it definitely works.

As other have suggested, please post a track so we can take a look and help you out. Sometimes there will be something not set in the cockpit, or you are landing too hard, or maybe you are new to helicopters and need some tips. Alternatively, maybe you have found some specific terrain or conditions or circumstances where it really does get stuck. In which case, if we can replicate the problem it will help get it fixed much sooner. Thanks!
Attached Files
File Type: trk grasslanding.trk (462.5 KB, 73 views)
xvii-Dietrich is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:54 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.