3 SSD Limit - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2018, 09:22 AM   #1
Brixmis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Gone
Posts: 2,198
Default 3 SSD Limit

Hi All

I am having problems with my PC and it looks like I will have to do a complete reinstall again.

I don't know why I am having issues, though, but one thing that may be a problem is that I am using 4 SSDs. I have an Asus Z97-P motherboard and in the manual it says I can only use 3 SSD. It doesn't say why and I have scoured the internet looking for an answer to that and found nothing at all.

With my old set up, I had 3 evo 850 SSD and it worked well. I then added the 4th, which is an M2 style that slots into the motherboard, rather than a SATA slot - a Crucial stick. All working fine together.

If having 4 SSD is what is causing problems, it's easy to fix - but I don't know the reason for the maximum of 3. Do they simply mean that any more than 3 won't perform optimally? I really can't see how having more would be a problem otherwise.

I could just carry on and ignore those issues and hope for the best - but I have a nasty feeling that one day in the near future it will come back and bite me. So I'm thinking a complete clean out and reinstall is the way to go.

But I keep coming back to that 3 SSD limit thing. Anyone got any idea why it's there? And what the consequences of more SSD are?

Last edited by Brixmis; 01-17-2018 at 12:46 PM. Reason: pared down to pertinent parts
Brixmis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 10:50 AM   #2
Brixmis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Gone
Posts: 2,198
Default

I'm reinstalling anyway - all deactivated/backed-up etc and I'll wait for 2.5 before reactivating anything again.

Still keen to hear any info on why it's a max of 3 SSD though.

Last edited by Brixmis; 01-17-2018 at 12:47 PM.
Brixmis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 02:17 PM   #3
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 6,623
Default

i read your manual, it doesnt mention the usual limitation as with more recent chipsets, for example my z270 + z370 boards can have 6 sata + 1 nvme____or___ 4 sata + 2 nvme.

it should work !

if, than make sure you use sata 1 + 2 + 3 + nvme.....not 1 + 2or3 + 4 + nvme, maybe they just forgot to mention that. leave #4 free and check.

also, is the m2 a sata or nvme ? sata will share conns with one of the 4 standard sata, nvme may run alone but kill a pci slot, or two of them


sadly, the spec page at asus for your board is blank, very strange
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5G_delidded - 32GB - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon retrofitted EK-waterblock - 1x 960Evo 250GB - 3x Samsung 850/860Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 32GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 03:17 PM   #4
Brixmis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Gone
Posts: 2,198
Default

Thanks for the reply - yes, I am using 1,2 & 3 for my evo 850 SSDs and I have just reinstalled and so far no issues - so fingers crossed, it should be okay.

The M2 socket 3 SSD I am using as the Windows drive - it should be okay for this mobo, as it was the recommended option that I bought (using Crucial's own tool) - it's a type 2242 - apparently this is only supported by Rev.2 and up. All it seems to say about this SSD in the manual is that it can be used with a device in the PCIe slot for RAID.
I see the part about this slot being PCIe connected - so as you say, it probably disables one slot (though there is no info on that).

I have just had another look through the manual and the online info and I can't find the 3 SSD limit info - I know I did a lot of research before I bought the SSDs and again when I bought the socket 3 stick, because I don't have money to waste on stuff I can't use, and this definitely came up. I was going to simply take out my smallest evo 850 if there was a problem.

Anyway, thanks for looking - I'll keep an eye out and see if I come across that limit info again.
Brixmis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 03:35 PM   #5
Drag80
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Islamabad
Posts: 403
Default

You should be able to use as many ssds as there are sata ports in your motherboard. I am currently using 5 sata drives without issues.
Drag80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 04:31 PM   #6
Cibit
Veteran
 
Cibit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northumberland. UK
Posts: 4,168
Default

I am using 3 ssd's and 3 hdd's no space on the mobo for an optical drive though
Brix I have an expansion card for PCi in my old build that worked excellently for adding drives and giving 6Gb/s speeds (x58 has 3Gb/s sata1) They are remarkably cheap for a PC component and well worth the cost if your stuck
__________________
i5 8600k@5.2Ghz, Asus Prime A Z370, 32Gb DDR4 3000, GTX1080 SC, Oculus Rift CV1, Modded TM Warthog Modded X52 Collective, Jetseat, W10 Pro 64

Cibit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 04:51 PM   #7
Gearbox
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drag80 View Post
You should be able to use as many ssds as there are sata ports in your motherboard. I am currently using 5 sata drives without issues.
Most M.2 slot-equipped motherboards disable certain SATA ports when the M.2 slots are used.
Gearbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 06:57 PM   #8
Brixmis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Gone
Posts: 2,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cibit View Post
Brix I have an expansion card for PCi in my old build that worked excellently for adding drives and giving 6Gb/s speeds (x58 has 3Gb/s sata1) They are remarkably cheap for a PC component and well worth the cost if your stuck
Yeah, I was looking at those in case I couldn't use the 4 - but as it worked, I bought a 2TB SATA drive for the 4th SATA connector and now have more space than I can fill. SSD space is at a premium, though - I have a 120, two 240's and a 525GB SSD and it still isn't enough!

I just finished installing Win 10 again and so far so good - though there are still strange things happening, such as programs refusing to run that I never had issues with in the past (like Oculus Tray Tool is the latest)
Brixmis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 06:58 PM   #9
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 6,623
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gearbox View Post
Most M.2 slot-equipped motherboards disable certain SATA ports when the M.2 slots are used.
all recent z170, z270 z370 x370 b350 b250 at least do, if their sata is fully built on board.

too few pcie lanes
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5G_delidded - 32GB - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon retrofitted EK-waterblock - 1x 960Evo 250GB - 3x Samsung 850/860Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 32GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 07:53 PM   #10
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 4,618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gearbox View Post
Most M.2 slot-equipped motherboards disable certain SATA ports when the M.2 slots are used.

Yup, for my EVGA Z370 Classified, if the 2nd M.2 (for NVMe) is used, SATA 1 gets disabled.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:07 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.