Communication with Airport - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2018, 05:38 PM   #1
Fantomas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 8
Default Communication with Airport

hi everybody,
i am having trouble communication with airports, i.e. to get a heading direction.

i play the nevada map. in mission editor, i set a certain airports frequency to channel 1. then when i am in the plane, airborne, i set the channel selector to channel 1, press "push to talk". in the menu i choose "ATC" and the specific airport, then the second option to get a heading. but no reply. what am i doing wrong?

having my radio set to channel 2, i can talk to my wingman. that works fine.

cheers
seb
Fantomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 08:02 PM   #2
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 4,132
Default

Channel I works special. You never receive on channel I. If channel I is selected on the dial then you transmit on I but receive on II. The III channel should be used with the airfield tower.

Also make sure volume receive dial is set fully clockwise (or partially increased). It may initialize fully CCW producing no volume.

Side note: Fine tune +-0.030 MHz, ATC allows deviation from central frequency +0.015 MHz. Communication is available with the central frequency between approx the 10 to 2 o'clock position of the dial.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2018, 12:43 PM   #3
Fantomas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 8
Default

thanks alot Frederf,
switching to channel III or IV solved my problem!

but to fully understand this:
why is channel I so special? does it make any sense to send on I and receive on II?
Fantomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2018, 06:12 PM   #4
Scoll
Junior Member
 
Scoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aulnay, France
Posts: 93
Default

if I dared, I would say: RTFM
DCS Fw 190 D-9 Flight Manual EN.pdf page 93, but why ? i don't know .
__________________

Last edited by Scoll; 12-29-2018 at 06:17 PM.
Scoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 04:51 AM   #5
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 4,132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fantomas View Post
thanks alot Frederf,
switching to channel III or IV solved my problem!

but to fully understand this:
why is channel I so special? does it make any sense to send on I and receive on II?
It is part of the organization of forces in flight. Channel "I" is to support ground control. It is a necessary part of Y-system control. Presumably talking channel "I" would be to ground controller of Y-system which would talk back to you on your known "II" frequency. Channel "I" is fixed at 1.9MHz below "II".

Mostly it is for intercepting bomber raids at night. By Y-control the intercept controller can steer you to the target formation. Airplanes without Y-system have all channels operating in the normal manner.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:41 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.