F18 or F14, which is easier to fly - ED Forums

Notices

Old 01-13-2018, 11:08 PM   #1
razza1974

Default F18 or F14, which is easier to fly

Hi all,

Bought the f18, looks awesome and i support ed to further develop DCS.
I was wondering, which module will be easier to learn the f18 or f14. I am really waiting on the f14 and am a bit dissapointed that it isn't announced for EA yet, anyways the EA announcement for the hornet is great news!
Which module will be easier to get to grips with? I am not a pro by any means and tears of joy flowed when i landed the mirage the first time (yeah that's the level i am at, love the mirage)

Cheers!
razza1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 11:13 PM   #2
probad

hornets going to have fewer flight quirks than the tomcat. systems-wise the hornet will in all likelihood be easier for you to come to terms with as well.
hahaha hey look at me i surely know more about aviation and coding than actual industry professionals hired for their competency because i have read jalopnik and wikipedia i bet theyve never even heard of google LOL
probad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 12:01 AM   #3
Spudknocker
ED Testers Team

The hornet should be easier to fly by a mile! the tomcat is a big heavy beast you throw around the sky while the hornet with FBW makes it a much easier aircraft to handle... there are many great articles comparing the flight characteristics of the two...

Basically they say the Tomcat has a much steeper learning curve while the hornet has a gentler learning curve but is harder to fully master every aspect of the hornet's flight envelope

Spudknocker DCS World YouTube Channel!!

GTX 1080 - i7-7700K - 32GB RAM - DCS on 1TB EVO 970 M.2 SSD - Logitech X56 HOTAS
Spudknocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 03:58 AM   #4
Itael