Is it technically possible to make base textures better? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2019, 09:03 AM   #1
Gierasimov
Senior Member
 
Gierasimov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Undisclosed NATO country
Posts: 1,053
Question Is it technically possible to make base textures better?

Looking at this example, is it technically possible to use once tile of detailed texture instead of this unaligned mix of random texture patches to represent urban areas?

I am not talking about improving current maps, I am thinking of the future projects, many times it was mentioned that the size would be an issue, but I don't regard this as a valid reason as this can be scaled via options as we do with other aspects of rendering and also hardware is available.

It does even look not so great from the altitude so the benefit to those flying up in the air as well as mud movers and rotor heads could be significant.

Gierasimov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 03:41 PM   #2
GazAce
Member
 
GazAce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gierasimov View Post
Looking at this example, is it technically possible to use once tile of detailed texture instead of this unaligned mix of random texture patches to represent urban areas?

I am not talking about improving current maps, I am thinking of the future projects, many times it was mentioned that the size would be an issue, but I don't regard this as a valid reason as this can be scaled via options as we do with other aspects of rendering and also hardware is available.

It does even look not so great from the altitude so the benefit to those flying up in the air as well as mud movers and rotor heads could be significant.


Well, there goes the neighborhood.. yikes literally! lol
__________________
Intel Core i7-7700k 4.2 GHz / Asus Prime Z270-AR DDR4 M'b Aura Sync / G-Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 16GB kit x 2 - total 32GB Aura Sync / Asus ROG-STRIX-GTX 1080Ti 11GB Nvidia Aura Sync / S'sung SSD 500GB EVO / WD 3.5" Blue 2TB HDD / Corsair Crystal 570X Temp Tint Glass Mid Twr RGB Fan cooled (2 x fans added 1 cool, 1 extract) / Asus PG348 ROG 34" Curve G-SYNC 100Hz 3440x1440 UWide DP Mon / WIN HM 10 64bit / HOTAS TM Warthog Throttle & Stick / TrackIR5 ProClip / ViacomPro VA
GazAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 03:54 PM   #3
Ala13_ManOWar
Senior Member
 
Ala13_ManOWar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gierasimov View Post
Looking at this example, is it technically possible to use once tile of detailed texture instead of this unaligned mix of random texture patches to represent urban areas?
That looks more like some tilling error or textures bug. I think you'll be better saying coordinates of the place and posting a bug report.


S!
__________________
"I went into the British Army believing that if you want peace you must prepare for war. I believe now that if you prepare for war, you get war." -- Major-General Frederick B. Maurice
Ala13_ManOWar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 08:05 PM   #4
Gierasimov
Senior Member
 
Gierasimov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Undisclosed NATO country
Posts: 1,053
Default

Not really, its pretty much most of the places. It's not a bug, it's the feature...
Gierasimov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 04:24 AM   #5
KTFBGB
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Arizona
Posts: 294
Default

There is something wrong there on your side. I have never seen any thing like that on any map.
KTFBGB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 05:47 AM   #6
Fri13
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3,335
Default

That is the base texture, before any blending etc.

But IMHO the DCS terrain is still a very rough and empty. And what it's requiring is simply random generated ground clutter, a far more scattered forests, trees etc.
As when today Caucasus is like billiard table with few big forests here and there.

And what I mean by random generated ground clutter and terrain, is that mapper use a brush that randomly place trees, rocks, bushes etc on area that is painted. No individual placing than in cities and towns.

And then simply more advanced terrain engine with graphics engine that will change the visual objects amount and level based the camera speed and altitude. So if you fly high, all your visuals are blended more. A high magnification optics will render only that proportion at high objects count.

Replay etc where time is slowed or paused to take screenshots would render all at max detail.

This would mean that low flying helicopter at slow speed gets all maximum, while medium level high speed jet does get rougher blending.
__________________
i7-8700k, 32GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 2x 2080S SLI 8GB, Oculus Rift S.
i7-8700k, 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 1080Ti 11GB, 27" 4K, 65" HDR 4K.
Fri13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 10:04 AM   #7
Gierasimov
Senior Member
 
Gierasimov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Undisclosed NATO country
Posts: 1,053
Lightbulb Examples include detailed map boundaries as well.

Correct, it is from ME but still in the game is not much better. Initially, I thought it was due to the detailed area boundaries but no. Even Bandar Abbas and Khasab look like unfinished - some examples:



Bandar Abbas



Khasab



Just examples of how textures do not blend.

As I said, I am not treating this as a bug. It is what it is, but I wish future maps could be closer to what we see in Caucasus map where the base texture layer blends with detailed textures in a nicer way.

Looking at Syria map work in progress screenshots makes me think they don't have this problem, or at least that's how it looks.
Gierasimov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 05:18 PM   #8
schurem
Member
 
schurem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: nijmegen, the netherlands
Posts: 505
Default

Pfff yeah is not perfect. What is? There are worse things.
__________________
I7 4790K, 32GB, 1070, CV1, PointCTRL
schurem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 06:11 PM   #9
Gierasimov
Senior Member
 
Gierasimov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Undisclosed NATO country
Posts: 1,053
Cool Correct

Quote:
Originally Posted by schurem View Post
Pfff yeah is not perfect. What is? There are worse things.
They are, absolutely. This thread, however, is not about "worse things", it is specifically about DCS maps and texture alignment quality.

I can say, even more, the aim was to get technical remarks from a member of the ED team and not necesairy from the community.

Thanks for stopping by though.
Gierasimov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 06:28 PM   #10
razo+r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gierasimov View Post

I can say, even more, the aim was to get technical remarks from a member of the ED team
the possibility for this to happen is extremely small
razo+r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
map textures

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:48 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.