EE Lightning: Why we need it! - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2019, 08:06 AM   #1
Hummingbird
Senior Member
 
Hummingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2,938
Default EE Lightning: Why we need it!

Hummingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 09:05 AM   #2
eatthis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 70
Default

dcs NEEEEDS this and the 104
eatthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 12:42 PM   #3
Alicatt
Senior Member
 
Alicatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Eating in Eksel or ice cold in Alex
Posts: 1,008
Default

Absolutely, and the export model at that for the ground attack capability.





__________________
Sons of Dogs, Come Eat Flesh
Clan Cameron
Alicatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 02:50 PM   #4
Hummingbird
Senior Member
 
Hummingbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2,938
Default

I really want to fight against the MiG-21 in that thing!
Hummingbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 07:39 PM   #5
Wrightie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: West Cornwall
Posts: 41
Default

My most amazing memory of aviation was at Salmsbury airfield in Lancashire. I was at a families day as a child in the 80's. I was stood with my uncle on the tarmac at one end of the runway as a Lightning took off and went vertical with full afterburner above my head. It was the most incredible sight and that was it i was hooked. I'd buy this in a heartbeat.
Wrightie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 06:25 PM   #6
eatthis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 70
Default

BEAST of an airframe, garbage avionics lol
eatthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 06:33 PM   #7
Sirius
Member
 
Sirius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 609
Default

A lot of people underestimate how vital this could be as a base interceptor in our game against targets, especially high speed/alt targets. Could get this out to 50 nm quickly in a couple of minutes at angels 30, the climb rate is quite fascinating.
__________________
I no longer make flyable aircraft mods for the community.

Spoiler:

PC Specs: AMD Ryzen 5, AMD Radeon RX 580, 24 GB DDR4, 128 SSD, 2 TB HDD
Modules: A-4E, MiG-23UB | AV-8BNA V/STOL, A-10C, AJS-37, C-101, F-5E, F-14B, F-15C, F-86F, Ka-50, L-39, M-2000C, SA-342, Spitfire LF Mk. IX, Su-25A, Su-27, Su-33, UH-1H, Yak-52
Discord: Sirius#8952
Sirius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 09:30 PM   #8
Alicatt
Senior Member
 
Alicatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Eating in Eksel or ice cold in Alex
Posts: 1,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirius View Post
A lot of people underestimate how vital this could be as a base interceptor in our game against targets, especially high speed/alt targets. Could get this out to 50 nm quickly in a couple of minutes at angels 30, the climb rate is quite fascinating.
As long as you had a tanker waiting for you at angels 30


The lightning wasn't known for her long legs, even with one engine in idle it still didn't fly very far, and the over-wing tanks reduced her mach number to 0.93 as the aircraft ran out of control authority above that speed. There are a few tales of Lightnings being ferried to/from overseas and they had to get the tankers to slow down as the Lightnings could not keep up.

Yes a most interesting aircraft

Still, it is my favourite aircraft closely followed by the F-14.

Even for my small frame the cockpit is quite small and cramped, there is a height limit for pilots based on the length of the femur, if it is too long you would leave your knees in the cockpit if you had to eject, as they would get hung up on the combing around the windscreen.
__________________
Sons of Dogs, Come Eat Flesh
Clan Cameron
Alicatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 08:26 PM   #9
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 3,226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eatthis View Post
BEAST of an airframe, garbage avionics lol
Lucas electronics eh? They never did figure out how to keep the magic smoke in...'

Did they use Lucas fuses?

__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 10:56 AM   #10
drPhibes
Member
 
drPhibes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlikwin View Post
Lucas electronics eh? They never did figure out how to keep the magic smoke in...'
However, they did provide a solution to the problem:


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	lucas.jpg
Views:	194
Size:	36.1 KB
ID:	215451  
drPhibes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:59 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.